Roku will not power on... =/

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Roku will not power on... =/

Postby debonu » Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:40 pm

So I get home tonight and find that my Roku box will not power on... I attempted several times to get the box to come up with my harmony remote and the actual roku remote with no success. I then pulled the power plug and waited a few seconds and put it back in to see if that would reset the box and again no success. I then hit the reset button on the back of the device to see if that would do anything and still nada...

Any help would be greatly appreciated in trouble shooting this issue. I bought the box when they were first released so I doubt it is still under warranty...

Thanks
debonu
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:34 pm

Re: Roku will not power on... =/

Postby kumasuki » Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:50 pm

debonu wrote:So I get home tonight and find that my Roku box will not power on...


Quite likely the PSU (aka power supply) - search the forums for the specs to replace. (You can also contact support who will try to get you to purchase an 'extended' warranty: RIP OFF!)
--------------------------------------
Roku XDS; DSM-520; HDX1000 w/1TB drive; Neuros; Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR; HDHomeRun; Vudu; VuNow HD; Boxee Box
kumasuki
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: San Diego

Postby moviegeek65 » Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:53 pm

It's probably the power supply, I borrowed this from another thread:

Fry's has a few different things that will work. The particular one I decided on is called the Rhino 2500mA AC Adapter. It's labeled for use with digital cameras, but will work fine with the box using the largest included tip and the 5v setting. It's also important to install the tip in the "center positive" orientation. The instructions cover how to do that.

Here's the Fry's product page for it... http://www.frys.com/product/5249157


I bought a used Cisco 34-0912-02 power supply and it works great.
Tip and polarity work without modifications
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0196748671
moviegeek65
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:16 pm

Postby Burkhardi » Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:05 pm

Just an FYI:
The 5volt 2.5amp (2500mA) is $9 from the Roku store.
Seems they are selling the big boy from the XR for all three models (according to the spec on their site).
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
Burkhardi
 
Posts: 1946
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Postby mkiker2089 » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:01 pm

Just take the PS to radio shack and match the tip up. No need to go to any trouble. It's what 5 volts? It's written on the thing I'm just too lazy to get up off the couch. Match what it's "output" is labeled and and your good to go.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Postby moviegeek65 » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:25 pm

Here's a direct link to the Roku DVP power supply:
https://shop.roku.com/Roku-Digital-Vide ... es-W2.aspx

This thread should be a sticky.
moviegeek65
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:16 pm


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: scottypie1234 and 12 guests