Roku Won't Load Movies or anything from Channels

Moderators: RokuShawnS, RokuDouglas, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Roku Won't Load Movies or anything from Channels

Postby RJRobb2 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:11 pm

My Roku box will not load movies or other media when I go to my channels. For example, if I go to Netflix, it will just sit there with the circle going round and round and never load the movies. I have had this issue for weeks and I can load the movies fine through my Wii but prefer to use my Roku.

Also, Amazon is no longer on my list of channels and is not listed in the Channel store. Is it no longer being offered? I saw it listed on the Roku website.

If additional info is needed or if I am posting in the wrong forum, please let me know. This is my first post in the forum but I am glad I found it.

Thanks for the help.

I am in Kansas City, MO and use AT&T U-Verse for my internet which had not had issues since this has been occuring.
RJRobb2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: Roku Won't Load Movies or anything from Channels

Postby kc8pql » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:22 pm

The first thing to try is to re-boot the box. Just un-plug the power, wait a few seconds and plug it back in.
OTA Antenna
"Netflix Player" N1000X
XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X
Roku2 XS 3100R
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7478
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku Won't Load Movies or anything from Channels

Postby RJRobb2 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:59 pm

I've done that several times. In fact, it was unplugged for a few days as I got a new TV and it took me a while to set everything back up. I've rebooted it, disconnected all the cables, and left it for long periods and it does the same thing and has for a while now.
RJRobb2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: Roku Won't Load Movies or anything from Channels

Postby renojim » Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:24 pm

Have you rebooted your U-Verse router? Also, try going through the guided setup for your internet connection on your Roku again.

-JT
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2393
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:35 pm

Re: Roku Won't Load Movies or anything from Channels

Postby RJRobb2 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:05 pm

My router has been rebooted a few times since this has happened.

I thought about doing the internet reconnect except that it must be connecting because it pulls up all the channels and what not. But I will give that a shot and see what happens.
RJRobb2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: Roku Won't Load Movies or anything from Channels

Postby RJRobb2 » Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:35 am

Okay, it seems that my Roku box is not detecting my wireless network. I know the network is not the problem because I have my Wii, two cell phones, and a laptop all hooked up and they work just fine with it. Any suggestions?
RJRobb2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 6:54 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Re: Roku Won't Load Movies or anything from Channels

Postby mkiker2089 » Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:49 am

We need more info.

What is it doing exactly?

Is there a "not shown" option?

When you go to that and manually enter your SSID what does it do?

Under player info do you have a wireless mac address or is it all zeroes?

Has anything in your router changed?

I'm curious about you losing Amazon. That's on the box from factory. I'm sure once you get the internet fixed it will come back though. Can you try wiring the net.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:03 pm

Re: Roku Won't Load Movies or anything from Channels

Postby kc8pql » Sat Oct 30, 2010 9:17 am

mkiker2089 wrote:
I'm curious about you losing Amazon. That's on the box from factory. I'm sure once you get the internet fixed it will come back though. Can you try wiring the net.

The channel store comes from Roku's server and is cashed on the box. After an update, adding or removing a channel or rebooting, The box contacts the server to update the store with the box. It can't do that without an internet connection.
OTA Antenna
"Netflix Player" N1000X
XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X
Roku2 XS 3100R
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7478
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: US


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lvporta, ngs428, QuiGonJohn, twa318 and 42 guests