Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rokiedokie2
Channel Surfer

hyper-saturated playback of certain files in Plex app

Jump to solution

I just bought a Roku Express 4K+ and connected an old Sony Bravia TV. The TV is only 1080p and does NOT support H

When playing some files via Plex, the color space is way off and the saturation is intense. I have to use the TV's picture adjustments to desaturate almost to the maximum and also max out brightness to compensate.

It seems like the impacted files might all be H.265 HEVC. Spot checking shows them with non-HDR colorspaces (BT.709).

I have no experience with HDR, since I've yet to own a TV or monitor that supports it. My first efforts googling seem to indicate a known issue with Roku communicating with Plex on certain models/platforms. I've tried following some of the workarounds recommended in these threads, mainly forcing DirectPlay in the Plex client, with no change. I'm on the latest version of Roku OS & Plex client app also.

TV Specs:

• Bravia 2015
  • Sony KDL-50w800c
  • AndroidTV v8.0.0

Roku Specs:

• Express 4K+ - 3941RW2
  • Software v12.0.0
  • Build # = 4184-E4
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rokiedokie2
Channel Surfer

Re: hyper-saturated playback of certain files in Plex app

Jump to solution

Never found a solution. Ended up getting an AppleTV.

View solution in original post

39 REPLIES 39
RokuJohnB
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Jump to solution

Hi @rokiedokie2,

Thanks for posting in the Roku Community!