Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby chenDawg » Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:34 am

Hello everyone!

Really sorry if this has been asked a before, but Google isn't being helpful and this forum's search isn't behaving on my phone. x.x

I'm just looking for a way that I can connect my Roku 3 directly to my PC (via ethernet or otherwise) so that I can stream without really taxing the bandwidth on my wifi (router is also downstairs and through some very thick walls... so that's kinda hurting my quality).

Practically the only thing I use my Roku for is streaming media from my computer via PLEX. So, an internet connection isn't even really necessary for it.

Any help would be super greatly appreciated. =)
chenDawg
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby Gilgamesh » Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:42 am

It won't work that way. Roku connects to your router not to your computer.

If your WiFi is unreliable then either connect wired or use a repeater or use something like Powerline adapters.

EDIT: It occurs to me that there is a way. Setup a second network using another router that includes just your PC and your Roku. That woul accomplish what you want.
Last edited by Gilgamesh on Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gilgamesh
 
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby chenDawg » Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:47 am

Well, that is a bit of a bummer, but understandable.

Thank you for the info. ^^
chenDawg
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby wzwor » Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:52 am

Actually, there are ways to do this. What OS is your PC running? Is it connected wirelessley or wired to your router?
http://thebeersoncomcast.wordpress.com/
wzwor
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:47 am

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby chenDawg » Thu Jun 06, 2013 12:21 pm

wzwor wrote:Actually, there are ways to do this. What OS is your PC running? Is it connected wirelessley or wired to your router?


I am running Windows 7 and I connect to my router wirelessly. The router is downstairs, but my Roku and PC are in the same room.

Gilgamesh wrote:-snip-
EDIT: It occurs to me that there is a way. Setup a second network using another router that includes just your PC and your Roku. That woul accomplish what you want.


I might have to give this a shot later tonight. :D
chenDawg
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby wzwor » Thu Jun 06, 2013 12:47 pm

Have you tried to connect to the router directly from the Roku wirelessly? Reason I ask is that you are just adding a hop to go through the computer. Everything you would stream wirelessly to your roku will be streamed wirelessly to your PC, so you are not saving anything doing this.

Are you streaming from the PC to the roku? Are you using a server like Plex or the server that shall not be named to play media on your roku? In this case, a direct connection would definitely improve things.

If the roku is not performing well and the pc is streaming similar content without problems, them maybe the roku's wireless is not as good and you may want to try something else.

If you cannot run a wire up to the roku, the next best thing could be to use premise wiring to get a connection at the remote location...

http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-Powerline ... =powerline

You could get 200m from your router to your roku and pc for $70.

If you prefer not to spend money, you can try to use ICS...

http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/h ... ows-7.html

You would need two network adapters in the pc and it would actually serve as a router. You could probably connect the the two wirelessly or use a crossover cable and a usb network adapter on the PC.
http://thebeersoncomcast.wordpress.com/
wzwor
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:47 am

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby gonzotek » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:09 pm

wzwor wrote:Have you tried to connect to the router directly from the Roku wirelessly? Reason I ask is that you are just adding a hop to go through the computer. Everything you would stream wirelessly to your roku will be streamed wirelessly to your PC, so you are not saving anything doing this.

Are you streaming from the PC to the roku? Are you using a server like Plex or the server that shall not be named to play media on your roku? In this case, a direct connection would definitely improve things.

If the roku is not performing well and the pc is streaming similar content without problems, them maybe the roku's wireless is not as good and you may want to try something else.

If you cannot run a wire up to the roku, the next best thing could be to use premise wiring to get a connection at the remote location...

http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-Powerline ... =powerline

You could get 200m from your router to your roku and pc for $70.

If you prefer not to spend money, you can try to use ICS...

http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/h ... ows-7.html

You would need two network adapters in the pc and it would actually serve as a router. You could probably connect the the two wirelessly or use a crossover cable and a usb network adapter on the PC.

Re-read the OP. chenDawg would like to stream local media from the PC to the Roku through Plex. ICS may be a workable solution. The PC will pick up the wireless signal from the router, and then share the connection over ethernet with the Roku. The Roku should then be able to get online for the times you might want that option(and for firmware/channel updates), as well as(and more importantly) see the Plex server on the PC.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2209
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby chenDawg » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:14 pm

Thanks a lot for all of the help, everyone. I really appreciate it.

I've been playing with the ICS option for a few minutes here, but can't quite get it working.
I have 2 separate network adapters in my PC (integrated Ethernet and a PCI wifi card). I went into Network & Sharing Center > Adapter Properties on my Wifi > Sharing > Checked all of the boxes > Settings > Checked all the boxes.
Then on my Roku when to Network Settings and setup Ethernet. First box for '...your wired network' passes immediately, but the it stops on '...your local network.'
chenDawg
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby gonzotek » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:23 pm

I'll give it a try on my Roku 3 and Win7 laptop and see if I get the same results or not later this evening. I'll then update with my results. Do you have any third party anti-virus/firewall software running on the laptop? ICS should configure the built-in Windows Firewall automatically, but I'm not sure what the third party ones will do.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2209
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby chenDawg » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:31 pm

gonzotek wrote:I'll give it a try on my Roku 3 and Win7 laptop and see if I get the same results or not later this evening. I'll then update with my results. Do you have any third party anti-virus/firewall software running on the laptop? ICS should configure the built-in Windows Firewall automatically, but I'm not sure what the third party ones will do.


No third-party firewalls or anything. Not sure if it makes a difference, but I'm running a desktop not a laptop.

Just out of curiosity, I also tried setting up a wireless ad-hoc network to directly connect the two... but also no luck. haha
chenDawg
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 7:52 pm

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby wzwor » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:42 pm

gonzotek wrote:Re-read the OP. chenDawg would like to stream local media from the PC to the Roku through Plex. ICS may be a workable solution. The PC will pick up the wireless signal from the router, and then share the connection over ethernet with the Roku. The Roku should then be able to get online for the times you might want that option(and for firmware/channel updates), as well as(and more importantly) see the Plex server on the PC.

I read the post. My proposal would improve PC to router connectivity, roku to internet connectivity, and cost about the same as putting a switch between the PC and the roku. I offered the ICS alternative. No need to be so prickly.
http://thebeersoncomcast.wordpress.com/
wzwor
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:47 am

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby gonzotek » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:09 pm

wzwor wrote:
gonzotek wrote:Re-read the OP. chenDawg would like to stream local media from the PC to the Roku through Plex. ICS may be a workable solution. The PC will pick up the wireless signal from the router, and then share the connection over ethernet with the Roku. The Roku should then be able to get online for the times you might want that option(and for firmware/channel updates), as well as(and more importantly) see the Plex server on the PC.

I read the post. My proposal would improve PC to router connectivity, roku to internet connectivity, and cost about the same as putting a switch between the PC and the roku. I offered the ICS alternative. No need to be so prickly.
I wasn't prickly, perhaps you're reading between lines that aren't there, and missing some of the ones that are? You asked several questions that were already answered in the first post and therefore didn't need to be asked:
Have you tried to connect to the router directly from the Roku wirelessly?
Are you streaming from the PC to the roku? Are you using a server like Plex or the server that shall not be named to play media on your roku?
From the OP:
I'm just looking for a way that I can connect my Roku 3 directly to my PC (via ethernet or otherwise) so that I can stream without really taxing the bandwidth on my wifi (router is also downstairs and through some very thick walls... so that's kinda hurting my quality).

Practically the only thing I use my Roku for is streaming media from my computer via PLEX. So, an internet connection isn't even really necessary for it.
And I was agreeing with your suggestion for ICS. Your other suggestions were not inappropriate, just less applicable to the OP's very specific request. Please feel free to take further off-topic discussion elsewhere, and/or to continue attempting to help chenDawg here, but can we keep any 'personal stuff' out of it?


chenDawg, I was able to get ICS to the Roku 3 working by sharing my laptop's wireless connection on Win7. I initially had the same result as you. I had to use the Roku 'Platform Secret Screen' (Home 5X, Fwd, Play, Rev, Play, Fwd) to 'Disable network pings'. Then I was able to successfully connect through ethernet on the Roku. Be aware that there will now be a separate IP range used between the Roku and the PC than the one between the PC and router. In my case, my main network begins with 192.1, and the ICS network begins with 192.0. I don't have Plex set up on this system, so I can't quickly verify if it'll work 'out of the box' with this configuration right now, but I am sure it can be easily configured to do so. Let us know if you get ICS working and then have trouble with Plex, and we'll try to get it sorted.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2209
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby wzwor » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:16 pm

Why do we want to use Plex at all? Why not just hang a usb disk off the roku? USB playback requires no network connection at all.
http://thebeersoncomcast.wordpress.com/
wzwor
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:47 am

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby Basil » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:22 pm

wzwor wrote:Why do we want to use Plex at all? Why not just hang a usb disk off the roku? USB playback requires no network connection at all.

If the Roku, wired to the TV, is close enough to the computer to also be wired, why doesn't OP simply connect the computer to the TV?
Basil
http://www.basilsblog.com/
http://www.imao.us/
Roku 3, Roku 1, Roku LT; previous Roku HDMI Streaming Stick, Roku 2 XS, Roku 2 XD, Roku 2 HD, Roku XD|S, Roku HD
Also running Apple TV, TiVo/OTA, Simple.TV/OTA, Chromecast, Amazon Fire TV
User avatar
Basil
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:26 am
Location: Columbus, GA

Re: Connect Roku 3 to PC without Router?

Postby chenDawg » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:30 pm

gonzotek wrote:chenDawg, I was able to get ICS to the Roku 3 working by sharing my laptop's wireless connection on Win7. I initially had the same result as you. I had to use the Roku 'Platform Secret Screen' (Home 5X, Fwd, Play, Rev, Play, Fwd) to 'Disable network pings'. Then I was able to successfully connect through ethernet on the Roku. Be aware that there will now be a separate IP range used between the Roku and the PC than the one between the PC and router. In my case, my main network begins with 192.1, and the ICS network begins with 192.0. I don't have Plex set up on this system, so I can't quickly verify if it'll work 'out of the box' with this configuration right now, but I am sure it can be easily configured to do so. Let us know if you get ICS working and then have trouble with Plex, and we'll try to get it sorted.


Hmm... I tried to disable network pings like you suggested, but no change. Still stuck on '...your local network.'
EDIT: Actually, strike that... spammed retying it a few times and it suddenly worked? haha
PLEX connected without issues and it is streaming perfectly at 1080p. Thank you so much for the help, Gonzotek. Couldn't have done it without you. =)


wzwor wrote:Why do we want to use Plex at all? Why not just hang a usb disk off the roku? USB playback requires no network connection at all.


Mostly just a personal preference thing. I really love PLEX's UI with its metadata and such. =) It's definitely something I've thought about tho.

Basil wrote:If the Roku, wired to the TV, is close enough to the computer to also be wired, why doesn't OP simply connect the computer to the TV?


In most instances, someone in the room is usually on the computer while others are watching the media being streamed to the TV, haha.

--------------

Sorry to be such a bother, everyone. I didn't imagine it'd end up being such a complicated task. x.x
chenDawg
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 7:52 pm

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests