Buffering Problem

Moderators: RokuShawnS, RokuDouglas, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Buffering Problem

Postby billdeman » Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:33 pm

A friend who rents a room from me bought a Roku player. I agreed to let him use my DSL. It is wired off a Ethernet switch that is wired to my single port DSL router. My download speed is 1.300 Mbps.

If I try to use my computer, even just to visit websites with static content, no streaming, his Roku player spend far more time buffering then playing the movie. Bottom line it is pretty much un-viewable if I use my computer for any reason.

I have done some searching on the forum but basically my head was left spinning. Never had network problems and I do play videos on my computer so trying to solve this is already a challenge despite being able to build my own computer and run Linux. Just really need to know where to begin. I have tried playing the Netflix videos on my computer and despite the fact they were running on Win2K in Virturalbox they worked fine.

So my first question is how common is the problem I'm having? If this is just the way it is on a 1.300 Mbps connection no sense trying. The Ethernet cable run to his player is 125 feet. Could it be distance?

Extensive Bandwidth Testing

Test 1 Results

135k - 924ms - 1169 kBps (fb: 5850ms)

270k - 1694ms - 1275 kBps (fb: 85ms)

540k - 3432ms - 1259 kBps (fb: 103ms)

675k - 4244ms - 1272 kBps (fb: 131ms)

810k - 5096ms - 1272 kBps (fb: 72ms)

945k - 5944ms - 1272 kBps (fb: 200ms)

1080k - 6794ms - 1272 kBps (fb: 139ms)

2025k - 12741ms - 1271 kBps (fb: 60ms)

Test 2 Results

135k - 843ms - 1281 kBps (fb: 46ms)

270k - 2090ms - 1033 kBps (fb: 46ms)

540k - 3434ms - 1258 kBps (fb: 47ms)

675k - 4283ms - 1261 kBps (fb: 46ms)

810k - 5092ms - 1273 kBps (fb: 46ms)

945k - 5942ms - 1272 kBps (fb: 48ms)

1080k - 6793ms - 1272 kBps (fb: 46ms)

2025k - 12742ms - 1271 kBps (fb: 46ms)

Test 3 Results

135k - 843ms - 1281 kBps (fb: 46ms)

270k - 2090ms - 1033 kBps (fb: 46ms)

540k - 3434ms - 1258 kBps (fb: 47ms)

675k - 4280ms - 1262 kBps (fb: 46ms)

810k - 5092ms - 1273 kBps (fb: 81ms)

945k - 5941ms - 1273 kBps (fb: 47ms)

1080k - 6792ms - 1272 kBps (fb: 46ms)

2025k - 12740ms - 1272 kBps (fb: 48ms)

Test 4 Results

135k - 842ms - 1283 kBps (fb: 47ms)

270k - 1694ms - 1275 kBps (fb: 45ms)

540k - 3430ms - 1259 kBps (fb: 46ms)

675k - 4261ms - 1267 kBps (fb: 46ms)

810k - 5092ms - 1273 kBps (fb: 46ms)

945k - 5941ms - 1273 kBps (fb: 47ms)

1080k - 6791ms - 1272 kBps (fb: 48ms)

2025k - 12742ms - 1271 kBps (fb: 46ms)

cdn/false
billdeman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:18 pm

Postby kc8pql » Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:42 pm

A 1.3Mbps connection is just about minimum for streaming. Roku recommends at least 1.2. The answer is you need faster service. If you want high quality streams on the Roku and use the computer at the same time, you need maybe 6Mbps minimum.
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7488
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Postby billdeman » Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:52 pm

Thanks kc8pql. That was what I was beginning to suspect was the problem.

Anyone know if Roku will give him a refund because his connection isn't adequate?
billdeman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:18 pm

Postby jeffrok » Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:59 pm

They have a 30-day money back policy.. If it falls within that period, he should be able to return it, no questions asked.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3562
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Postby billdeman » Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:49 pm

Will check with AT&T Monday to see if I'm close enough for 6 Mbps. Thanks for your replies.
billdeman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:18 pm

Postby Auramancer » Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:28 pm

Shouldn't the OP be using a router instead of an ethernet switch? I think that's the likely culprit here.
Auramancer
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:04 am
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Postby philsoft » Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:36 pm

Auramancer wrote:Shouldn't the OP be using a router instead of an ethernet switch? I think that's the likely culprit here.


He says the switch is wired to a router. That would work fine.
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan

Postby kc8pql » Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:43 pm

philsoft wrote:
Auramancer wrote:Shouldn't the OP be using a router instead of an ethernet switch? I think that's the likely culprit here.


He says the switch is wired to a router. That would work fine.

I use a switch to add ports to a single port DSL modem/router. No problems.
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7488
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Postby wilbert-vanbakel » Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:08 pm

kc8pql wrote:I use a switch to add ports to a single port DSL modem/router. No problems.

Do the Roku box and your computer have different IP addresses? Because that is the function of a router.
This is the first time that I hear about a router with only one port... Perhaps it's just a modem that serves a single local IP address?
wilbert-vanbakel
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:13 pm

Postby kc8pql » Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:03 am

It's a Speedstream 5200 configured and furnished by the ISP as a DSL modem/router. I run two computers, a media center extender and the Roku through the switch with no problems, or setup for that matter. Just plugged it all together.
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7488
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Postby billdeman » Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:16 pm

kc8pql wrote:It's a Speedstream 5200 configured and furnished by the ISP as a DSL modem/router. I run two computers, a media center extender and the Roku through the switch with no problems, or setup for that matter. Just plugged it all together.
Would you mind telling me the speed of your internet connection? Thanks.
billdeman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:18 pm

Postby kc8pql » Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:20 pm

3Mbps DSL. Referring back to your OP though, I can't run everything at once without running out of bandwidth.
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7488
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Postby billdeman » Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:35 pm

Thanks, kc8pql.
billdeman
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:18 pm

Bandwidth issue

Postby mskinny » Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:16 am

I too am having the same problem. I have a 3mb connection to ATT and I cannot watch Roku and be on the internet at the same time. The problem just started happening. I called ATT and they test my line and it has no issues. I called Roku customer support and they said that the Roku HD needs a minimum 3mb connection to watch movies??? The website says it only needs a 1.2mb connection. This problem just started last Friday. I have 2 Roku's in the house and they both connect wirelessly. I have always been able to watch netflix on Roku and surf the internet at the same time. HELP!
mskinny
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:11 am


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Emissary35, mikeyts, skeptic and 37 guests