Remoku (updated Firefox add-on: February 14, 2014)

Moderators: RokuShawnS, RokuDouglas, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Remoku (updated Firefox add-on: February 14, 2014)

Postby gonzotek » Fri Jan 13, 2012 7:38 pm

Ever want to control your Roku from your PC, Smart Phone, Tablet, Mobile Game System, eBook Reader, or other browsing device, for free? All you need is a modern browser!

Just browse to remoku.tv to install the Remoku Web App, a network remote for Roku written entirely in html, css and javascript.

Visit help.remoku.tv for tips on getting started and using Remoku.
Image
Remoku supports the most popular features found in other network remotes, and has some unique attributes of its own:
  • Will discover and control Rokus on a local network, configures itself with minimal user input.
  • Supports all features found on the newer Roku remotes, except game remote functions (motion, A and B).
  • Supports direct text entry.
  • Supports touch devices and desktop browsers
  • On devices with keyboards, keyboard shortcuts are available
  • Supports macros - remote buttons, text, execution pauses and loops can all be saved and called up on demand
  • Favorite channel buttons - 3 buttons beneath the remote can each be set to any installed channel in your lineup
Remoku is also available in the following forms:
  • Chrome, Firefox and Opera extensions. These add an icon to your browser toolbar for easy access to Remoku without leaving the page you are on.
  • An Internet Explorer (8+) Web Slice. To install in IE, click Remoku's About icon. Then hover your mouse over the version information box (beneath the help link), you should see the web slice icon**. Clicking it will cause Internet Explorer to request permission to add Remoku's web slice to your favorites bar.
  • On iPads, iPhones and iPod Touch devices, you can add Remoku to your home screen to launch it full screen and use it like a regular app. Just use the Safari Action button:Image and choose "Add to Home Screen".
  • As a native-feeling MacOS X app, via http://fluidapp.com/
  • Also using Chrome, you can choose to "Create Application Shortcuts" from the Tools menu. Then you can choose to place shortcuts onto your Start Menu, Taskbar, and/or Desktop. Chrome web apps launch in their own window, so you can also use Remoku like a native desktop app.
Your safety and privacy is important. Despite being a web app, once you install Remoku, no information is sent outside your local network. The source code is available for public scrutiny. If you try Remoku and have any problems, please report them here in the thread or via the Issue Report Form. Comments and suggestions are also very welcomed.

**Internet Explorer's Web Slice Icon: Image
Last edited by gonzotek on Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:46 am, edited 22 times in total.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Remoku

Postby Mark12547 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 10:06 pm

Ah, finally, I can move channels around! I have the original Roku (back when there is only one model) and the original remote (no star key).

Thank you!
Mark12547
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:07 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Remoku

Postby themew » Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:35 pm

This is very very cool!

Controlling my Roku on a wired network in my 64-bit Linux Chrome Dev (18.0.1003.1 dev) browser.

Nice work!!!
themew
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:20 am

Re: Remoku

Postby Crow550 » Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:26 pm

I see it has a Play Timer under Goodies. :D

Anyone test this out yet?
Crow550
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:36 am

Re: Remoku

Postby gonzotek » Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:47 am

Crow550 wrote:I see it has a Play Timer under Goodies. :D

Anyone test this out yet?
Not quite ready yet :)
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Remoku

Postby RickRansom » Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:51 pm

From: http://help.remoku.tv/
Notes
1.
The game remote has features that have yet to be publicly documented by Roku. If and when documentation is released, Remoku will be updated with support for any features possible.

If and when you need a beta tester, just click on my PM button. I'm using the new remoku and loving it!! :)
Retired
User avatar
RickRansom
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: PH

Re: Remoku

Postby WetFactory » Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:09 am

I haven't been able to get this to work. I've tried on both Chrome and Firefox. I have my network IP address filled in, along with the IP of my Roku, which I manually added.

When I press a button within the application, it says 'Sending request to [my roku IP]' but nothing happens.
WetFactory
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:15 pm

Re: Remoku

Postby gonzotek » Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:22 am

WetFactory wrote:I haven't been able to get this to work. I've tried on both Chrome and Firefox. I have my network IP address filled in, along with the IP of my Roku, which I manually added.

When I press a button within the application, it says 'Sending request to [my roku IP]' but nothing happens.
Are both the computer and Roku on the same local network? Can you see the list of apps at http://YOUR_ROKU_ADDRESS:8060/query/apps ? If both of those are true, then the browser(and thus Remoku) should be able to talk to the Roku. If you can't see the list of apps, we'll have to troubleshoot why. First thing to try is restarting the Roku (just unplug it and plug it back in, then give it time to fully boot up). If you can see the list of apps, I'll need the debug info from the about box (everything between the help link and the wipe settings button) to get started investigating why Remoku can't talk to the Roku.

Thanks, and sorry for the trouble you're having.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Remoku

Postby hozedhead » Wed Feb 01, 2012 1:45 pm

I assume the dump core macro is the sequence that can re-boot a frozen Roku, correct? And the SHOUTcast launcher is like the one that Endless set up where you can put in a URL and it will play on the SHOUTcast channel?
Roku HD N1000 Serial #20G984014682 Software V. 3.1 Build 1167
hozedhead
 
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:49 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Remoku

Postby gonzotek » Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:30 pm

hozedhead wrote:I assume the dump core macro is the sequence that can re-boot a frozen Roku, correct? And the SHOUTcast launcher is like the one that Endless set up where you can put in a URL and it will play on the SHOUTcast channel?
The dump core macro attempts to reboot a frozen Roku. Depending on the cause of the freeze, the network commands might not succeed. And yes, the shoutcast launcher is (more or less) identical to TheEndless'. Thought it would be a convenient place to have it. If I come across (or anyone brings them to my attention) other channels that take advantage of launch parameters, I can add them as well.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Remoku

Postby hozedhead » Wed Feb 01, 2012 3:26 pm

gonzotek wrote:The dump core macro attempts to reboot a frozen Roku. Depending on the cause of the freeze, the network commands might not succeed.


Great! I think I suggested that in the previous remoku thread when the firmware update was causing the freeze-ups when trying to play video after listening to audio on the older Rokus.

gonzotek wrote: And yes, the shoutcast launcher is (more or less) identical to TheEndless'. Thought it would be a convenient place to have it. If I come across (or anyone brings them to my attention) other channels that take advantage of launch parameters, I can add them as well.


This is a good one, too, it's even easier than Endless' version because Remoku already has the Roku's IP address.
Good work, Gonzotek!
Roku HD N1000 Serial #20G984014682 Software V. 3.1 Build 1167
hozedhead
 
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:49 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Remoku

Postby WetFactory » Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:00 pm

gonzotek wrote:
WetFactory wrote:I haven't been able to get this to work. I've tried on both Chrome and Firefox. I have my network IP address filled in, along with the IP of my Roku, which I manually added.

When I press a button within the application, it says 'Sending request to [my roku IP]' but nothing happens.
Are both the computer and Roku on the same local network? Can you see the list of apps at http://YOUR_ROKU_ADDRESS:8060/query/apps ? If both of those are true, then the browser(and thus Remoku) should be able to talk to the Roku. If you can't see the list of apps, we'll have to troubleshoot why. First thing to try is restarting the Roku (just unplug it and plug it back in, then give it time to fully boot up). If you can see the list of apps, I'll need the debug info from the about box (everything between the help link and the wipe settings button) to get started investigating why Remoku can't talk to the Roku.

Thanks, and sorry for the trouble you're having.


Thanks for the help. I didn't see the Roku when I went to 192.168.2.7:8060/query/apps, and then after I rebooted the box I was able to find the list of apps, and then I tried the Remoku app with success.

Edit - it's stopped again. my browser cannot connect to http://192.168.2.7:8060/query/apps.
WetFactory
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:15 pm

Re: Remoku

Postby mkiker2089 » Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:16 pm

WetFactory wrote:
gonzotek wrote:
WetFactory wrote:I haven't been able to get this to work. I've tried on both Chrome and Firefox. I have my network IP address filled in, along with the IP of my Roku, which I manually added.

When I press a button within the application, it says 'Sending request to [my roku IP]' but nothing happens.
Are both the computer and Roku on the same local network? Can you see the list of apps at http://YOUR_ROKU_ADDRESS:8060/query/apps ? If both of those are true, then the browser(and thus Remoku) should be able to talk to the Roku. If you can't see the list of apps, we'll have to troubleshoot why. First thing to try is restarting the Roku (just unplug it and plug it back in, then give it time to fully boot up). If you can see the list of apps, I'll need the debug info from the about box (everything between the help link and the wipe settings button) to get started investigating why Remoku can't talk to the Roku.

Thanks, and sorry for the trouble you're having.


Thanks for the help. I didn't see the Roku when I went to 192.168.2.7:8060/query/apps, and then after I rebooted the box I was able to find the list of apps, and then I tried the Remoku app with success.

Edit - it's stopped again. my browser cannot connect to http://192.168.2.7:8060/query/apps.


The IP address of you Roku must be changing. Some do that depending on router configurations.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Remoku

Postby gonzotek » Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:38 pm

It's possible the address is changing, although that wouldn't explain the initial non-working symptom. I don't believe there's anything incorrect about the calls I'm making to the Roku that would cause it to happen. At least, I've never had another report of it dropping repeatedly, and use it often myself with several models of Roku. I have seen it get into a non-responsive state, but only very, very occasionally, and also not always when using Remoku.

WetFactory, can you tell if the IP is different if you're able to reset the Roku again and re-connect? Also, what is your Roku firmware version? If it keeps happening, try not using remoku and just try hitting the /query/apps page at different times(not sure how long it was up for you, but try that first). I want to establish if it's something Remoku is causing or something inherent to the box. If you're interested in troubleshooting, of course :). You could also try a different network remote, depending on what platforms are available to you.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Remoku

Postby mkiker2089 » Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:58 pm

Good call. I assumed if the browser couldn't connect that it must be an ip error. However that doesn't explain a reboot bringing it back unless it just happened to reboot to the ip that it had long ago but not just before the reboot. That's not logical however. Possible, just not likely.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fpembleton, lvanhelden and 27 guests