setting up Wifi with 802.11n

Questions and answers about getting your SoundBridge up and running.

Moderators: TheEndless, RokuDouglas, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

setting up Wifi with 802.11n

Postby jcho » Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:36 am

I have a couple of problems..

1) the soundbridge uses WEP and I cannot use 802.11N with it..holding back my whole wifi speed.. I could forget about any secuirty Keys and just use MAC address filtering, but see #2

2) I have the DIR-655 router from my search here, the firmware is not compatable with soundbridge, and you must run it in mixed B&G mode only, cannot use the B,G,N.. I have the hardware router version A4 and not sure what I can do.

I have read something about a wireless bridge.. can I use my old netgear router as a 802.11B bridge plugged into the D-link DIR-655 that has 802.11N enabled?
jcho
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:39 am

I have the same problem

Postby daywalkr » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:11 pm

By chance did you ever get something to work with the 655? I also have a secondary router that I'd like to use if that works. Let me know. Thanks!
daywalkr
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:08 pm

Re: setting up Wifi with 802.11n

Postby S80_UK » Wed Apr 08, 2009 4:52 pm

jcho wrote:I have read something about a wireless bridge.. can I use my old netgear router as a 802.11B bridge...

Maybe, maybe not. But without knowing which model it is, there's not much chance that we can find out. What does it say in the user guide?

Some routers may be able to run as bridges, but it is not that common. It is more common that they can act as access points. That is a solution that you could use, and I think that might be what you meant anyway since you talk about plugging it into your current router. A bridge would normally be plugged into the SoundBridge to adapt it to your current wireless network.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
S80_UK
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Postby jcho » Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:06 pm

I have been giving this more thoughts,

1) My old retired router is Netgear WRT624, it can be run as a extra access point (not a bridge, I had it wrong in the above post). But, since the other access point is also 2.4Ghz, I may run into interference.

2) Also, DIR-655 has a guest zone feature, and you are allowed to use a seperate SSID, and separate encryption. WEP in this case. I should be able to use 802.11n and WPA in the regular wireless.

#2 is assuming the beta firmware from D-Link really fixed the B, G, N mode issue. I think Option 2 is good as it does not use more power by leaving another device plugged just in to support the Roku soundbridge.
jcho
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:39 am

Postby jcho » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:25 pm

OK tried the Dlink 1.22 beta 05 firmware, did not solve my B G N mode problems, still must leave N out of it.

I tried to setup my old router as a B and G access point, plugged into my new router. My computer can connect and browse internet and LAN from the that access point, but the soundbridge cannot get the DHCP addresss... it seems not happy about this setup
jcho
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:39 am

Postby jcho » Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:18 pm

OK I got my old router to work as wireless bridged access point
if you have one of the netgear router here, follow this:

http://www.computerguyslive.com/content ... -as-ap.htm

please note, my Sound Bridge 500 did not work until I set static IP address for the wifi, you can do a search on how to do this.

Now I can leave my DIR-655 to run at N mode and leave the WEP stuff on another access point!
jcho
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:39 am

Postby S80_UK » Thu Apr 09, 2009 1:22 am

Glad you got it sorted. I note your comment about possible interference. All of the channels used by 802.11 b/g/n (1-11 in the US, 1-13 in Europe, 1-14 in Japan) are nominally 2.4GHz. That is simply the frequency band used. Each channel has its own centre frequency, although the range of frequencies used by channels does often overlap. But that is OK - it's designed to work that way. Interference is only a problem sometimes if you use the same channel for two networks, and even that can work in many cases.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
S80_UK
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK


Return to SoundBridge Set-Up

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests