Roku LT bought in UK with No BBC iplayer

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Roku LT bought in UK with No BBC iplayer

Postby woodentop » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:11 pm

Having just bought a Roku Lt from a retailers in the Uk. I looked for the BBC iplayer and found there was not one to be found.
I looked in the Channel Store and could not see it there.

The Roku is advertised in having a BBC iplayer. I was told by customers services online chat that I had to ring customers services and have my Roku changed to work in the UK.

What is the point in buying this item when you have to change the settings to work in the UK by phoning customers service.

I am sure there is a better way of doing this. Please advise !
Last edited by woodentop on Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
woodentop
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:12 pm
Location: Worcester UK

Re: Roku LT

Postby kc8pql » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:23 pm

Having just bought a Roku Lt from a retailers in the Uk.


Was it from an authorized UK dealer? Your description of the problem
makes me wonder if it's a grey market box from the US.

http://www.roku.com/uk?sflang=en#4
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8102
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku LT

Postby woodentop » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:51 pm

kc8pql wrote:
Having just bought a Roku Lt from a retailers in the Uk.


Was it from an authorized UK dealer? Your description of the problem
makes me wonder if it's a grey market box from the US.

http://www.roku.com/uk?sflang=en#4



I bought it from Currys a electrical company based in the UK. It was bought from a local shop in Worcester where I live.
woodentop
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:12 pm
Location: Worcester UK

Re: Roku LT

Postby TheEndless » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:56 pm

woodentop wrote:
kc8pql wrote:
Having just bought a Roku Lt from a retailers in the Uk.


Was it from an authorized UK dealer? Your description of the problem
makes me wonder if it's a grey market box from the US.

http://www.roku.com/uk?sflang=en#4

I bought it from Currys a electrical company based in the UK. It was bought from a local shop in Worcester where I live.

Sounds like they may have either ordered some in from the US, or they received an incorrect shipment. Did the box you received have a UK adapter?
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), MainSqueeze (MAINSQUEEZE), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), Justin.tv (JUSTINTV), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7977
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US

Re: Roku LT

Postby woodentop » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:59 pm

Yes it did have a UK adapter!
woodentop
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:12 pm
Location: Worcester UK

Re: Roku LT

Postby kc8pql » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:02 pm

Something isn't right. You may want to edit the thread title of your original post to include "in the UK" to attract UK users, but I think that the iPlayer
should appear in the channel store automatically when you set up the box.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8102
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku LT

Postby knuckle » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:03 pm

you created an account and linked the player? -- can you see any other UK channels (like now tv)
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
all running wireless on a Netgear WNR 1000
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2665
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Roku LT

Postby woodentop » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:05 pm

knuckle wrote:you created an account and linked the player? -- can you see any other UK channels (like now tv)



No I cannot see any UK channels at all !
woodentop
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:12 pm
Location: Worcester UK

Re: Roku LT

Postby TheEndless » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:05 pm

woodentop wrote:Yes it did have a UK adapter!

Very strange. Definitely sounds like a mix up of some sort, but I suppose only someone from Roku would be able to comment on that. If it were a common issue, I'm sure we'd have heard more about it by now, though.

I'd send a PM to RokuShawnS here on the forums to see if he can help you out. Might be less hassle than having to deal with customer support...
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), MainSqueeze (MAINSQUEEZE), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), Justin.tv (JUSTINTV), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7977
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US

Re: Roku LT bought in UK with No BBC iplayer

Postby woodentop » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:23 pm

I have asked the same question on Facebook where Roku is also !

Thanks for your replies.
woodentop
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:12 pm
Location: Worcester UK

Re: Roku LT bought in UK with No BBC iplayer

Postby knuckle » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:41 pm

one thing to try-- unplug the unit and plug her back in perhaps a re-boot will set it straight
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
all running wireless on a Netgear WNR 1000
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2665
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Roku LT bought in UK with No BBC iplayer

Postby kc8pql » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:42 pm

You're probably more likely to get direct help from Roku here. PM RokuShawnS if you haven't already.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8102
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku LT bought in UK with No BBC iplayer

Postby woodentop » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:51 pm

knuckle wrote:one thing to try-- unplug the unit and plug her back in perhaps a re-boot will set it straight



I unpluged the unit and it still has no UK channels on it
woodentop
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:12 pm
Location: Worcester UK

Re: Roku LT bought in UK with No BBC iplayer

Postby RokuShawnS » Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:28 pm

You'll need to contact CS. It sounds like the unit didn't link properly to your account.

C. Shawn Smith
Forum Community Liaison

------------
The Cosmos is all that is, and all that was, and ever will be. -- Carl Sagan
User avatar
RokuShawnS
Roku Engineering
 
Posts: 4565
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:21 pm

Re: Roku LT bought in UK with No BBC iplayer

Postby RickRansom » Sat Dec 15, 2012 5:18 am

RokuShawnS wrote:It sounds like the unit didn't link properly to your account.

C. Shawn Smith

Was your box already activated the first time you set it up? If you weren't prompted to setup a roku account and have it activated there, then that could be the issue - might have been linked to somebody else's account.

You'd best contact CS now, while they're still open so they can double-check this for you.
Their website says they should be open from 10:00AM to 10:00PM GMT.
Retired
User avatar
RickRansom
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: PH

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests