Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Moderators: RokuShawnS, RokuDouglas, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby ziggy » Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:14 pm

Not sure what happened to my last post.

The nutshell is that I have an AirPort Extreme router and changed the DNS settings per the Roku rep's recommendations. Still no go.
ziggy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:05 am

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby __5 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:38 pm

__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby ziggy » Fri Jan 20, 2012 5:14 pm

roku5 wrote:http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=47017&sid=4d0fdcfc96747d53507cb75dedfbd331#p319589


Sorry, I'm not sure this is relevant to my situation. I'm able to connect to my wireless connection no problem. I just can't access HBO GO (despite being able to successfully activate my Roku device on HBO GO).

I spoke with Comcast (my ISP), and they said there is nothing they would be doing to prevent my streaming content via my Dish TV subscription. It appears that somehow the activation from HBO GO isn't making it to the Roku.
ziggy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:05 am

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby __5 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:02 pm

see tip ---> # 11- Info
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby ziggy » Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:14 pm

Make/Model of All connected devices

Roku 2 XS (Angry Birds) version 4.2, 1006
TV - Panasonic 42-inch 1080p plasma
Bluray - Panasonic SA-BT100
Dish Receiver - ViP612DVR
Modem - Motorola Surfboard SB5120
Router - AirPort Extreme 802.11n (5th Generation) version 7.6

Connections type: connected to TV via HDMI and to internet via WiFi

Channel name: HBO GO

Think that should do it. Let me know if there's any other info that would be helpful. Thanks!
ziggy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:05 am

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby gonzotek » Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:40 pm

ziggy wrote:It appears that somehow the activation from HBO GO isn't making it to the Roku.
I'm sorry you're having the issue you're having, it's not a common one, but from your description of the channel behavior, that's not my conclusion. If the code wasn't making it to the Roku, I'd expect the Roku to continue to prompt you for the activation code each time you enter the channel. It sounds to me like it gets the code, which then somehow puts it into a state where it then (in your case, unfortunately :( ) encounters an unexpected error. That causes the channel to crash back to the home screen, instead of recovering with an error message about what the issue is(e.g. "The service is not available" or "Your authentication has been revoked", etc.). Just checking to be sure,you have tried factory resetting already? If that doesn't resolve it, and changing the dns doesn't resolve it, and you can use some channels, but not others, I'm running out of good ideas to try. Amazon has some free content, and so does Crackle, are you able to play anything from each of them? I'm trying to get a better scope of the problem.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2157
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:40 am

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby __5 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:15 pm

ziggy wrote:Make/Model of All connected devices

Roku 2 XS (Angry Birds) version 4.2, 1006
TV - Panasonic 42-inch 1080p plasma
Bluray - Panasonic SA-BT100
Dish Receiver - ViP612DVR
Modem - Motorola Surfboard SB5120
Router - AirPort Extreme 802.11n (5th Generation) version 7.6

Connections type: connected to TV via HDMI and to internet via WiFi

Channel name: HBO GO

Think that should do it. Let me know if there's any other info that would be helpful. Thanks!



are you able to watch previews on HBO Go channel? (as a none subscriber/ without a link)
& have you tried wired (Ethernet) connection instead of wireless?
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby __5 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:51 pm

try this,



1- Unlink Roku device from Roku Account,
• Go to “My Roku Account” sing-in
• From “My Roku Account Players” select Unlink

2- Unplug power cord from Modem & Router.

3- Remove all the Channels from Roku,
• From Roku’s Home screen > Channels > Select Channel > Remove (repeat) > Press [Home]

4- Remove the Mini SD Card (if in use)

5- Perform a Factory-Reset on Roku,
• From Roku’s Home screen >Settings> Factory Reset

5- Stop.

6- Re-plug power cord to Modem (wait till it restart)

7- Re-plug power cord to Router Modem (wait till it restart)

8- Go back to Roku reboot it.

9- Setup Roku and add only HBO Go channel

10- Before linking HBO Go channel, try to watch a preview on it (for testing).

11- Link HBO Go to Dish & try it.

btw, on the Router - Export (save) ‘Configuration File’ (password protected) on a Computer/removable media. (just in case!)


Good Luck!
Last edited by __5 on Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:31 pm, edited 3 times in total.
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby ziggy » Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:02 pm

roku5 wrote:try this,

1- Unplug power cord from Modem & Router.

2- Unlink Roku device from Roku Account,
• Go to “My Roku Account” sing-in
• From “My Roku Account Players” select Unlink

3- Remove all the Channels from Roku,
• From Roku’s Home screen > Channels > Select Channel > Remove (repeat) > Press [Home]


Wait—if I unplug my modem, I won't have internet access to unlink my Roku account - ??

Thanks for the suggestion! I'm glad there's someone who hasn't given up.
ziggy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:05 am

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby __5 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:32 pm

swap 1&2
btw, were you before able to stream (watch) any of the previews on HBO Go channel? Or you were just browsing thru the icons? And did you stream any HD contents from any premium channels (like Netflix /Amazon/Hulu)?
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby ziggy » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:13 pm

Sorry that took so long. What a nightmare. I couldn't delete the channels after killing my account, but the factory reset took care of it.

Went through the whole setup process again, added HBO GO, selected "browse" and tried to watch the preview for "HBO in 2012." No dice. Just kicks me back to the home screen.

When I tried to test Crackle, same thing. I could log in, select something, then it said it would start "after this message." The purple screen bounced around, then it was back home.
ziggy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:05 am

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby __5 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:32 pm

So, you weren’t able before to watch previews on HBO Go channel? you were just browsing thru the icons?


try this --> 10- Troubleshooting > Tip: HDMI handshake issues - HDCP issues
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby ziggy » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:35 pm

Before, I browsed through the icons, selected something to watch, then it kicked me to the Activate screen. I guess I didn't try watching something from the Preview. Or should it let you watch previews of everything?
ziggy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:05 am

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby __5 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:42 pm

ziggy wrote:........ Or should it let you watch previews of everything?


yes!

try this --> 10- Troubleshooting --> Tip: HDMI handshake issues - HDCP issues -->• Temporally, try and disconnect the HDMI cable and connect via.....
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Dish Network not supporting HBO GO on Roku

Postby ziggy » Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:30 pm

Swapping the HDMI ends did nothing. Next tried using the composite RCA (Yellow/Red/White) cable (included w/Roku). Now there's no Roku connection at all …
ziggy
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:05 am

PreviousNext

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: renojim, TheHopToad and 15 guests