FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby castalla » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:07 am

Be sure to post any problems you have at the RaspPi forum!
castalla
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:55 am
Location: Back of Beyond

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby knuckle » Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:06 pm

How did the lego case work out mommom?
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV
all running wireless on a actiontec C2000A
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby Rick H » Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:23 pm

Been having problems with Filmon since last night, trying to login to BBC and it diverts me to safari and then the interface comes up to show play over HD, plays for about 4 mins and then bumps me out and have to press HD again and so on. Beginning to be a real pain,
Rick H
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:16 pm

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby Detection » Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:10 am

Rick H wrote:Been having problems with Filmon since last night, trying to login to BBC and it diverts me to safari and then the interface comes up to show play over HD, plays for about 4 mins and then bumps me out and have to press HD again and so on. Beginning to be a real pain,



I've found night time seems to work for the longest time, during the day its seconds until it goes off, night time I can watch sometimes for 10-15 mins
Detection
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:14 am
Location: Durham, UK

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby castalla » Fri Aug 17, 2012 6:05 am

Maybe it's something to do with HD vs. SD streams - on the web version the SD streams were free and without interruption. I suspect the Roku is receiving only the HD stream and there's no way to select the lower quality.
castalla
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:55 am
Location: Back of Beyond

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby mommom » Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:18 pm

knuckle wrote:How did the lego case work out mommom?



Grandkids are coming after school today.The oldest and I will be working on "his" Rpi Saturday night.He is building the case tomorrow,we have the bricks he needs.This kid can build working robots with Legos so I think he will have no problems.He does plan to build it,then take it apart and add glue and build it again because the unit will be velcroed onto his tv.Hope I got the right glue!
mommom
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:21 am

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby castalla » Sat Aug 18, 2012 7:05 am

If you login to filmon then choose free SD the channels don't stop - so Roku filmon needs a SD option ?
castalla
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:55 am
Location: Back of Beyond

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby FX4 » Tue Aug 28, 2012 8:56 am

Detection wrote:
castalla wrote:I haven't tried xbmc on my Pi - there are conflicting reports on just how well it handles some codecs.

I had thought an android based device might have been the solution, but Filmon on android is even worse than on a PC - Filmon have crippled the full-screen mode for the 'free' channels and you have to pay a monthly sub. to get full-screen.



XBian is the superior build of XBMC for the Pi, it plays just about everything very well, it struggles a little with 1080p DTS videos, but each release it gets better http://xbian.org/

The TVCatchup plugin for XBMC works great, all freeview channels stream well, and plex plugin lets you stream from your plex media server on the PC

What would be great would be if TVCatchup added a Roku channel so we didn't have to use 3rd party hardware

Raspbmc is not as stable as XBAIN but it does a whole lot more. I tried XBAIN, several times and while it seems very stable it does not do half the things I want it to do. I believe Raspbmc will get there as far as stability goes. The lead coder is an 18 year old kid and the work so far is impressive. Look at the number of people involved with Raspbmc compared to XBAIN or Openelec. That should tell you something right there.
OTA - Antennacraft HDX 1000
Roku 3
Roku2 XS (x4)
Roku XD (x2)
Roku XR
Raspberry Pi XBMC
MacMini XBMC/Plex
ATV3
FX4
 
Posts: 1235
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:52 am

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby Dick Drivel » Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:52 am

Just tried to register FilmOn on a friend's Roku. The app generates a code on the Ruku, but when entered in "To setup new device please enter the link code from your TV" on their website, the page doesn't react at all, as if this feature has been disabled. Any thoughts?
Dick Drivel
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:54 am
Location: Drivel Town

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby FX4 » Fri Sep 07, 2012 10:36 am

Works fine for me. The only thing I use from filmon is Weathernation.
OTA - Antennacraft HDX 1000
Roku 3
Roku2 XS (x4)
Roku XD (x2)
Roku XR
Raspberry Pi XBMC
MacMini XBMC/Plex
ATV3
FX4
 
Posts: 1235
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:52 am

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby orcecaveman » Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:04 am

Bought my Roku from Amazon and had it delivered to Spain, hoping to be able to get BBC and ITV but as with everyone else, Filmon drops out after about 15 seconds. Does anybody have any idea if this can be fixed or will it be ok if I subscibe. Just want to be able to watch a bit of UK tv!
orcecaveman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:36 am

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby Dick Drivel » Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:07 am

Did you order from Amazon UK or US?
Dick Drivel
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:54 am
Location: Drivel Town

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby orcecaveman » Thu Sep 13, 2012 2:42 pm

amazon UK
orcecaveman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:36 am

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby OnlineLC » Wed Sep 26, 2012 3:11 pm

I just tried it again today and it is working again.
OnlineLC
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:54 pm

Re: FilmOn, more like FilmOff

Postby Detection » Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:16 pm

OnlineLC wrote:I just tried it again today and it is working again.



Terrestrial signal was turned off for good here yesterday, freeview was turned on and boosted so now I have no need for Roku or FIlmOn thank goodness
Detection
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:14 am
Location: Durham, UK

Previous

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tergiversada, thetick and 21 guests