Forcing download speed with secret menu

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Forcing download speed with secret menu

Postby JohnZ » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:04 am

I have been reading posts about forcing a download speed using the secret menu. I did force the 3 dot quality for Netflex maybe 7 months ago and it works great. No rebuffering anymore. Now with the new channels especially Revision3(?) it will fluctuate between 4 and 1 dot quality. Nothing in between. My question is do I have to force the quality with the secret menu for each different channel? If so how is this done? Thanks in advance.
JohnZ
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:19 am

Re: Forcing download speed with secret menu

Postby kc8pql » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:37 am

JohnZ wrote: My question is do I have to force the quality with the secret menu for each different channel?

No. When you force the stream it works for all channels. Be aware though that you may need to go back to the bitrate screen and reset the stream you want after every software update. I believe the box reverts to automatic after a reboot.
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8206
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Postby jinj » Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:34 pm

I force the speed to 1.2 Mbps so Netflix works well.

I have to turn this to auto for Revision3 otherwise it never stops buffering.

After a reboot or a powerloss or crash, the speed reverts back to auto.

Auto always selects a too lower speed for Netflix, which it would stick between reboots.
jinj
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: Forcing download speed with secret menu

Postby philsoft » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:23 pm

JohnZ wrote:I have been reading posts about forcing a download speed using the secret menu. I did force the 3 dot quality for Netflex maybe 7 months ago and it works great. No rebuffering anymore. Now with the new channels especially Revision3(?) it will fluctuate between 4 and 1 dot quality. Nothing in between. My question is do I have to force the quality with the secret menu for each different channel? If so how is this done? Thanks in advance.


I think Revision3 only offers two streams, and they show as 4 dot and 1 dot.
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan

Postby phelantodd » Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:05 pm

Can someone remind me how to get to the secret menu? I forgot. Gracias!

Never mind I used search...silly me

Here is the link for anyone not in the know.
http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.php?p=107671#107671
phelantodd
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:23 pm


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests