New Roku Player will not buffer

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

New Roku Player will not buffer

Postby bobuhl » Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:16 am

Hi,
I am brand new to the Roku player. My Roku player connects to my network fine, and I am able to see the movies in my Netflix queue, however once I select play for any of them all I get is about ¼ of the progress bar during the initial buffering faze and that is it. No matter what movie I try or what time of the day I get this exact same behavior. I have reset the player, disjoined it from Netflix and rejoined it. Put it in the DMZ on my RV042 router tried it both wireless and hard wired. I have tested my bandwidth and am having a good solid 5 MB downstream, and show a quality level of 3 out of 4 dots. I am able to play Netflix movies both wired and wireless on my computers using Silverlight with no issues. But, the Roku player will not buffer and play a move ever. I purchased this as Christmas gifts to work with Netflix but have never been able to even watch one second of anything using the player. I have spent hours on the phone with both Netflix and Roku and no one has been able to help or solve my issue. Also I am a network administrator, so I am not a novice to networks and computers.

Any help would be greatly appreciated before I send this player back to Roku for a refund.
Robert H Uhl
bobuhl

Postby kc8pql » Sun Dec 20, 2009 9:40 am

Can you paly anything else from the channel store? Is the problem just with Netflix?
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **

Buffer Problem

Postby bobuhl » Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:37 am

It is only with netflix that I am having the issue. I can watch other things from the channel store such as blip.tv and Revision3.
Robert H Uhl
bobuhl

Postby RokuMarkn » Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:51 am