Help! No Audio on my Roku

Discussions about Roku products, channels, and Roku-related topics.

Moderators: RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Help! No Audio on my Roku

Postby clemdog » Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:30 am

Hi All - Long time lurker and first time poster so be gentle...

I've had a Roku box for a few months and all was well...until last night that is. I have the A/V run as HDMI from the Roku to a Pioneer VSX-94 recevier. This has been fine for a few months but last night suddenly I'm geting no audio at all. Great picture (4 stars and HD where it applies) but no sound.

This is after the recent firmware update. I've also attempted the new 5.1 audio and then back to 2.0, factory re-sets,replaced HDMI cable, etc. All to no avail.

Any thoughts?

clemdog
clemdog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:21 am

Postby clemdog » Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:19 am

Just tried switching to optical cable instead for audio and still no sound...

Box gone bad?
clemdog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:21 am

Postby kc8pql » Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:23 am

I think the next thing I'd try would be connecting directly to the TV with the Roku set to stereo. If you have sound you will at least know the box is working.
Last edited by kc8pql on Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8854
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Postby pjoshua5000 » Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:10 pm

First try going to setting and see what the audio is set at. Is it 5.1 or stereo?

This should check to see if the problem is in hardware (below)

First set the audio to stereo in setting and see if you can get sound.(in the roku) Try hooking the White and Red cables to you TV or/and HDMI cable to you TV directly and see if you can get sound (make sure the sound it turn up and on the right input channel) You should get sound since its hook up to your TV directly and the audio is set to stereo, if not check the cables, and you are on the right channel.

You said that you have a problem with your Pioneer VSX-94 receiver. I think you said that you have your audio and video running through the HDMI that is hook up to your surround system. I had a similar problem when I was trying to get 5.1 sound. The problem was withing the settings of the surround system.

I'm not know about these types of systems, but I do know that the setting are key. On my I had to change the setting so it knew to get the 5.1 thought the optical input. If you were able to get stereo before and are not able to get 5.1 then it might be problem with a setting. Also I'm not to sure what you are saying is your problem.

Below is the closes manual to your box I can find, it might help. I was only able to find the Pioneer VSX-94TXH. Unless you forget to add the TXH to the VSX-94.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pio/p ... ns0807.pdf

PS. Check for lose wires. You speakers wires might of came lose or some other cable.
pjoshua5000
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:58 pm

Postby clemdog » Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:18 pm

Thanks pjoshua5000. It was simply a setting on the receiver that needed adjusting.

I'm good to go again.

clemdog
clemdog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:21 am

Postby gentoodude » Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:23 am

what setting was it that you changed? I have the same problem.
gentoodude
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:12 am

Postby elorimer » Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:18 am

Most likely the the input needed to be set to HDMI instead of optical/coax/analog.
elorimer
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: Connecticut

Postby gentoodude » Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:12 pm

I see. my HDMI cable goes directly to the TV from the ROKU player, so there are no third party devices that can block the sound, and still no sound from the roku. A restart of the roku player and the sound comes back up. I thought that he changed a setting on the roku player.
gentoodude
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:12 am

reboot to get audio

Postby rlitwin » Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:12 pm

I have the same issue. I have to unplug the roku box and plug it back in to get audio, regularly. Not a huge problem but a minor inconvenience.
rlitwin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 3:57 pm

Postby elorimer » Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:21 am

It occurs to me that one change might help with these HDMI handshaking issues. I run HDMI from the Roku to the A/V receiver, and then HDMI from the receiver to the TV, which is of a vintage when HDMI was just being introduced. Other video sources go to the receiver and are upconverted to the HDMI. I haven't experienced any handshaking issues.

But I have the Roku power plugged into the receiver's switched outlet and use a universal remote, so when I turn on the receiver and TV, the Roku also is turning on and booting fresh.
elorimer
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:35 pm
Location: Connecticut

Postby techmonkey » Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:21 am

This happens to me every now and then. Sometimes if you unplug roku and back in it fixes the problem or even turning the tv on and off can work as well. Sometimes the HDMI "handshake" does not work.
techmonkey
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 10:23 am
Location: North Bay, California

Re: Help! No Audio on my Roku

Postby salta7 » Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:41 am

Same thing happened to me last night. Went to "settings" and clicked on "restart Roku". Worked like a charm.
salta7
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:37 am

Re: Help! No Audio on my Roku

Postby knuckle » Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:52 am

salta7 -- thank you for posting but this thread is going on 6 years old
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV 2N002P050587 2WE012050587
ROKU HDMI STICK 2L64AW112785
all running wireless on a actiontec C2000A
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3391
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gmaster28, trekkeriii, user3162 and 30 guests