Roku work okay with DSL?

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby aaaiiihhh » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:12 pm

Apologies if this has already been covered. But I have cable now but am thinking about switching to DSL. Comcast has aggravated me for the last time! I was wondering how well Roku works on DSL. It would a speed of 3 Mbps. It works well with my cable now, so I am hoping it will still be okay with my Roku if I swtich to DSL.

DSL users out there - let me know! Thanks!

btw, Roku representatives - just wanted to say I love my Roku and always recommend it to people when they say they have netflix!!
aaaiiihhh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:05 pm

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby West Ham » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:38 pm

Should work the same
West Ham
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 7:40 am

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby jcmolet » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:45 pm

You should not have any problems with the lower rate SD streams (generally .5 - 1.5 Mbps on Netflix and Amazon). However, you may not be able to consistently maintain the higher rate HD streams (generally 2 - 3 Mbps), particularly if you are using other devices on your network at the same time you are trying to watch a movie.
jcmolet
 
Posts: 2154
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby kc8pql » Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:06 pm

jcmolet wrote:You should not have any problems with the lower rate SD streams (generally .5 - 1.5 Mbps on Netflix and Amazon). However, you may not be able to consistently maintain the higher rate HD streams (generally 2 - 3 Mbps), particularly if you are using other devices on your network at the same time you are trying to watch a movie.

+1. I have 3Mbps DSL. I consistently get the 4 dot streams, occasionally it may go down to 2 or 3 dot, and sometimes I get the 2.5 Mbps HD streams. It works and is the fastest I can get here, but more would be better.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7928
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby aaaiiihhh » Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:49 pm

Thanks for your input! Phew! Gotta make sure Roku works before I make the switch.

Thanks!!
aaaiiihhh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:05 pm

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby mkiker2089 » Sat Nov 06, 2010 3:58 pm

You will also have to consider the change from a modem to a PPoE modem/router. My sister has some issues with that because it double NATS things. I don't know what that is bad, but it confuses things sometimes.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby MoonChaser » Sat Nov 06, 2010 4:32 pm

It may depend on the type of DSL you have. I have Internet through AT&T's Uverse, which is technically a flavor of DSL (vDSL, or very high speed DSL) and it works fine. If yours is always-on like mine is, it shouldn't make any difference. I have seen some types of DSL which require you to log in. This could be a little more problematic.
MoonChaser
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:23 am

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby mkiker2089 » Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:07 pm

What I've seen of DSL requires a different type of "modem" that instead of being transparent acts as a router and logs in. You don't log in on the computer but instead store that in the router. I thought all DSL was like that but I haven't looked at U verse.

Cable modems are more transparent and the next item that connects is the first thing on the net. That way your router is the first and only wall between you and the net.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby Plunderer » Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:11 pm

aaaiiihhh wrote:Apologies if this has already been covered. But I have cable now but am thinking about switching to DSL. Comcast has aggravated me for the last time! I was wondering how well Roku works on DSL. It would a speed of 3 Mbps. It works well with my cable now, so I am hoping it will still be okay with my Roku if I swtich to DSL.

DSL users out there - let me know! Thanks!

btw, Roku representatives - just wanted to say I love my Roku and always recommend it to people when they say they have netflix!!

Works great with 3MBPS ATT DSL. I haven't tested it, but I expect the quality to degrade if/when we try streaming more than one at a time.

If that doesn't work so well, though, I know I can upgrade the DSL to the next package for the same price with another year commitment...

-P
Main 3100X/HDMI
Backup 2400X/HDMI
And a few older ones...
Plunderer
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby jbrave » Sat Nov 06, 2010 6:14 pm

I have 6mbps AT&T DSL and it works great for netflix (720p HD) and MLB and most stuff. MLB has issues, but they are on the MLB side, as far as I can tell.

- Joel
Screenshades: The first Screensaver for Roku2!
Musiclouds: The best free internet music, on your Roku!
Ouroborialis: Psychedelic Screensaver for Roku!
jbrave
 
Posts: 716
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:00 pm
Location: Ben Lomond, CA

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby cfg » Sat Nov 06, 2010 6:53 pm

Same here. I have a 6mbps ATT DSL connection and everything is working great 99.5% of the time.
ATT U-verse High Seed Internet: 15.0 Mbps down - Router: Motorola modem + Linksys Router E1000
Audio/Video: Samsung LNT4053, 42", Denon 1611
Roku Models: Roku HD: H0A07D000106 / Roku 2 XS: 13A16U000378
cfg
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:15 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby Crow550 » Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:55 am

I heard adaptive streaming works better for low connection speeds as it can change on the fly. Like the PS3, Wii & 360 does.

That's what I heard. I don't know when or if Netflix on Roku will switch?
Crow550
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1915
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:36 am

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby jhernes » Sun Nov 07, 2010 5:16 am

Crow550 wrote:I heard adaptive streaming works better for low connection speeds

+1
ROKU MODEL: N1000 - Decommissioned, HD 2000C-00 - Decommissioned, XS 3100R - Visio 50, R3 4200R - Samsung LN55
jhernes
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby jcmolet » Sun Nov 07, 2010 5:24 am

Crow550 wrote:I heard adaptive streaming works better for low connection speeds as it can change on the fly. Like the PS3, Wii & 360 does.

That's what I heard. I don't know when or if Netflix on Roku will switch?


Roku already supports adaptive bitrate switching. From RokuMarkn in a another thread....

RokuMarkn wrote:Adaptive bitrate switching is fully supported by the Roku HLS player and is used by a number of current channels. Of course the video provider must provide the alternate bitrate streams. If only one stream is supplied, the player obviously can't switch bitrates.

--Mark
jcmolet
 
Posts: 2154
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

Re: Roku work okay with DSL?

Postby DaveMcLain » Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:28 am

I think that your streaming experience will be just fine with a DSL connection. From my experience with the Roku the faster and preferably more stable the speed of the connection is, the better the Roku works.
Roku XD/S Ser # K0A07Y000139 5.8Ghz Wireless Connection
Roku2 XS Ser # 13A16Y000098 1Gb Wired Connection
WRT610N router DD-WRT SVN 14929
Connected via HDMI to Hitachi LE55U516 TV and Yamaha RX-V573
FTTH Connection 25Mb/sec
DaveMcLain
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:48 am

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hallc8636, TomH and 30 guests