(resolved: new cable) TV won't recognize Roku HD

Discussions about Roku products, channels, and Roku-related topics.

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

(resolved: new cable) TV won't recognize Roku HD

Postby thepianist » Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:24 pm

So I have:
(1) Roku HD (bought 2 weeks ago)
(2) 2 laptops + 1 NAD DVD player, all with HDMI outputs
(3) a Sanyo 720p LCD TV with HDMI inputs (bought in 2007)
(4) a newly-bought Toshiba 50L2200u (50", 1080p)
(5) 1 good HDMI cable

The problem is that my my Toshiba can't recognize Roku HD. When I power up the Roku, the Toshiba displays the purple Roku logo, then says no signal. My Roku works with my old Sanyo LCD TV via HDMI, my Toshiba works with all my laptops and DVD player via HDMI, and I only used one HDMI cable. So it seems that everything works, but that somehow the Toshiba and the Roku are not compatible. Any ideas?
Last edited by thepianist on Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
thepianist
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: TV won't recognize Roku HD

Postby RokuShawnS » Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:26 pm

Try a different HDMI port and/or cable, first.

C. Shawn Smith
Forum Community Liaison

------------
The Cosmos is all that is, and all that was, and ever will be. -- Carl Sagan
User avatar
RokuShawnS
Roku Engineering
 
Posts: 4682
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:21 pm

Re: TV won't recognize Roku HD

Postby __5 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:30 pm

^^
+1

HDMI handshake.... - more here
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1136
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:51 pm

Re: TV won't recognize Roku HD

Postby thepianist » Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:31 pm

RokuShawnS wrote:Try a different HDMI port and/or cable, first.

C. Shawn Smith


I have tried all the HDMI ports (2) on the Toshiba. It's the same. I also used the yellow AV output from Roku to both Sanyo and Toshiba, and both work. Again, Roku HDMI to Sanyo also works, and my laptops recognize my Toshiba, via HDMI, perfectly (resolution, brand, tv model). I also did several power off/on with both Roku and Toshiba, and the results are the same: purple Roku logo then no signal.

I only used one HDMI cable throughout.
thepianist
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: TV won't recognize Roku HD

Postby thepianist » Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:55 pm

__5 wrote:^^
+1

HDMI handshake.... - more here


Just tried the several of the methods mentioned above (power on/off + wait, changing Roku's output signal, etc). No cure.
thepianist
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: TV won't recognize Roku HD

Postby __5 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:03 pm

Try a “high speed HDMI cable”.
(if a standard hdmi cable works for a device/TV, not necessarily ‘d work with another).

also,
- Set TV "Picture size" settings to "Native".
- Disable TV "HDMI CEC" setting.
- Power off TV & Roku, then first turn TV On, wait 30 sec, then turn Roku On (re-plug it).





-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
:idea: FYI, did you know HDMI 1.4 specification have now five HDMI cable types to choose from. read here.
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1136
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:51 pm

Re: TV won't recognize Roku HD

Postby thepianist » Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:53 pm

__5 wrote:Try a “high speed HDMI cable”.
(if a standard hdmi cable works for a device/TV, not necessarily ‘d work with another).

also,
- Set TV "Picture size" settings to "Native".
- Disable TV "HDMI CEC" setting.
- Power off TV & Roku, then first turn TV On, wait 30 sec, then turn Roku On (re-plug it).

Bought a new cable, and problem solved. My old cable is 1.3, which should work (I think) and certainly have worked between the Toshiba and my laptops. I even used my laptop to stream some Netflix.



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
:idea: FYI, did you know HDMI 1.4 specification have now five HDMI cable types to choose from. read here.
thepianist
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:17 pm

Re: TV won't recognize Roku HD

Postby __5 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:07 pm

thepianist wrote:
__5 wrote:Try a “high speed HDMI cable”.
(if a standard hdmi cable works for a device/TV, not necessarily ‘d work with another).

also,
- Set TV "Picture size" settings to "Native".
- Disable TV "HDMI CEC" setting.
- Power off TV & Roku, then first turn TV On, wait 30 sec, then turn Roku On (re-plug it).


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
:idea: FYI, did you know HDMI 1.4 specification have now five HDMI cable types to choose from. read here.


Bought a new cable, and problem solved. My old cable is 1.3, which should work (I think) and certainly have worked between the Toshiba and my laptops. I even used my laptop to stream some Netflix.


Congrats!

Btw, you could edit your topic as [RESOLVED] to help others.


Happy streaming :D
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1136
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:51 pm


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 420weedman, trekkeriii and 33 guests