How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby borabora » Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:41 pm

first I really like my Roku and have three of them actually.

I want to find a way to split the output from o e ROKU to two different TVs

I tried a variety of HDMI splitters from Amazon but none really work.

have any of you done this successfully? if so what did you use?

any advice comments appreciated

thank you
borabora
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby RokuShawnS » Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:01 pm

I'm not sure it's even possible, but even it is, the video would be the same on every TV.

C. Shawn Smith
Forum Community Liaison

------------
The Cosmos is all that is, and all that was, and ever will be. -- Carl Sagan
User avatar
RokuShawnS
Roku Engineering
 
Posts: 4653
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:21 pm

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby alxtronics » Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:11 pm

OP didn´t say what is he / her trying to achieve here. An hdmi splitter on ebay costs around $10 US. Then, if it works and he tries to feed the signal to a tv in another room, he will need a long hdmi cable. A 20 ft one costs around $17 US. A 100ft one costs around $80. He can use an hdmi extender kit that costs around $40 US, but he will need to buy additional CAT5 cables.

My Roku 2 XD has an analog (composite) jack along the hdmi one. But I don´t know if you can use them both at the same time.

Is faster, cheaper and better to buy another Roku box. Also, this way you can watch different programs on each display. And you will have FOUR Rokus. That alone will gave you a nice status on this forum.

Cheers


Alex
alxtronics
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:45 am

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby borabora » Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:27 am

correct, same output to two tv's is what i want

has anyone had luck with those hdmi splitters?

you may be right buying another roku prolly easiest.

thanks
borabora
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby chenrikson » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:44 am

Monoprice hs a very nice HDMI splitter at reasonable price (about $20 IIRC) -- and great prices on HDMI cables. A friend is using splitter (his AVR doesn't support 3D) and getting fine results.
Samsung PSE8000 Smart TV
Fios 20mbps+ internet +TV
Roku 3
Denon AVR-3808CI
Mirage OM-9, C2, Omnisats
Sony BDP-S790
chenrikson
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:43 pm
Location: Albany, NY

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby dividebyzer0 » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:30 pm

The Roku XR has 4 video outputs.
HDMI
Component Video
S-Video (I use this one)
Composite

As for Audio output:
Optical Toslink output
HDMI has it's own audio signal path
Unbalanced Stereo RCA Left & Right

I send the Roku's RCA Audio outputs to a small stereo audio mixer; integrating the Roku, HDTV and PC Audio signals. This arrangement allows me to hear all 3 stereo signals at the same time at their proper volume.
HD-XR model N1101 Firmware 3.1 Bld 1182
Linksys BEFSX41 <==> AT&T ADSL
Channel Master CM-7000 HDTV Tuner
27" RCA ColorTrak circa 1992. Scissors! ---8<-----
dividebyzer0
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Wichita Kansas

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby fastscirocco » Sun Aug 12, 2012 5:24 am

borabora wrote:correct, same output to two tv's is what i want

has anyone had luck with those hdmi splitters?

you may be right buying another roku prolly easiest.

thanks




I have two HDMi splitters that I purchased from Monoprice, one for my Satellite receiver and the 2nd for my Roku.

The Roku is in my livingroom and is connected to the HDMI splitter with 6 ft hdmi cable, the splitter outputs to a tv in my living room
with a 6 ft hdmi cable and another tv in my basement with a 25 ft hdmi cable. I set up the HDMI splitters ~ 2 years ago, when my DVD player died
and I bought the Roku I simply swapped them out.

The system works well with no issues
fastscirocco
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:00 pm

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby joed32 » Sun Aug 12, 2012 9:09 am

This switch works really well for me:

http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-HDMI-Bi-Di ... ell+switch
joed32
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:50 pm

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby radiocolin » Sun Aug 12, 2012 1:20 pm

HDMI can not be split like a traditional TV cable because it requires a digital handshake for HDCP.

The tool you seek is an "HDMI distribution amp" with HDCP. http://www.amazon.com/4-Port-HDMI-Distr ... B000NK6042
radiocolin
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby chenrikson » Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:25 am

Nice unit, but the Monoprice units are well made and work (for the OP's needs) just fine, IMHO.
Samsung PSE8000 Smart TV
Fios 20mbps+ internet +TV
Roku 3
Denon AVR-3808CI
Mirage OM-9, C2, Omnisats
Sony BDP-S790
chenrikson
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:43 pm
Location: Albany, NY

Re: How to split ROKU output to two tv's

Postby FDish » Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:37 pm

I used this HDMI splitter, http://sewelldirect.com/Sewell-HDMI-1x2 ... r-v13b.asp
It works great for a tv upstairs and down. They are on the same wall so it only took a 6' cable to get to the second tv.
I tried seperate rokus, that's a pain.
I need to get another remote because I don't always remember to take it with me.
I hope you can sync 2 remotes to one box. I would think so...
FDish
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:25 pm


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: httpslash, mikebdoss, mikeyts and 33 guests