How can I turn on and turn off Roku Box?

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

How can I turn on and turn off Roku Box?

Postby krittaya » Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:02 pm

I just got Roku Box and set up work with wireless and HDMI. The picture and sound quality work are very smoothly and clears " I love Roku. " If anyone plans to buy it I want to tell you guys you have to buy Roku Box. It is better than PC watch instantly. However, How can I turn on and turn off Roku Box? :lol:
krittaya
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:11 pm

Postby kc8pql » Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:09 pm

The box is always on. There is no switch. It consumes very little power on standby. The only way to turn it off is to unplug it.
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8106
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Postby krittaya » Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:15 pm

Thank you kc8pql.
krittaya
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:11 pm

Postby Satnamji » Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:08 pm

I'm considering plugging my Roku into the switched outlet on my AVR, which I turn on and off as I use it...usually just once per day. Besides the extra time it will take to retrieve my queue each time I fire up the Roku and the possible need to manually check for FW updates, can anyone think of any reason this isn't a good idea.

One of the reasons I ask is that I once had a JBL subwoofer plugged into a switched outlet like this, and after about 9 months the subwoofer's autopower function went haywire, rapidly clicking on and off whenever I was listening to something that didn't have a steady LFE track. Thanks!
Satnamji
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 12:29 pm

Postby jeffrok » Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:49 pm

The box downloads updates while you're not using it.. If it's not on, you're not going to be on the current firmware when it comes time to use the box.

It's a low-power device- better to leave it up at all times.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3602
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Postby zwei » Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:27 pm

4-5 watts ...there's a reason they didn't put a power button on it :)
Roku 2 XS: Serial # 13A167000334
zwei
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:49 am
Location: Near an iPad

Postby Satnamji » Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:23 pm

Thanks for the responses. I'm not so much concerned about the energy draw, but more the convenience of using this unused outlet on my AVR and the possible benefit a reboot everytime I use it will have on clearing out memory caches and buffers. I realize I would need to manually look for FW updates periodically.
Satnamji
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 12:29 pm

Postby elorimer » Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:48 pm

Satnamji wrote:I'm considering plugging my Roku into the switched outlet on my AVR, which I turn on and off as I use it.

This is what I have done for at least 6 months now. I've gotten a few firmware updates without manually checking.
elorimer
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: Connecticut

Postby RWatson » Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:35 pm

I'd leave it on and forget about it. If you were using the LAN connection you would see the data light on the back is constantly showing activity. I have two, never worry about turning them on or off.
RWatson
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:13 pm

Postby mkiker2089 » Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:06 pm

The thing takes too long to boot up. I've unplugged mine a few times but the initial boot up is too long much less reloading your netflix que.

I didn't know the lan was always on. My router stop blinking about the same time it goes to sleep. I guess it wakes up occasionally when I'm not looking.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Postby smankins » Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:18 pm

Is the light on the front supposed to always be on? I have seen mine go off and stay off until I used the box again.
smankins
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 2:52 pm

Postby kc8pql » Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:19 pm

smankins wrote:Is the light on the front supposed to always be on? I have seen mine go off and stay off until I used the box again.

No. The light goes off when the screen saver activates.
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8106
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Postby Sgooter » Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:57 pm

Mine is connected to a simple power strip, which I manually switch on when I want to stream Netflix. As for keeping the Roku powered up so that it automatically updates to the latest firmware, I'm not so sure that's a good idea, based on numerous problems posted on this forum. My setup is wireless over a rather long distance, and the Roku always links up with my secure home network quickly and with a steady 4-dot Netflix connection.
Life is good in a 4-dot world.
Sgooter
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:25 am

Re: How can I turn on and turn off Roku Box?

Postby -LD » Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:22 pm

krittaya wrote:How can I turn on and turn off Roku Box?

You could take it out for a nice dinner then afterward belch and fart all night.
-LD
 
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:27 am

Postby jeffrok » Wed Jul 15, 2009 10:18 am

Sgooter wrote:Mine is connected to a simple power strip, which I manually switch on when I want to stream Netflix. As for keeping the Roku powered up so that it automatically updates to the latest firmware, I'm not so sure that's a good idea, based on numerous problems posted on this forum. My setup is wireless over a rather long distance, and the Roku always links up with my secure home network quickly and with a steady 4-dot Netflix connection.


You're not one of those guys who thinks every update is for the worse, are you? Yes, sometimes a Roku update makes life a pain for a small percentage, but it's only temporary til the bug is fixed, and it's also something that isn't going to be avoided if you have your Roku on for any amount of time, anyway. This isn't Windows Vista or anything- the updates are pretty well tested before they go out the door- at least according to most around here.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3602
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: leehrat, mmorlan62, vnazario and 32 guests