Manual IP Address Settings

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Manual IP Address Settings

Postby madbob » Tue May 27, 2008 2:45 pm

I'd like to configure the IP settings manually. There has to be a way to do so, right?
madbob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 2:40 pm

Postby RokuLyndon » Tue May 27, 2008 4:49 pm

THere isn't currently a way to set the IP address manually.
RokuLyndon
 

Re: Manual IP Address Settings

Postby Wondercow » Tue May 27, 2008 5:16 pm

madbob wrote:I'd like to configure the IP settings manually. There has to be a way to do so, right?


Most, if not all, routers allow you to assign a static IP to a device. Since it can't be done at the device level maybe you can do it at the router.
~Moo!
-----------------------
iTunes, iPod, iMac, iPhone, not Itunes, IPod, IMAC, iphone
MAC = Media Access Control while Mac = a brand of computers
Wondercow
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:30 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: Manual IP Address Settings

Postby boykster » Tue May 27, 2008 6:34 pm

Wondercow wrote:
madbob wrote:I'd like to configure the IP settings manually. There has to be a way to do so, right?


Most, if not all, routers allow you to assign a static IP to a device. Since it can't be done at the device level maybe you can do it at the router.


That's exactly what I had to do with my Sonos controllers to get them to play nicely and not get "lost" all the time. Most routers have a way to set this by assigning the MAC address a "reserved" ip addy.
boykster
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 6:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Static IP with DD-WRT

Postby beerkensp » Wed May 28, 2008 2:19 pm

Does anyone know how to assign a static IP to a device on a linksys router running DD-WRT?

All of my devices (including roku soundbridge) have a static IP address because the DHCP causes a reconnect every 10 minutes.

It would be really great if we could set a static address for the netflix player. This seems to me like a basic feature that can be found on nearly any network enabled device.
beerkensp
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:07 am

Re: Static IP with DD-WRT

Postby midiwall » Wed May 28, 2008 2:22 pm

beerkensp wrote:All of my devices (including roku soundbridge) have a static IP address because the DHCP causes a reconnect every 10 minutes.

I don't mean to sidestep your question, but that sounds like you have a real short lease time set. Is that on purpose?
:: Mark
midiwall
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:50 am
Location: Seattleish, WA

Re: Static IP with DD-WRT

Postby boykster » Wed May 28, 2008 2:29 pm

beerkensp wrote:Does anyone know how to assign a static IP to a device on a linksys router running DD-WRT?


This is the wiki page I used to get my DD-WRT to assign "static" ip's to my Sonos devices

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php?title=Static_DHCP
boykster
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 6:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Static IP with DD-WRT

Postby midiwall » Wed May 28, 2008 2:36 pm

midiwall wrote:
beerkensp wrote:All of my devices (including roku soundbridge) have a static IP address because the DHCP causes a reconnect every 10 minutes.

I don't mean to sidestep your question, but that sounds like you have a real short lease time set. Is that on purpose?

Another sidestep is a nudge and a nod to Tomato. I ran dd-wrt for years, and had a lot of fed-upness with throughput and having to reboot all the time and NO updates for ever.

babble:
http://www.decimation.com/markw/2007/10 ... is-tomato/

Tomato:
ref: http://www.polarcloud.com/tomato
Last edited by midiwall on Wed May 28, 2008 2:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:: Mark
midiwall
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:50 am
Location: Seattleish, WA

Postby beerkensp » Wed May 28, 2008 2:42 pm

I use dd-wrt because of it's wireless bridge feature. I have increased the lease time to 1 day. That should help.

Thanks for the static IP info.

I look forward to getting my box now. It should be shipping this week.
beerkensp
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:07 am

Postby midiwall » Wed May 28, 2008 2:49 pm

beerkensp wrote:I use dd-wrt because of it's wireless bridge feature.

Available in Tomato as well... It's called out as "Wireless Ethernet Bridge".

And the DHCP mode you'd want is similarly named to that in dd-wrt, "Static DHCP".

ref: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Tomato_Firmware
:: Mark
midiwall
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:50 am
Location: Seattleish, WA

Postby boykster » Wed May 28, 2008 2:59 pm

Thanks for mentioning Tomato. I've been meaning to check that out for a while, but keep forgetting. I may be installing that tonite!
boykster
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 6:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests