Wireless Connection Problems

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Wireless Connection Problems

Postby ndoz » Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:36 pm

Got my box in the mail today but I can't connect!

I have a dynex router and have tried WPA, WEP, and no security at all. Can't get past the first bullet -- it turns green the next is red.

Any help?
ndoz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:33 pm

Postby RokuJamesL » Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:47 pm

I'm assuming this is happening during first time setup of the box. If that is the case, does this Dynex router have wired ethernet ports on it? You should try connecting the Netflix Player temporarily over ethernet so that it can get through guided setup the first time in order to download a software update. This is important because the latest version of software for the box contains some significant networking improvement. I suspect updating the box will resolve this wireless connection issue you are running into. Once the box is updated, then disconnect it from ethernet and run through wireless setup.
User avatar
RokuJamesL
Roku Engineering
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Roku HQ

Postby ndoz » Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:26 pm

Ok I did the wireless setup. Everything connected, the update downloaded, and I was able to watch a video.

Now I'm going through setup again to try wireless and it's still not working. Same error as before. I can't exactly be tripping over 25ft of ethernet cable. Have Dynex routers been tested?
ndoz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:33 pm

Postby ndoz » Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:26 pm

^ Sorry I mean I did the WIRED setup
ndoz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:33 pm

Postby mickel1138 » Wed Jun 04, 2008 6:48 pm

Did you connect the ethernet wire to the same Dynex Router?

Try rebooting your router, yes, I hate doing that too, but it will release all your DHCP leases. Then try to power up the Roku box again.

Now that you have your update, it should work, the type of router should not make too much difference.

And just to make sure, your router is 802.11b/g compatible right? Most all of them are...

Mickel
mickel1138
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:13 pm

Postby ndoz » Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:46 pm

Yes and yes. Everything is working fine now! This player rocks! Interface is slick and videos are high quality.

Thanks for the tips guys.
ndoz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:33 pm

Postby alexandrarhc » Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:31 pm

hi,

i am having the same connection problem... however, i've tried to connect both wired and wireless. i cannot pass throug "connecting to the local network"...

any ideas?
alexandrarhc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:29 pm

Postby mickel1138 » Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:12 am

This thread talk about issues with connecting to the internet.

http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.php?t=16849

Mickel
mickel1138
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:13 pm

Postby devrdander » Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:24 am

Make sure your router's firewall doesn't block any form of ICMP, also some people have had issues with certain DNS servers. You could try changing the DNS servers on your router to opendns for its primary dns server:208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220
-Seth
devrdander
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 11:46 am

Postby alexandrarhc » Thu Jun 05, 2008 3:42 pm

hey guys!

thank you so much for helping me out! i don't understand anything about computers... hehehee... i was able to fix the problem. i disabled the firewall settings of the router and now it's working! yeah! the software is being updated right now!!! yeah yeha yeah

alexandra :lol:
alexandrarhc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:29 pm

Postby RokuJamesL » Thu Jun 05, 2008 3:48 pm

Alexandra,

Glad to hear the issue was resolved. Just out of curiosity, what make and model router do you have?

James
User avatar
RokuJamesL
Roku Engineering
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Roku HQ

Postby alexandrarhc » Fri Jun 06, 2008 3:41 pm

Hey James,

My router is a belkin wireless g - 2.4Ghz 802.11g.

Hope it works! ;)

Alexandra
alexandrarhc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:29 pm

Re: Wireless Connection Problems

Postby necs2000 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:18 pm

October 19, 2010 Connection issue...
Roku support was great help..
My Roku connection was working fine till last night...
Support told me to add two new Static IP address in my Router (DNS 1 DNS2)
DNS1 208.67.220.220
DNS2 208.67.222.222

Because I had already messed with my Roku, I had to reactivate the Roku Box, and Netflix...
This is done by holding down the Reset button with a Paper Clip for 40sec...
Then imediately unplug the power from the Roku Box...
Re-plug the power and follow instructions
Reactivate Roku Box thru the Internet...
Reactivate Netflix to see the Roku Box...

Good Luck Everyone...
Thanks Roku Support...
necs2000
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:00 pm

Re: Wireless Connection Problems

Postby rockthedub » Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:18 pm

necs2000 wrote:October 19, 2010 Connection issue...
Roku support was great help..
My Roku connection was working fine till last night...
Support told me to add two new Static IP address in my Router (DNS 1 DNS2)
DNS1 208.67.220.220
DNS2 208.67.222.222


so they asked you to add the OpenDNS IPs? I wonder why that would've worked - and what I should do, since I've already GOT those IPs in my router lol
rockthedub
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: Hamilton, NJ USA

Re: Wireless Connection Problems

Postby mary lynne lambert » Sun Dec 05, 2010 1:49 pm

I am having the same problem but I tried your solution but it still won't work it is with a dlink router
mary lynne lambert
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 1:14 pm

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hobbes_ba and 19 guests