Is there a ROKU Telephone support?

Questions and answers about getting your SoundBridge up and running.

Moderators: TheEndless, RokuDouglas, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Is there a ROKU Telephone support?

Postby vjthedj » Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:35 am

It would be nice if there is a roku telephone support. I am sure the products are great, if all the customers know how to properly connect them with a little help from TELEPHONE customer support.
vjthedj
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:54 am

Postby RokuPatrick » Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:43 am

vhthedj,

Contact support and they'll try to solve your problem. If the problem proves too complex to solve via email (most problems are quite simple and very easy to solve via email), then they will work with you to sort it out, including calling you if necessary.
User avatar
RokuPatrick
 
Posts: 3807
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:46 pm
Location: Saratoga, CA

Hello

Postby vjthedj » Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:16 am

I've bought SD 1001 over three weeks ago. I have tried almost everything to try to get it to connect. The only thing it does is play internet radio stations it is programmed with. I have read every corner of the roku website and forums. It would be helpfull to get a call. I've wasted days trying to figure out the SB.
vjthedj
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:54 am

Postby RokuPatrick » Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:26 am

VJ, it sounds like it is mostly working, except for local streaming, from your computer? We can try and help you (informally) here, but you'll need to elaborate on the problems you're having -- What server are you trying to use? What are the symptoms? What messages do you see on screen? etc.

Or you can contact support via http://www.rokulabs.com/support/contactsupport.php

If you have already contacted support, let me know your ticket number and I'll ask them to look into it.
User avatar
RokuPatrick
 
Posts: 3807
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:46 pm
Location: Saratoga, CA

Postby vjthedj » Wed Mar 29, 2006 10:43 am

Ticket number

HD121741

Thank you, for any help
vjthedj
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:54 am

Postby RokuRyan » Wed Mar 29, 2006 2:33 pm

vjthedj wrote:Ticket number

HD121741

Thank you, for any help


I have responded to this ticket through our ticket system. You can also PM me directly here if you do not receive that response or if you have further questions.

It sounds like the problem may be related to internet security software. Since you are using a new computer it probably came with internet security software preinstalled.

Could you try installing iTunes as a test and enabling sharing with it (Edit > Preferences > Sharing) to see if the SoundBridge can see and connect to the iTunes library? This should help to track down the problem.

Also, could you let me know what internet security software (VPN, firewall, antivirus) you have running on your computer? Could you try temporarily disabling this software to see if that allows you to connect to MusicMatch?
User avatar
RokuRyan
Roku Support
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:33 am

Postby vjthedj » Wed Mar 29, 2006 3:25 pm

I installed Itunes. It recognizes my library, but doesn't play. My router is a netgear router wgt624v2. I disabled firewall, too see if it works. It still won't play.
vjthedj
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:54 am

Postby RokuRyan » Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:14 pm

vjthedj wrote:I installed Itunes. It recognizes my library, but doesn't play. My router is a netgear router wgt624v2. I disabled firewall, too see if it works. It still won't play.


Could you go to System Configuration > Software Version and Updates and let me know what you have listed for the software?

Could you go to System Configuration > Show WiFi Status or System Configuration > Show Wired Ethernet Status and let me know what you have for the IP Address, Netmask, and Gateway?

What is the serial number of your SoundBridge? This should be on the back or the inside of one of the endcaps.
User avatar
RokuRyan
Roku Support
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:33 am

Postby vjthedj » Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:46 pm

Roku version 2.4.4.


MAC 00:0D:4B:04:9F:88
IP 192.168.0.5
Net mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.0.1
DNS1 192.168.0.1
DNS2 0.0.0.0

Seriel Number of Roku soundbridge is M1001XJF000894
vjthedj
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:54 am

Postby RokuRyan » Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:03 pm

vjthedj wrote:Roku version 2.4.4.


MAC 00:0D:4B:04:9F:88
IP 192.168.0.5
Net mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.0.1
DNS1 192.168.0.1
DNS2 0.0.0.0

Seriel Number of Roku soundbridge is M1001XJF000894


This definitely sounds like a security software problem. Could you connect the SoundBridge by Ethernet directly to the computer (eliminating the router from the configuration) and then try to access the iTunes library? This should help to determine whether or not the problem is in the router or on the computer.
User avatar
RokuRyan
Roku Support
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:33 am

Postby vjthedj » Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:08 pm

Hello Rokuryan,

It worked, when I plugged the SB directly to desktop, it recognized the itunes. and I was able to browse and play. However when I have it connected as prveviously mentioned (DSL cable to modem which is connected to wireless router with ethernet wire and the desktop is connected to the wirless router with ethernet cord, and the SB is getting signal wirlessly from router) the SB recognizes the itunes but won't play or browse. Do you think there is some firewall in the wireless router? My router is a Netgear WGT 624v2. How can I change it if it is? I noticed that ther is a http://192.168.000.000, with a given username and password.
Last edited by vjthedj on Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
vjthedj
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:54 am

Postby vjthedj » Thu Mar 30, 2006 2:16 pm

Yell YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA


I finally figured it out. You have to go to the netgear page for the router and enable the UDPN so the soundbridge can access through the wireless router. Please advise anyone with a router that after adjusting their computer firewalls that router settings have to be adjusted also. You have to go to the router settings by typing the designation on the website http:192.168.168. or what ever and adjust the settings to allow udpn access.
vjthedj
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:54 am

Postby vjthedj » Thu Mar 30, 2006 3:01 pm

Can't access musicmatch wirlessly but I can access I tunes wirelessly. On the other discussion board. when my laptop is turned on with it's own wirless card, it recognizes musicmatch and plays from it, but can't access the musicmatch from my desktop when I turn the laptop off, but it can access the Itunes library. I think in order to access musicmatch, the the desktop has to have it's own wirless connectivity to the router. Then it will work.
vjthedj
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 7:54 am

Postby RokuRyan » Thu Mar 30, 2006 4:01 pm

Out of curiosity, if you connect the SoundBridge directly to the computer (as you did before to access iTunes) can you then access the MusicMatch library? This should then verify whether or not the problem is the router as it did with the previous case.

I have seen a few situations where UPnP (the service that MusicMatch uses to stream files) was not streamed correctly from wired to wireless. I would recommend making sure you have the latest firmware for the router installed and contact Netgear about any settings that you may need to change for UPnP communications.
User avatar
RokuRyan
Roku Support
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 10:33 am


Return to SoundBridge Set-Up

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest