1080p on xds?

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

1080p on xds?

Postby Union49er » Sun May 15, 2011 6:04 pm

Samsung 1080p tv, xds with hdmi connection, yet I can only get resolution of 1280x720. For example, MLB.TV thru Boxee software browser or from MLB website displays at 1920x1080 resolution. Roku box settings are on 1080p. I can't find any channel that displays anything but 72op.
Union49er
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 5:45 pm

Re: 1080p on xds?

Postby evilmax17 » Sun May 15, 2011 6:50 pm

My Roku Channels:
Viddler - viddler.com
Tested Fan - tested.com | Jamie & Adam
This is my next - theverge.com
1080p Showcase - RIP
Whiskey Media - RIP
======================
http://www.binarymoustache.com
evilmax17
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:44 pm

Re: 1080p on xds?

Postby scyber » Mon May 16, 2011 7:04 am

The Roku displays its UI and 720p videos in 720p even when configured to 1080p. It only displays 1080p videos in 1080p. If MLB.tv offers 1080p streams (I'm not sure they do), then I don't believe the roku channel is currently configured to access them. It is currently limited to the 720p streams. You may seem 1080p output from the boxee box b/c it is a more powerful hardware platform and is scaling the video up to 1080p before outputting.
scyber
 
Posts: 1287
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:51 am

Re: 1080p on xds?

Postby Union49er » Wed May 18, 2011 8:21 pm

scyber wrote:The Roku displays its UI and 720p videos in 720p even when configured to 1080p. It only displays 1080p videos in 1080p. If MLB.tv offers 1080p streams (I'm not sure they do), then I don't believe the roku channel is currently configured to access them. It is currently limited to the 720p streams. You may seem 1080p output from the boxee box b/c it is a more powerful hardware platform and is scaling the video up to 1080p before outputting.


So is there no channel content that Roku xd/xds displays in 1080p? That capability is the primary distinguishing feature over the Roku HD box.
Union49er
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 5:45 pm

Re: 1080p on xds?

Postby Union49er » Wed May 18, 2011 8:27 pm

scyber wrote: You may seem 1080p output from the boxee box b/c it is a more powerful hardware platform and is scaling the video up to 1080p before outputting.


I do not have a Boxee box. I am accessing Boxee using the Boxee browser software on my media PC attached via HDMI to my Samsung TV.
Union49er
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 5:45 pm

Re: 1080p on xds?

Postby Buckeye911 » Thu May 19, 2011 12:18 am

Union49er wrote:
scyber wrote:The Roku displays its UI and 720p videos in 720p even when configured to 1080p. It only displays 1080p videos in 1080p. If MLB.tv offers 1080p streams (I'm not sure they do), then I don't believe the roku channel is currently configured to access them. It is currently limited to the 720p streams. You may seem 1080p output from the boxee box b/c it is a more powerful hardware platform and is scaling the video up to 1080p before outputting.


So is there no channel content that Roku xd/xds displays in 1080p? That capability is the primary distinguishing feature over the Roku HD box.

Yes there is. One example is the 1080p Showcase Channel that evilmax17 referred to in his response. If the link he posted doesn't work for you, "1080p" is the channel code to add it.
Buckeye911
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:04 am
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia

Re: 1080p on xds?

Postby wchillman » Thu May 19, 2011 12:48 pm

If the 1080p Showcase Channel does not work for you, you may have the same problem that I do. The Roku box currently does not support 1080p @ 60 fps...which is what my TV needs. It's no fault of the developer of the 1080p Showcase Channel...Roku just needs to support 1080p @ 60 fps with a new firmware update.
wchillman
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 2:34 pm

Re: 1080p on xds?

Postby scyber » Thu May 19, 2011 1:13 pm

Union49er wrote:
scyber wrote: You may seem 1080p output from the boxee box b/c it is a more powerful hardware platform and is scaling the video up to 1080p before outputting.


I do not have a Boxee box. I am accessing Boxee using the Boxee browser software on my media PC attached via HDMI to my Samsung TV.


Ok. My statement is still relevant though. Let me rephrase:

You may seem 1080p output from the boxee software b/c your computer is a more powerful hardware platform and is scaling the video up to 1080p before outputting.
scyber
 
Posts: 1287
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:51 am


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mikebdoss and 28 guests