Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby kumasuki » Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:05 pm

As of 2/3/11 the worldwide reserve of IPv4 addresses has been exhausted (or at least no new ones can be generated - regional Internet authorities still have unused ones to assign). So at some point content providers and/or their distribution networks are going to be using IPv6 - will this make the current Roku models obsolete or can IPv6 compatibility be achieved via a firmware update?
--------------------------------------
Roku XDS; DSM-520; HDX1000 w/1TB drive; Neuros; Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR; HDHomeRun; Vudu; VuNow HD; Boxee Box
kumasuki
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby SandboxManager » Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:25 pm

How many of your devices are IPv6 compatible such as your Internet Modem, wired or wireless routers, computers, etc?

Anyway, the ISP just need to exchange the internet modem or upgrade the firmware to IPv6 and the inside network can run happily forever on IPv4. For now, you will gain better speeds with native IPv4 rather than using IPv6 for the public internet.

PS: Can your computer connect to http://ipv6.google.com/ ?
SandboxManager
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby rilex » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:13 pm

How many of your devices are IPv6 compatible such as your Internet Modem, wired or wireless routers, computers, etc?


Let's say our provider is Comcast, who is actively performing an IPv6 rollout. If the edge equipment (think Cable Modem) isn't IPv6, it will be replaced by Comcast (unless you buy your own, then you'll remain IPv4). Anything within the past few years should be able to take an IPv6 address. Router equipment? Again, much of the equipment is built off of Linux (just like the Roku!) and should have no issues with IPv6.

Computers? OS X and Linux, obviously no issues with IPv6. Microsoft introduced IPv6 with XP SP1 and support was solidified as of Vista/2008.

Comcast will be handing out /64 to all users for IPv6. This means that each customer will have 18 quintillion IP addresses to use on their network.

There is no reason to have another device that delays the use of IPv6.
rilex
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby kumasuki » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:23 pm

rilex wrote:This means that each customer will have 18 quintillion IP addresses to use on their network.
There is no reason to have another device that delays the use of IPv6.


Will the 18 quintillion IPv6 addresses be handled by DHCP? or will DHCP become obsolete in favor of direct addressing - which comes back to whether the Roku can be IPv6 compatible.
--------------------------------------
Roku XDS; DSM-520; HDX1000 w/1TB drive; Neuros; Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR; HDHomeRun; Vudu; VuNow HD; Boxee Box
kumasuki
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby rilex » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:25 pm

It could be handed out by DHCPv6, sure (or "stateful" config), but most computers will get their IP address from the router (or "stateless autoconfig").

http://ipv6.com/articles/general/Statel ... ration.htm

There really is no discussion about whether or not the Roku is IPv6 compatible. It just needs to lease an IPv6 address. All RokuLabs has to do is include the scripts and support to do so (which is minimal effort on their part given these are all open source components).
rilex
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby kumasuki » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:30 pm

rilex wrote:There really is no discussion about whether or not the Roku is IPv6 compatible. It just needs to lease an IPv6 address. All RokuLabs has to do is include the scripts and support to do so (which is minimal effort on their part given these are all open source components).

Well that sounds good - at least to that extent our current Rokus are future-proofed.
--------------------------------------
Roku XDS; DSM-520; HDX1000 w/1TB drive; Neuros; Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR; HDHomeRun; Vudu; VuNow HD; Boxee Box
kumasuki
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby rilex » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:33 pm

at least to that extent our current Rokus are future-proofed.


Only if the manufacture decides they're future proof, unfortunately.
rilex
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby SandboxManager » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:34 pm

rilex wrote:Let's say our provider is Comcast, who is actively performing an IPv6 rollout. If the edge equipment (think Cable Modem) isn't IPv6, it will be replaced by Comcast (unless you buy your own, then you'll remain IPv4). Anything within the past few years should be able to take an IPv6 address. Router equipment? Again, much of the equipment is built off of Linux (just like the Roku!) and should have no issues with IPv6.

Computers? OS X and Linux, obviously no issues with IPv6. Microsoft introduced IPv6 with XP SP1 and support was solidified as of Vista/2008.

Comcast will be handing out /64 to all users for IPv6. This means that each customer will have 18 quintillion IP addresses to use on their network.

There is no reason to have another device that delays the use of IPv6.


IPv6 carries perfectly fine over IPv4 so your internal network would not care any with a Comcast rollout. And yes, MS introduced IPv6 into the OS but it is active on less of 1% of Windows installations.

You already have 4 Billion IP addresses available internal but that is not the issue. Every person will not have any issues in dealing with this issue but it is primarily a routing issue on the internet.
SandboxManager
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby rilex » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:39 pm

IPv6 carries perfectly fine over IPv4 so your internal network would not care any with a Comcast rollout.


The idea is to get rid of IPv4 and NAT. You would need a 6to4 service for the Roku to communicate over the gateway's IPv6 address.

OS but it is active on less of 1% of Windows installations.


This would be false. With Vista and above (which make up >1% of the install base), IPv6 is on by default and you should not be turning IPv6 off, nor can you, without direct registry edits.

You already have 4 Billion IP addresses available internal but that is not the issue.


NAT is an issue.
rilex
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby SandboxManager » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:51 pm

rilex wrote:
IPv6 carries perfectly fine over IPv4 so your internal network would not care any with a Comcast rollout.


The idea is to get rid of IPv4 and NAT. You would need a 6to4 service for the Roku to communicate over the gateway's IPv6 address.


No, the Internet Modem will have a public IPv6 while communucating internally on IPv4 and translating the connected IPv4 into IPv6 unless getting an encapsulated IPv6.

rilex wrote:
OS but it is active on less of 1% of Windows installations.


This would be false. With Vista and above (which make up >1% of the install base), IPv6 is on by default and you should not be turning IPv6 off, nor can you, without direct registry edits.


It is on in Vista but not active on the internet because of the above.
SandboxManager
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby rilex » Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:58 pm

No, the Internet Modem will have a public IPv6 while communucating internally on IPv4


The idea is that all devices on the internal network will have public IPv6 addresses.

It is on in Vista but not active on the internet because of the above.


It is active and will communicate with other devices via IPv6 if they have a link-local (or other) address. All that needs to happen is your ISP needs to give you a /64.

I guess "active" is a little misleading. "In use on the Internet", sure, that would be astonishingly small given ISPs need to provide IPv6 subnets to their customers, but IPv6 itself is very active on Vista and above.
rilex
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby TheEndless » Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:03 pm

rilex wrote:
No, the Internet Modem will have a public IPv6 while communucating internally on IPv4

The idea is that all devices on the internal network will have public IPv6 addresses.

That sounds horribly unsecure.. how's that work?
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), MainSqueeze (MAINSQUEEZE), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), Twitch.tv (TWITCHTV), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8130
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby rilex » Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:04 pm

You still have a gateway device that is firewalling your IPv6 network. There is just no NAT involved (one of the goals of IPv6 was that there would be no more NAT'ing).
rilex
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby Crow550 » Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:11 pm

I'll be ticked if I have to buy new hardware....

If that is the case then we'd be hearing about it a lot more. Like on the News and such. Checklists to make sure the US is IPv6 ready and such.

So until then....Don't worry about it.
Crow550
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1934
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:36 am

Re: Are Roku boxes IPv6 compatible?

Postby kumasuki » Thu Feb 03, 2011 10:29 pm

TheEndless wrote:
rilex wrote:The idea is that all devices on the internal network will have public IPv6 addresses.

That sounds horribly unsecure.. how's that work?

Network layer security (IPsec) is mandatory in IPv6 while it has been only optional in IPv4.
--------------------------------------
Roku XDS; DSM-520; HDX1000 w/1TB drive; Neuros; Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR; HDHomeRun; Vudu; VuNow HD; Boxee Box
kumasuki
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: San Diego

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: arrowrand, FX4, mikeyts, tkfan75, vnazario and 38 guests