Roku keeps re buffering

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Roku keeps re buffering

Postby Solar » Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:47 am

Can't watch a full movie, keeps re buffering. All channels. Hard wired into a router. Have DSL. Whats up with this?
Solar
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:05 am

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby Gilgamesh » Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:12 am

We need more info.

What have you tried?
What is your internet speed?
What DNS are you using?
Does the feed on NetFlix rebuffer to a lower number of dots?

And there are other question that could follow the answers to those.
Gilgamesh
 
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby Solar » Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:59 am

Have a linksys router 54mbps. Using open DNS. Att DSL 3mbps
I have unplugged the roku box and started over. It seems to be the roku box because I have tried other programing besides netflix. It keeps trying to load a differnt quality, goes from 2 dots to 4 dots then will go back to 2 dots. Does this through the whole movie.
Solar
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:05 am

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby kc8pql » Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:40 am

Run this speed test several times and report the results. One of the common causes of your symptoms is a slow internet connection.
You may be getting less that the 3Mbps maximum service you have.
http://www.speedtest.net/
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8092
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby Gilgamesh » Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:41 am

OK. From what you said it does sound like it "might" be your Roku.

One more thing to try: put you Roku in debug mode to see what you are actually getting.
While on the home screen enter the following:
Home 5x, FF 3x, Rewind 2x
Then choose "enable debug logging"

Then try and watch several streams and note at what speed the Roku reports.

Also, at a time when you are having problems on a computer go to http://speedtest.net/ and run their test. Run it several times and to different servers and note the results. Pay close attention to the latency.

Lastly, download and run "NameBench" from http://code.google.com/p/namebench/downloads/list
This will allow you to make sure that you are really using the best DNS for you.

To end the debugging just enter the sequence again and choose "disable debug logging"

This will give more info to work with.
Gilgamesh
 
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby kumasuki » Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:02 pm

Solar wrote:Have a linksys router 54mbps.

What model of Linksys? some of their routers provide for IP traffic prioritization using MAC identifiers - which may help. There have also been reports of improved performance with some Linksys routers when a DHCP reservation via a MAC identifier is done.
--------------------------------------
Roku XDS; DSM-520; HDX1000 w/1TB drive; Neuros; Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR; HDHomeRun; Vudu; VuNow HD; Boxee Box
kumasuki
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby Solar » Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:27 pm

While on the home screen enter the following:
Home 5x, FF 3x, Rewind 2x
Then choose "enable debug logging"

How do you do this, I don't see anywhere you can enter this.
Solar
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:05 am

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby kc8pql » Wed Jan 12, 2011 4:08 pm

It's not on the screen, it's just the buttons on your remote. Push them in fairly rapid succession and the bitrate screen will open.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8092
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby Gilgamesh » Wed Jan 12, 2011 4:11 pm

Solar wrote:While on the home screen enter the following:
Home 5x, FF 3x, Rewind 2x
Then choose "enable debug logging"

How do you do this, I don't see anywhere you can enter this.


You do not "enter" this you preform the key presses.

You press the "home" key 5 times
then you press the FF key 3 times
then you press the Rewind key 2 times.

That's all there is to it.
Gilgamesh
 
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby Solar » Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:10 am

You do not "enter" this you preform the key presses.

You press the "home" key 5 times
then you press the FF key 3 times
then you press the Rewind key 2 times.

That's all there is to it.

OK simple enough but, is the home screen where the settings icon and channel icon is?
I pressed the home key 5 times,
Then I pressed the Assuming FF is the Forward key, and it changes to the next icon,
Then I pressed the Rewind key 2 times and nothing happens.

My connection speed is 2.65 mbps. Is this the problem?
My router is a WRT54G
Solar
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:05 am

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby jeffrok » Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:05 am

How do you know your true speed is 2.65mbps? Have you done a speed test, or is this what AT&T is telling you?

Follow the directions above for doing the speed test and post your results here.

kc8pql wrote:Run this speed test several times and report the results. One of the common causes of your symptoms is a slow internet connection.
You may be getting less that the 3Mbps maximum service you have.
http://www.speedtest.net/
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3600
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby kc8pql » Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:07 am

Actually, that's the wrong sequence. it should be:

Home 5 times
Rewind 3 times
Fast forward 2 times

Press the buttons in fairly rapid succession, half a second or so apart.
Pay no attention to the screen when you do this. What it's doing doesn't matter.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8092
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby Gilgamesh » Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:56 am

kc8pql is correct. The screen you access from the keystrokes I gave is the "Secret Screen" settings screen which is NOT the one you want. From kc8pql's sequence you get to "Bit Rate Override" settings screen which allows playback debugging to be enabled.

That's what i get from working from memory.
They say that as we get older memory is the first thing to go. I forget what the second thing is.
Gilgamesh
 
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby kc8pql » Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:41 am

Gilgamesh wrote:They say that as we get older memory is the first thing to go. I forget what the second thing is.

Hey, I can't tell you how many times I've pulled up the wrong screen by mistake...
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8092
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku keeps re buffering

Postby Solar » Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:40 am

Ok Guys, I enabled debug logging and it still re buffs and all so a window pops up telling me it is loading at 1mbps on your 1.5mbps internet.
I checked the speed of the connection and it tells me my speed is 2.65mbps.
Solar
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:05 am

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Heyitsrick, scyber, zeus661 and 32 guests