Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

This is the place to discuss items not related to your Roku Streaming Player

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby senorgregster » Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:49 am

EnTerr wrote:
senorgregster wrote:Neither of my 2 android devices can activate my chromecast . I sense a lot of returns.

Disable "AP/Client Isolation" in router settings.
https://support.google.com/chromecast/a ... 3084?hl=en
"AP Isolation" is a nuisance that prevents any two WiFi devices from talking directly to each other.


Thanks. I'll take a look. I managed to activate on my laptop but needing that to control it will be a PITA.
senorgregster
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:36 am

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby jeffrok » Wed Aug 07, 2013 6:57 pm

Got my Chromecast today (minus the Netflix offer, AFAICT)..

Had to enable UPnP on my router (something a novice would probably cringe at).
Couldn't get my Moto Razr MAXX to reliably see the device throughout the setup, and had to continue the setup on my Tablet ISamsung Galaxy Tab 2).
That's 2 strikes against the Chromecast right off the bat.. A "noob" who maybe on has a tablet or phone that is "incompatible" with the Chromecast would probably return the device at this point.

Once everything was up and running, things were a little jittery on the video side, but I have a feeling the Chromecast was doing some background tasks at first. After about 1 minute on Youtube streaming, everything settled down, and Youtube, Google Music and Movie, and Netflix testing went well.

I am going to test the casting from a Chrome tab and report back.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3601
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby EnTerr » Thu Aug 08, 2013 10:56 am

jeffrok wrote:Had to enable UPnP on my router (something a novice would probably cringe at).

Curious. What router do you have (make and model)? If you have UPnP disabled there, isn't that a problem for Roku app discovering Roku player as well?
EnTerr
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby Gilgamesh » Thu Aug 08, 2013 11:05 am

EnTerr wrote:
jeffrok wrote:Had to enable UPnP on my router (something a novice would probably cringe at).

Curious. What router do you have (make and model)? If you have UPnP disabled there, isn't that a problem for Roku app discovering Roku player as well?


I have not really looked at the Android Roku app/interface but since Roku does not use UPnP then I doubt the app does either.
Gilgamesh
 
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby gonzotek » Thu Aug 08, 2013 1:43 pm

Gilgamesh wrote:
EnTerr wrote:
jeffrok wrote:Had to enable UPnP on my router (something a novice would probably cringe at).

Curious. What router do you have (make and model)? If you have UPnP disabled there, isn't that a problem for Roku app discovering Roku player as well?


I have not really looked at the Android Roku app/interface but since Roku does not use UPnP then I doubt the app does either.

The discovery method Roku uses for device discovery, SSDP, is a part of the UPnP spec. If you have a Windows computer (starting from Vista I think, but definitely in 7), you can see the Roku appear as a device in the Network window, where other computers, media, network infrastructure, and and such other devices may be shown as well.
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2201
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby senorgregster » Thu Aug 08, 2013 7:48 pm

EnTerr wrote:
senorgregster wrote:Neither of my 2 android devices can activate my chromecast . I sense a lot of returns.

Disable "AP/Client Isolation" in router settings.
https://support.google.com/chromecast/a ... 3084?hl=en
"AP Isolation" is a nuisance that prevents any two WiFi devices from talking directly to each other.


Actiontec devices NOT have Client Isolation or AP (access point) Isolation enabled on our routers (therefore no disabling is required).
:(
senorgregster
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:36 am

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby EnTerr » Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:08 am

senorgregster wrote:Actiontec devices NOT have Client Isolation or AP (access point) Isolation enabled on our routers (therefore no disabling is required). :(


Qwest/Actiontec routers (e.g. PK5000, M1000, MI424WR, GT701WG, GT724WG) are known trouble in auto-discovery. My understanding was that they don't support what is called multicasting in general but i see some ideas here http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Inter ... d-p/604487 and here http://cooper7.wordpress.com/2012/03/02 ... -wireless/ (if following suggestion here, go with 239.0.0.0 with mask 255.0.0.0) or https://discussions.apple.com/thread/38 ... 0&tstart=0
EnTerr
 
Posts: 1042
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby senorgregster » Fri Aug 09, 2013 10:45 am

EnTerr wrote:
senorgregster wrote:Actiontec devices NOT have Client Isolation or AP (access point) Isolation enabled on our routers (therefore no disabling is required). :(


Qwest/Actiontec routers (e.g. PK5000, M1000, MI424WR, GT701WG, GT724WG) are known trouble in auto-discovery. My understanding was that they don't support what is called multicasting in general but i see some ideas here http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Inter ... d-p/604487 and here http://cooper7.wordpress.com/2012/03/02 ... -wireless/ (if following suggestion here, go with 239.0.0.0 with mask 255.0.0.0) or https://discussions.apple.com/thread/38 ... 0&tstart=0


Thanks again. I will check that out.
senorgregster
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:36 am

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby jeffrok » Fri Aug 09, 2013 1:34 pm

EnTerr wrote:
jeffrok wrote:Had to enable UPnP on my router (something a novice would probably cringe at).

Curious. What router do you have (make and model)? If you have UPnP disabled there, isn't that a problem for Roku app discovering Roku player as well?


In hindsight, I think the only issue I had in the end was with my Moto Razr MAXX not discovering the Chromecast, but the trail of troubleshooting led me to enable UPnP, which is why I posted that.. I don't think it makes a difference one way or another if it's enabled (in my case), but that is what Google's help system suggested I try first.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3601
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby senorgregster » Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:48 pm

OK. Got them working, kinda...

I had the chrometab to cast workign before and I like that a lot. The phone/tablet to cast is flaky. Needs some serious polishing.

Thanks for the help :)
senorgregster
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:36 am

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby jeffrok » Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:31 pm

I really hope Google fixes the issues with the Chromecast Android app, taking care of the compatibility issues with certain Motorola (and others) phones.. It's very annoying knowing this device is supposed to work any phone or tablet running Android 2.3.6 or later, and my 4.1.2 Razr MAXX only half-works with it.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3601
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby DerekHelps » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:10 pm

So far my biggest problem with it is that in order to use it during my work day, Im going to have to get a new device. This is very much a first world problem though as the issue is I cant be connected to my VPNs on my devices and control the Chromecast.

This is pretty annoying to me though.
Netgear WNR2000v2
Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT Firmware acting as Client Bridge
Soundbridge M2000/M500/R1000
Roku 2 XS 3100
-------------------------------------------------
It's all in the <sup>details</sup>
DerekHelps
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:10 am
Location: AR

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby __5 » Fri Aug 16, 2013 1:30 am

jeffrok wrote:I really hope Google fixes the issues with the Chromecast Android app, taking care of the compatibility issues with certain Motorola (and others) phones.. It's very annoying knowing this device is supposed to work any phone or tablet running Android 2.3.6 or later, and my 4.1.2 Razr MAXX only half-works with it.

Chromecast app got updated to version: 1.1.2 btw. give it a try.
__5
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:51 pm

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby BoloMKXXVIII » Fri Aug 16, 2013 7:42 am

I wonder if the Chromecast is Googles way of starting off their "Google at Home" home automation push. There is no reason it has to remain audio/visual only. Any device that can have a little Chromecast built in can be controlled with another device. Light controllers and themostats come to mind. You have to believe the eggheads at the Googleplex have thought of this.
The NSA is the largest criminal organization in the United States.

** Non-valued Community Member **
BoloMKXXVIII
 
Posts: 988
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:00 am
Location: On or near Earth

Re: Chromecast - Google HDMI Dongle

Postby jeffrok » Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:22 am

__5 wrote:
jeffrok wrote:I really hope Google fixes the issues with the Chromecast Android app, taking care of the compatibility issues with certain Motorola (and others) phones.. It's very annoying knowing this device is supposed to work any phone or tablet running Android 2.3.6 or later, and my 4.1.2 Razr MAXX only half-works with it.

Chromecast app got updated to version: 1.1.2 btw. give it a try.


Yes, the discovery app (Chromecast) works fine now but I still can't cast from Play Movies or Play Music. they need to update those apps. Works fine on my Galaxy Tab 2 tablet, but not on my Razr Maxx
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3601
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

PreviousNext

Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest