Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tooteaching
Visitor

How to add a video podcast

Ok. I'm stumpted. What is an easy way to put video podcast feeds in a channel (and have them play)? What example from the SDK do you use (if any)?
Ive tried plugging the xml feeds directly in the video player. It didn't work.

I've read in posts that some people have been able to do this without modifying brightscript. If this is possible, how do you do it?

If it requires a transfer object, how do I get started with one.

Forgive me, I'm still learning this!
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
stratcat96
Visitor

Re: How to add a video podcast

"tooteaching" wrote:
Ok. I'm stumpted. What is an easy way to put video podcast feeds in a channel (and have them play)? What example from the SDK do you use (if any)?
Ive tried plugging the xml feeds directly in the video player. It didn't work.

I've read in posts that some people have been able to do this without modifying brightscript. If this is possible, how do you do it?

If it requires a transfer object, how do I get started with one.

Forgive me, I'm still learning this!

first you need to verify that your feed (xml feed) includes the relevant data for Roku to use... Mainly does it include video feed paths that are compatible with roku.. Basically you are setting up Brightscript to parse the xml and assign attributes from it to different elements you create like roposterscreens, springboards, and video players. For a general podcast feed that has an xml feed you're not going to need to worry about rourltransfers.
0 Kudos
tooteaching
Visitor

Okay, how do I do that?

Here's the feed I want to use:

http://www.cbc.ca/podcasting/includes/t ... odcast.xml

I know it works on a roku, because I've ran it in Sunimi.