Need a Link Code

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Need a Link Code

Postby awakegal » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:07 pm

In going through my channels I don't see some channels that I would like to add. I found out that they are private channels and I need to link my Roku Player to my Roku account.

I created a Roku account and clicked on +Link a Player, and I need a Link Code.

I do not see anything about a Link Code in my settings.

I am connected via Ethernet.
Software Version 2.9 build 1509
Roku Player Model: N1050

How do I do get a Link Code when my Roku is already set up and playing?

Thanks!
awakegal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:38 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby DeftOne » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:14 pm

A link code should be provided to you when you first enter the Channel Store on your Roku.
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku LT (16A181002342)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Roku HD (20F946002749)
DLINK DIR-615 (all Rokus wireless)
12 Mbps
DeftOne
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby stratcat96 » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:19 pm

awakegal wrote:In going through my channels I don't see some channels that I would like to add. I found out that they are private channels and I need to link my Roku Player to my Roku account.

I created a Roku account and clicked on +Link a Player, and I need a Link Code.

I do not see anything about a Link Code in my settings.

I am connected via Ethernet.
Software Version 2.9 build 1509
Roku Player Model: N1050

How do I do get a Link Code when my Roku is already set up and playing?

Thanks!



Are you just setting up the roku for the first time? That is the only time you use the "link a player" option in the Roku account. When you first set up the player it will ask to create an account and link it before you can add channels etc. Presuming you or someone else) has already done that on the player, adding a private channel is a differnt process. What private channels are you wanting to add?
stratcat96
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3427
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Ice Planet Hoth

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby awakegal » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:27 pm

My roku is already set up.

My Channel Store is set up

I want to add a private channel and need to link my roku to my roku account.

My problem is that everything is set up and I do not know how I get my Link Code.
awakegal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:38 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby jhernes » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:29 pm

awakegal wrote:My roku is already set up.

My Channel Store is set up

I want to add a private channel and need to link my roku to my roku account.

My problem is that everything is set up and I do not know how I get my Link Code.

Here yo go enjoy...
http://www.roku-channels.com/
ROKU MODEL: N1000 - Decommissioned, HD 2000C-00 - Decommissioned, XS 3100R - Visio 50, R3 4200R - Samsung LN55
jhernes
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby jhernes » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:31 pm

Sign in to Roku Accnt. and there's a add a private channel or something like that and enter the codes.
ROKU MODEL: N1000 - Decommissioned, HD 2000C-00 - Decommissioned, XS 3100R - Visio 50, R3 4200R - Samsung LN55
jhernes
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby DeftOne » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:31 pm

If you don't have your Roku linked to your account, then it sounds like you'll probably have to do a factory reset. That's the only way that I know of that you'll be able to get a new link code. Should be in the Settings channel. Unfortunately, you'll have to re-add your channels and re-link those that are tied to accounts. After you do the factory reset, go into the Channel Store and it should give you a new code.
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku LT (16A181002342)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Roku HD (20F946002749)
DLINK DIR-615 (all Rokus wireless)
12 Mbps
DeftOne
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby DeftOne » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:33 pm

jhernes wrote:Sign in to Roku Accnt. and there's a add a private channel or something like that and enter the codes.

But if she doesn't have her Roku linked to her account, this won't do her any good. ;-)
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku LT (16A181002342)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Roku HD (20F946002749)
DLINK DIR-615 (all Rokus wireless)
12 Mbps
DeftOne
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby jhernes » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:38 pm

DeftOne wrote:
jhernes wrote:Sign in to Roku Accnt. and there's a add a private channel or something like that and enter the codes.

But if she doesn't have her Roku linked to her account, this won't do her any good. ;-)

I see...it just confusing from her/his last post. Let's wait for hopefully the last response. :wink:
ROKU MODEL: N1000 - Decommissioned, HD 2000C-00 - Decommissioned, XS 3100R - Visio 50, R3 4200R - Samsung LN55
jhernes
 
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby awakegal » Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:04 pm

My Roku box is set up. I've been watching other channels. I have I have the private channel codes for the new channels I want to set up.

However to do so I need is the Roku Code to link my Roku to my Roku account.

In my Roku Account <https://owner.roku.com/Account/Players/Link/>
it says to type in the Link Code I see in my TV.

How do I get this code once my box has been set up?
awakegal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:38 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby DeftOne » Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:18 pm

Like I said already, the only time the Roku box gives you the link code is when you go into the Channel Store on the Roku for the first time. If you've already gone into the Channel Store and didn't write down the link code, there is no way to retrieve it that I know of. The only alternative you have, as far as I know, is to do a factory reset on the Roku box (Settings Channel), and then go into the Channel Store again (for the first time) to get a new code. Again, you'll lose all channels that you've installed on the box, and will need to set everything up again. Sucks I know, but it's the only option I think you have.
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku LT (16A181002342)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Roku HD (20F946002749)
DLINK DIR-615 (all Rokus wireless)
12 Mbps
DeftOne
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby jank » Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:28 pm

You clicked the wrong link - the "+ link a player" - which is for setting up a new roku box. You have to click "Add Private Channnel". Then you type the linking code from the private channel webpage.
jank
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:22 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby DeftOne » Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:30 pm

jank wrote:You clicked the wrong link - the "+ link a player" - which is for setting up a new roku box. You have to click "Add Private Channnel". Then you type the linking code from the private channel webpage.

She can only add private channels if her Roku box is actually linked to her Roku web account, which from what I gather is not the case (box is not linked), and is what she is trying to reconcile.
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku LT (16A181002342)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Roku HD (20F946002749)
DLINK DIR-615 (all Rokus wireless)
12 Mbps
DeftOne
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby jank » Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:39 pm

DeftOne wrote:
jank wrote:You clicked the wrong link - the "+ link a player" - which is for setting up a new roku box. You have to click "Add Private Channnel". Then you type the linking code from the private channel webpage.

She can only add private channels if her Roku box is actually linked to her Roku web account, which from what I gather is not the case (box is not linked), and is what she is trying to reconcile.

I don't think so. She wrote "... My Roku box is set up. I've been watching other channels. I have I have the private channel codes for the new channels I want to set up. ..." That sounds to me like she must have linked the box already.
jank
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:22 pm

Re: Need a Link Code

Postby awakegal » Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:43 pm

Thank you DeftOne very much. I must have missed your 1st reply.

I did the reset and got my code.

My Roku Player is now inked to my Roku Account.

Had to reset my Netflex Account.

Now I can add my private channels.

May you have a great 2011
awakegal
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:38 pm

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests