Activation Issue [Code 001]

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby schmidtj » Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:17 pm

Trying to set up my 2nd Roku2.
It downloaded the firmware upgrade but now I get a n error trying to do the initial
Roku Activation.
My WIreless connection is fine (or I couldn't do the firmware upgrade).
It seems to be having an issue contacting the Roku activation server.
My options are to retry or redo the network setup.
The network setup is fine and retry doesn't work.
Any suggestions?
Tnx,
J
schmidtj
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:32 am
Location: Chicagoland

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby RokuShawnS » Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:19 pm

Try doing a hard reset on the device (the little paperclip button), but be sure to hold it down for ~30 seconds.

C. Shawn Smith
Forum Community Liaison

------------
The Cosmos is all that is, and all that was, and ever will be. -- Carl Sagan
User avatar
RokuShawnS
Roku Engineering
 
Posts: 4415
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:21 pm

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby schmidtj » Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:11 pm

Thanks, before you replied I rebooted it one more time and I was able to activate.
BUT ...
No luck getting registered to my Netflix account until I did a hard reset.
Way too much work.
;)
On a plus note ... linking to my Amazon acct was straight forward.
J
schmidtj
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:32 am
Location: Chicagoland

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby kconary » Sat Nov 19, 2011 10:52 pm

I am having the same issue except the rebooting no matter how long or how many times doesn't work. Are there any other steps to take with this sort of problem??
kconary
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 10:38 pm

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby schmidtj » Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:07 pm

Rebooting may not be enough. Resetting to defaults via the menu or reset button is probably the best.
It's a pain if you have a lot of channels registered.
schmidtj
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:32 am
Location: Chicagoland

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby ds6060 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:49 am

kconary wrote:I am having the same issue except the rebooting no matter how long or how many times doesn't work. Are there any other steps to take with this sort of problem??


I had the same issue with my Roku2 XS. I finally was able to get it to activate by connecting via an Ethernet cable to my router. After activation was finished, wireless worked fine for everything.
ds6060
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 5:26 pm

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby kconary » Sun Nov 20, 2011 2:03 pm

I tried hooking it up directly through Ethernet and did all the setup and updates from there and it worked! Even after I moved it back to wireless. Roku needs to fix this issue because it's quite ridiculous to have to go through all these problem solving steps. Thanks!
kconary
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 10:38 pm

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby kc8pql » Sun Nov 20, 2011 4:09 pm

kconary wrote: Roku needs to fix this issue because it's quite ridiculous to have to go through all these problem solving steps. Thanks!

Most setups don't have problems. I've setup 7 boxes in five different locations. They all connected immediately. Total setup time about 5 minuets each.
Setup problems are usually caused by some local router/modem/LAN/whatever condition that has to be worked through. A lot of users hang out on this forum to help out with those cases.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7946
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby RickRansom » Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:12 pm

+1

I don't have 7 players but when I had issues with connectivity and changed some configurations on my router - everything worked smoothly.
Retired
User avatar
RickRansom
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: PH

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby schmidtj » Mon Nov 21, 2011 3:36 pm

kc8pql wrote:
kconary wrote: Roku needs to fix this issue because it's quite ridiculous to have to go through all these problem solving steps. Thanks!

Most setups don't have problems. I've setup 7 boxes in five different locations. They all connected immediately. Total setup time about 5 minuets each.
Setup problems are usually caused by some local router/modem/LAN/whatever condition that has to be worked through. A lot of users hang out on this forum to help out with those cases.
I set up 3 boxes on the same wi-fi network the same day. One had problems two did not. If it was the network I would expect all to fail. Only one did.
J
schmidtj
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:32 am
Location: Chicagoland

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby kc8pql » Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:34 pm

schmidtj wrote: If it was the network I would expect all to fail. Only one did.

Not necessarily. As an example, a hiccup in the network while downloading the firmware for a new box (they don't ship with a full version) can cause the update to fail. In that case you would need to reset the box and start again.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7946
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby schmidtj » Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:34 pm

kc8pql wrote:
schmidtj wrote: If it was the network I would expect all to fail. Only one did.

Not necessarily. As an example, a hiccup in the network while downloading the firmware for a new box (they don't ship with a full version) can cause the update to fail. In that case you would need to reset the box and start again.

Poor design if it can't recover from a bad packet.
schmidtj
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:32 am
Location: Chicagoland

Re: Activation Issue [Code 001]

Postby RokuShawnS » Tue Nov 22, 2011 1:10 am

schmidtj wrote:
kc8pql wrote:
schmidtj wrote: If it was the network I would expect all to fail. Only one did.

Not necessarily. As an example, a hiccup in the network while downloading the firmware for a new box (they don't ship with a full version) can cause the update to fail. In that case you would need to reset the box and start again.

Poor design if it can't recover from a bad packet.


ALL devices (and even computers) suffer from this from time to time. It's not a poor design, but an issue with updating through an internet connection, and there is no way to control that, even in the best of circumstances.

C. Shawn Smith
Forum Community Liaison

------------
The Cosmos is all that is, and all that was, and ever will be. -- Carl Sagan
User avatar
RokuShawnS
Roku Engineering
 
Posts: 4415
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:21 pm


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: belltown, im85288, kes7u, lrhyne and 30 guests