Roku fast enough with my internet?

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby pc9460 » Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:57 am

I'm planning on getting a roku for netflix. I plan on canceling my cable since it's so expensive now. I have a westell model 327w modem and my speed for my internet is 100mbps. Will netflix work smoothly with this setup with no lag whatsoever? Also will it slow down my internet? If it does should I invest in another modem and have one strickly for my roku and one for my computers?
pc9460
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:51 am

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby hn333 » Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:12 am

pc9460 wrote:I'm planning on getting a roku for netflix. I plan on canceling my cable since it's so expensive now. I have a westell model 327w modem and my speed for my internet is 100mbps. Will netflix work smoothly with this setup with no lag whatsoever? Also will it slow down my internet? If it does should I invest in another modem and have one strickly for my roku and one for my computers?


100mbps? You're talking about your internal network speed right? What's your ISP speed?
hn333
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:11 pm

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby jhernes » Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:19 am

I wonder how much is the cost for 100Mbps? Even the Roku CEO doesn't have that speeds or maybe he does! :lol:
It's a typo....
ROKU MODEL: N1000 - Decommissioned, HD 2000C-00 - Decommissioned, XS 3100R - Visio 50, R3 4200R - Samsung LN55
jhernes
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby hn333 » Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:31 am

jhernes wrote:I wonder how much is the cost for 100Mbps? Even the Roku CEO doesn't have that speeds or maybe he does! :lol:
It's a typo....


I think he's confusing his his local area network speed with internet speed.
hn333
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:11 pm

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby jhernes » Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:41 am

hn333 wrote:
jhernes wrote:I wonder how much is the cost for 100Mbps? Even the Roku CEO doesn't have that speeds or maybe he does! :lol:
It's a typo....

I think he's confusing his his local area network speed with internet speed.

Might be...unless you have a way in connecting directly inside ISP building and get a lot more speeds then you might blowout your Players.

Sorry I can't help my self....
Cheers!
ROKU MODEL: N1000 - Decommissioned, HD 2000C-00 - Decommissioned, XS 3100R - Visio 50, R3 4200R - Samsung LN55
jhernes
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby pc9460 » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:10 am

How do I find my speed then?
pc9460
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:51 am

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby DeftOne » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:13 am

speedtest.net is one way.
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku LT (16A181002342)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Roku HD (20F946002749)
DLINK DIR-615 (all Rokus wireless)
12 Mbps
DeftOne
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby sweller » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:32 am

pc9460 wrote:How do I find my speed then?

What you're paying for is one thing. What you're getting is something *completely* different.

Qwest offers service with connection speeds "UP TO" 1. 5, 7, 12, 20, and 40Mbps. Check your ISP's website. I may jog your memory as to what your buying. The "UP TO" verbage is an all important caveat. You'll be one of the very lucky few if you ever actually realize the "UP TO" speed.

The rated speed is only one aspect of what you need to have for optimal performance. You also need to have consistent, reliable bandwidth. Typical speed tests only give you a snapshot of what's going on at one point in a short time period. There used to be a Netflix speed test that was more comprehensive, but the link I have is broken. Anyone else got the current URL?
http://www.bbb.org/sanjose/business-reviews/electronic-equipment-and-supplies-wholesale-and-manufacturers/roku-in-saratoga-ca-223541
sweller
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:37 am
Location: Los Alamos, NM

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby jhernes » Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:39 am

For the best viewing results Roku's recommend a minimum of 1.5 Mbps for standard definition and 3.0 Mbps for HD content.

Here's one more way to test your network speed.... :)
speakeasy.net/speedtest
ROKU MODEL: N1000 - Decommissioned, HD 2000C-00 - Decommissioned, XS 3100R - Visio 50, R3 4200R - Samsung LN55
jhernes
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby pc9460 » Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:27 pm

Image
pc9460
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:51 am

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby deppeler » Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:41 pm

jhernes wrote:For the best viewing results Roku's recommend a minimum of 1.5 Mbps for standard definition and 3.0 Mbps for HD content.

Here's one more way to test your network speed.... :)
speakeasy.net/speedtest


It all depends what server you choose to run the test with.
I am in Oklahoma (ISP up to 10.0 mbps...never got anywhere near that, Suddenlink says that is what they supply and it's not their fault that I don't get that speed. They also said sites like Speakeasy, Speedtest etc are worhthless as they don't really show what speed the ISP is really giving you), if I choose Dallas I get about 4.5mbps and if I choose Chicago I get 7.0mbps
I do wonder what server you should use?
Where is the Netfix or Roku stream originating?
Last edited by deppeler on Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
deppeler
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:02 am

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby mkiker2089 » Sat Dec 04, 2010 6:47 pm

pc9460 wrote:Image


You can watch Netflix with that, but more will be needed to get quality content.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby jhernes » Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:28 pm

deppeler wrote:
jhernes wrote:For the best viewing results Roku's recommend a minimum of 1.5 Mbps for standard definition and 3.0 Mbps for HD content.

Here's one more way to test your network speed.... :)
speakeasy.net/speedtest

They also said sites like Speakeasy, Speedtest etc are worhthless as they don't really show what speed the ISP is really giving you), if I choose Dallas I get about 4.5mbps and if I choose Chicago I get 7.0mbps
I do wonder what server you should use?
Where is the Netfix or Roku stream originating?

Here you go suit yourself.
http://support.roku.com/entries/332204- ... -hulu-plus
ROKU MODEL: N1000 - Decommissioned, HD 2000C-00 - Decommissioned, XS 3100R - Visio 50, R3 4200R - Samsung LN55
jhernes
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby vmps » Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:07 am

deppeler wrote:
jhernes wrote:For the best viewing results Roku's recommend a minimum of 1.5 Mbps for standard definition and 3.0 Mbps for HD content.

Here's one more way to test your network speed.... :)
speakeasy.net/speedtest


It all depends what server you choose to run the test with.
I am in Oklahoma (ISP up to 10.0 mbps...never got anywhere near that, Suddenlink says that is what they supply and it's not their fault that I don't get that speed. They also said sites like Speakeasy, Speedtest etc are worhthless as they don't really show what speed the ISP is really giving you), if I choose Dallas I get about 4.5mbps and if I choose Chicago I get 7.0mbps
I do wonder what server you should use?
Where is the Netfix or Roku stream originating?


speedtest.net is dead on for me, reflecting both what I pay for and what I get in normal operation.

Image

Accuracy will depend on a number of factors, like distance to the test server, ISP congestion, quality of the ISPs peering, local network, computer speed, etc. Treat it as a data point, but if (as the original poster) your speedtest is under a megabit, you're probably not going to get a satisfactory experience.

Another data point is at pingtest.net:

Image

Image

The first of those is from a computer with a hard wire, so the latency is a little lower. But for some reason that computer can't complete the packet loss test. This test uses a java applet, and is a bit heavier and harder to get working than the flash-based speedtest. But it can get to some of the issues that can kill netflix streaming on the roku. High loss, high jitter, and high ping times can all indicate situations which the roku can't handle very well, even if another device on the network can still pull down decent speed test results.
Last edited by vmps on Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
vmps
 
Posts: 758
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 7:48 am

Re: Roku fast enough with my internet?

Postby HarpoonIPA » Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:03 am

I'm getting
Image
HarpoonIPA
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:07 am


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: marsradio and 9 guests