Unsupported audio format - hdmi

Moderators: RokuShawnS, RokuDouglas, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Unsupported audio format - hdmi

Postby dloop » Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:11 pm

Here is my setup

52" sony
hdmi1 - sat dish
hdmi2 - dvd
hdmi3 - roku

Here is the problem. Roku is working fine. Then if I switch the TV to hdmi1 for a couple minutes, then back to hdmi3 (roku) I get the "unsupported audio format..." error.

Elsewhere on this forum it was suggested to reverse the hdmi cable. No difference for me..

Turning the TV off, then back on, does resolve the problem--at least temporarily until I switch inputs again.

Thoughts?
dloop
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:11 am

Postby esconceptsz » Sat Jan 17, 2009 1:55 pm

I have a similar issue with my Sony (55" KDS-55A3000) except I don't get any sound at all. I get the same "unsupported audio format" error. The sound worked fine prior to the 1.5 upgrade.
esconceptsz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 1:52 pm

Unsupported audio output message

Postby brouss1944 » Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:35 pm

I also get an "unsupported audio output" with HDMI connected to Sony 42" XBR5 TV.
brouss1944
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:23 pm

Postby RatsMC » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:24 pm

Yep. Same problem here. It is pretty annoying since it really means I can't use the thing at all.

I am on version 2 and still get the this problem.
RatsMC
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:35 am

Postby -LD » Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:39 pm

It's a problem with HDMI in general, not the Roku in particular. HDMI gets out of sync quite a bit with audio and video when switching inputs.
-LD
 
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:27 am

Postby yegor » Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:22 am

My Roku is connected to Sony AVR via HDMI. It works fine - no audio issues.
I don't think the Roku or TVs cause the problem. Have you tested your cables?
Are you confident the cables you use capable to deliver HDMI sound?

There're lengthy discussions concerning HDMI cables: their price, quality, and
everything else. I spent several hours researching and reading. My conclusion?
Buy new HDMI cables. Only, make sure the cables you buy are HDMI v1.3a or
v1.3b compliant (tested), and never pay more than $10 for them.

In case you find out that the cables you use are faulty - here are some samples
of great sources to buy your cables from, and don't be surprised by unusually low
prices - they are as good and even better than any Monster-scam $100 cables.

http://www.monoprice.com
http://www.dcables.net
yegor
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 1:09 pm

Postby RatsMC » Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:05 pm

Thanks for the responses. I used to be an IT data infrastructure guy so I am pretty familiar with the requirements for digital cable. I cannot believe how much some companies are ripping people off for on these things.

Anyway, switched cables around and that didn't really help. I am interested in the suggestion that this an HDMI issue. This has never occurred with any of my other devices and just started happening as soon as I received teh 2.0 update.
RatsMC
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:35 am

Postby -LD » Thu Mar 19, 2009 2:01 pm

-LD
 
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:27 am


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ACraigo, knuckle, lvporta, mikebdoss, scottypie1234, skeptic and 25 guests