Error 010

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Error 010

Postby theboneman21 » Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:50 am

Hi all

Wonder if anyone can help.

Having this issue since Dec 18 on both Rokus

My wifi seems fine. xbox is on it and connects to live and Netflix etc. Two desktops, Two laptops, Two tablets and Two smartphones all on wifi, all work.

My two rokus will not connect. I keep getting error 010 saying to verify my connection and contact the ISP.

I tried power cycling the modem, router and roku. All one at a time, then all together reconnecting one after the other after allowing each to initialize.

I tried the pinhole reset. I tried the factory restore. Same. Before restting I would get "checking connection" when trying to access netflix, crackle, channel store etc then get the error 010.

When i connect with my roku it gives me the three green lights for connecting tothe networks and the internet. I ry activating it but it just says retrieiving code, neve gives a code and then it always goes to "checking connection" and then error 010.

I even tried the secret screen from these instructions >I suggest you access the secret screen and Cycle the channel store server from there.
Here's how:
-Press HOME5x, FORWARD3x, REWIND2x on the Roku remote
-Select Update Cycle Channel Store Server-Roku will start updating
-Roku will reboot once the update is complete

I did access the secret screens and tried those things. Same issue. When I check connection status i do have an IP, MAC addy and strength shows excellent. I am at a loss.

Any and all help is appreciated.

thanks
theboneman21
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:44 am

Re: Error 010

Postby philsoft » Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:21 am

Try turning off any security settings in the router and see if you still have the issue.
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan

Re: Error 010

Postby RickRansom » Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:17 pm

Post the make and model of your router. Seems to be network related so that's what most people which check out first.
Retired
User avatar
RickRansom
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: PH

Re: Error 010

Postby theboneman21 » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:25 am

got it fixed

not sure how

did a bunch of things in a hurry now works

thanks all
theboneman21
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:44 am

Re: Error 010

Postby reverseswing » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:02 pm

I now have the same error on a Roku 2XD. Any one know how to fix it? It was working fine and then started showing me this error code any time I try to access any show. I can browse apps such as Netflix and see all the details about shows and episodes, just can't play anything any more. a reboot hasn't helped.
reverseswing
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: Error 010

Postby mwa123 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:18 pm

I am having the same issue right now on my roku xs. Looks like everything else is working fine except for netflix streaming. I have a first generation roku which seems to be streaming netflix fine, I can stream netflix with my laptop and ipad only thing that is failing is the roku xs.
mwa123
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:11 pm

Re: Error 010

Postby reverseswing » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:21 pm

mwa123 wrote:I am having the same issue right now on my roku xs. Looks like everything else is working fine except for netflix streaming. I have a first generation roku which seems to be streaming netflix fine, I can stream netflix with my laptop and ipad only thing that is failing is the roku xs.

I can stream through my TV's apps and computer and tablet. Just doesn't work on the roku. I can't make any apps work on my roku any more. Rebooting hasn't helped at all, not even after rebooting my router and modem.
reverseswing
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: Error 010

Postby pennedav » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:30 pm

Also experiencing this issue as of today. Was able to watch Netflix last night. We have an XD we got last December. Rebooting router and cable modem made no change. All other wireless devices working just fine. Checked for new firmware updates and the Roku reports it is up-to-date.

Edit: We are able to stream Pandora just fine.
pennedav
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: Error 010

Postby thumpar » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:36 pm

Same problem here with an LT. My old Roku 1 XD is working fine. This is not just netflix but everything.
thumpar
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:08 pm

Re: Error 010

Postby dboff01 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:39 pm

thumpar wrote:Same problem here with an LT. My old Roku 1 XD is working fine. This is not just netflix but everything.


I am getting this error message right now on Netflix, but am watching Amazon Prime without a problem.
dboff01
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:37 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Error 010

Postby tertiumquid » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:40 pm

I just got home to the same error 010 problem.

Everything appears to work except for Netflix.

When I reboot the Roku, it tells me I'm not online, then when I press the check again button, I'm online, but still can't get a Netflix movie to play.

I wonder if removing Netflix and then adding it again would help... anyone try this?

This still doesn't explain why the Roku, when rebooted, thinks it's offline when in isn't.
tertiumquid
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Error 010

Postby cgreen1126 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:45 pm

I'm having the same issue on Roku. Called Netflix customer service and they have an automated message stating they are having troubles with streaming and are working to get the problem fixed.
cgreen1126
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:43 pm

Re: Error 010

Postby tertiumquid » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:46 pm

Well, I do hope someone is working on Christmas Eve over at Roku to fix this!

Thanks for the info.
tertiumquid
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Error 010

Postby socantra » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:47 pm

Please attempt to maintain a thin veneer of civility.
Remember, you are speaking to strangers on the internet,
not your own family at home.
socantra
 
Posts: 1151
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:11 am

Re: Error 010

Postby knuckle » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:51 pm

Hi folks.

Downrightnow.com reports netflix disruptions so if its just netflix acting up that is probably the culprit.Keep in mind that roku uses different streams than say your pc so one may work while the other won't.

thumpar,you say everything on the LT is out not just netflix--that sounds like a network problem,your old roku 1 is it hooked wired or wireless? may try power cycling the router--if it doesn't help we can dig a bit deeper.

Now that Christmas is upon us there will be a bunch of new folk trying out new streamers ,signing up for channels etc--this can cause a lot of server congestion so please be patient through the holidays
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV
all running wireless on a actiontec C2000A
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2845
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dboff01, shadoecat and 35 guests