Question about Roku remote control ??

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby Matt9876 » Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:19 pm

Will the Roku 2 XS with the wireless game remote also respond to a Roku IR remote control at the same time without changing something ?


I will be testing an IR repeater with the Roku if the answer is YES.


Thank you :)
ROKU 3
ROKU 2 XS
ROKU HD
Simple TV OTA DVR
Matt9876
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:55 am

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby RickRansom » Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:45 pm

Yes. Not sure why you would need an IR repeater given that the gaming remote will work even if you put the roku in a wooden cabinet.
But if you need an IR repeater because you have the roku in a fancy hardwood cabinet and you're using a fancy universal remote, then that does make sense.
As far as I know, all roku players have an IR receiver on them so it should work fine.
Retired
User avatar
RickRansom
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: PH

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby Matt9876 » Sat Mar 24, 2012 5:17 pm

RickRansom wrote:Not sure why you would need an IR repeater given that the gaming remote will work even if you put the roku in a wooden cabinet.


I'm looking to use a system like Slingbox to control the Roku and have it control the Roksbox and PLEX servers. :)
ROKU 3
ROKU 2 XS
ROKU HD
Simple TV OTA DVR
Matt9876
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:55 am

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby RickRansom » Sat Mar 24, 2012 5:45 pm

Matt9876 wrote:
RickRansom wrote:Not sure why you would need an IR repeater given that the gaming remote will work even if you put the roku in a wooden cabinet.


I'm looking to use a system like Slingbox to control the Roku and have it control the Roksbox and PLEX servers. :)

Ooooh. Sounds like you're planning quite a sweet setup there. Wish you all the best. :D
Retired
User avatar
RickRansom
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: PH

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby Matt9876 » Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:20 pm

Now I just need to figure out how to borrow/buy a Roku IR remote and record the buttons. :?
ROKU 3
ROKU 2 XS
ROKU HD
Simple TV OTA DVR
Matt9876
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:55 am

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby atheling » Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:35 pm

Matt9876 wrote:Now I just need to figure out how to borrow/buy a Roku IR remote and record the buttons. :?


I haven't looked but I'd be surprised if they weren't listed on one of the forums that deal with universal remote controls. If you are using a Harmony remote it turns out that they know the codes.
atheling
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 9:40 am

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby kc8pql » Sat Mar 24, 2012 7:40 pm

...or if you do end up needing to buy one, you can order it here:
http://www.roku.com/accessories
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8119
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby knuckle » Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:25 pm

they were on sale for 4.99 this week I think
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
all running wireless on a Netgear WNR 1000
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby DBDukes » Sun Mar 25, 2012 4:19 am

Matt9876 wrote:Will the Roku 2 XS with the wireless game remote also respond to a Roku IR remote control at the same time without changing something ?


I will be testing an IR repeater with the Roku if the answer is YES.


Thank you :)

Yes. Definitely yes.

I set up one of the Roku LT boxes for the grandchildren on my TV, so when I gave it to them, it'd be ready to go (once added to their network).

I didn't disconnect my XS, which is paired to its remote, but plugged the LT into a composite input on my TV (like they'll be using). When I was done, their Roku was all set up with new channel for kids and everything, and I was so proud. Then, later, when I went to watch something on my Roku, I found it had been responding to the remote movements. It was all buggered up; channels missing, out of order, and added. But, at least I got enought experience to answer your question with 100% certainty!
DBDukes
Roku 3, Roku 2 XS, Roku XD
DBDukes
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Phenix City, AL

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby zibbyk » Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:37 am

Where were they "on sale for 4.99 this week" ????????
zibbyk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:34 am

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby FX4 » Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:45 am

Keep us posted on this project. I'm actually planning on using Slingbox for British television so Roku support would be great.
OTA - Antennacraft HDX 1000
Roku 3
Roku2 XS (x4)
Roku XD (x2)
Roku XR
Raspberry Pi XBMC
MacMini XBMC/Plex
ATV3
FX4
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby knuckle » Tue Mar 27, 2012 12:14 pm

Hi roku folk--------------

for those of you unaware http://blog.roku.com/blog/2012/03/22/in ... der-deals/ Join up and there are some sweet deals they offer like the 4.99 remote control

(sorry zibbyk,I should have posted this the first time)
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
all running wireless on a Netgear WNR 1000
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby zibbyk » Tue Mar 27, 2012 7:20 pm

Thanx, for the info.

However it was sold out in a short time.

And anyway you have to have a working remote to go to channel store to buy a replacement remote. Its kind of "catch 22" thing.
zibbyk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:34 am

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby FX4 » Tue Mar 27, 2012 7:44 pm

If you have an iPad or iPod touch they work fine as remotes for any Roku (that I have tried).
OTA - Antennacraft HDX 1000
Roku 3
Roku2 XS (x4)
Roku XD (x2)
Roku XR
Raspberry Pi XBMC
MacMini XBMC/Plex
ATV3
FX4
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Question about Roku remote control ??

Postby gonzotek » Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:31 am

FX4 wrote:If you have an iPad or iPod touch they work fine as remotes for any Roku (that I have tried).
Or you can use your pc or many other devices with Remoku.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2202
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: shannonwel and 15 guests