Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Questions and answers about getting your SoundBridge up and running.

Moderators: TheEndless, RokuDouglas, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby marlin9107 » Sun Mar 14, 2010 2:52 am

Hi there,

Could anyone please confirm with me if Roku Soundbridge M1000 supports WPA?

I've read from another Forum that it doesn't - only WEP is supported.

But from the threads on this Forums, it seems that it does support WPA.

I've bought a Pinnacle Soundbridge and I can confirm it doesn't support WPA.

I'm not thinking to buy a second hand Roku Soundbridge M1000 (as it's no longer in production).

Thanks
marlin9107
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby S80_UK » Sun Mar 14, 2010 3:24 am

marlin9107 wrote:Hi there,

Could anyone please confirm with me if Roku Soundbridge M1000 supports WPA?
I've read from another Forum that it doesn't - only WEP is supported.
But from the threads on this Forums, it seems that it does support WPA.
I've bought a Pinnacle Soundbridge and I can confirm it doesn't support WPA.
I'm not thinking to buy a second hand Roku Soundbridge M1000 (as it's no longer in production).
Thanks

Hi, Welcome to the forum.

"I've bought a Pinnacle Soundbridge and I can confirm it doesn't support WPA."
Erm - yes, it can and does.

You need to read a bit more... :)

From the threads on this forum (and elsewhere...)

M1001 (models with connectors at the back), Pinnacle HomeMusic (M400PX) and R1000 can support WPA/WPA2 with more recent firmwares (3.0.44 being standard, 3.0.52 beta being the last and very stable)

M500, M1000, M2000 (connections at the ends and with removable WiFi card) can only handle WEP due to hardware limitations (true with any firmware).

All units are 802.11b only, so require your WiFi router to support mixed mode (b/g or b/g/n) operation. Most do.

Lastly, in case you were wondering, there is no difference in the WiFi capabilities between Roku and Pinnacle models. To add to the confusion, many M1001 units are labelled M1000 at the front. Ignore that. it is the label at the back and the start up message which counts.

Cheers,

Les.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
S80_UK
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby marlin9107 » Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:07 am

Many thanks for the explanation.

Actually I didn't explain clearly because I was trying to refer to Pinnacle Soundbridge Homemusic.

I also refer to this page from Pinnacle web site which tells Pinnacle Soundbridge Homemusic supports only WEP.

http://estore.pinnaclesys.com/servlet/C ... gm=3717100

If you click on the "system requirement" tab and scroll to the bottom you will find a table and it shows clearly only WPA is not supported.

The reason why I did this search is because I couldn't get Pinnacle Soundbridge Homemusic works on WPA, only WEP. The above web page confirms my tests.

However, I also acknowledge that the same Pinnacle web site tells Soundbridge Radio (which is a different product from Homemusic) supports both WPA and WEP.

http://www.pinnaclesys.com/PublicSite/u ... +Radio.htm

So, it's very confusing... whatever, I just couldn't get my Pinnacle Soundbridge Homemusic working on WPA.

Now you tell me Roku M1001 supports WPA, I might just buy a second hand M1001 (as it's no longer in production).
marlin9107
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby dupondt » Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:18 am

marlin9107,

Les is correct, the information on Pinnacle's website is outdated (they gave up selling Roku's devices long ago).

The Pinnacle SoundBridge HomeMusic (M400PX) supports WPA/WPA2. This was introduced with firmware version 2.7.78. If your SoundBridge runs an older version, simply perform an update.

Greetings
dupondt
Roku SoundBridge R1000, M1001 and M1000 • Pinnacle SoundBridge HomeMusic • DNT IP-dio • Clint L1 • Roku XD
dupondt
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby marlin9107 » Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:37 am

Thanks dupondt .

Just downloaded and upgraded to latest 3.0.52 beta and still couldn't connect with WPA.

Will try to get another router and see if the problem is my router.
marlin9107
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby dupondt » Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:52 am

marlin9107 wrote:Will try to get another router and see if the problem is my router.

What's the make and model of your router?

Greetings
dupondt
Roku SoundBridge R1000, M1001 and M1000 • Pinnacle SoundBridge HomeMusic • DNT IP-dio • Clint L1 • Roku XD
dupondt
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby marlin9107 » Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:23 am

dupondt,

I've got a Billion BiPAC 7402NXL.

I thought it was probably the best when I bought it nearly a year ago - WCDMA 3G USB interface/ADSL modem built-in, 802.11 b/g/n, 1G LAN ports...

Marlin
marlin9107
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby jjaf » Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:40 pm

WPA has more than 1 security mode. On your router configuration, make sure you have selected personal or PSK and not something like enterprise (the wording may be different on your router).
R1000, M400, M1001
jjaf
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:49 am
Location: Epping Forest (bordering London), UK

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby marlin9107 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:30 pm

jjaf,

Understand, but Pinnacle Soundbridge Home Music doesn't have a setting for security mode (PSK, etc.), do you know what security mode it's accepting so that I can set up the same in the router?

thanks
marlin9107
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby jjaf » Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:42 pm

I've had a look at your router manual and it only has WPA-PSK and WPA2-PSK as options. Both of these are supported on the Soundbridge.
Make sure that MAC filtering is disabled.
Check that the password you enter on the Soundbridge is exactly the same as you entered in the router, they are usually case sensitive.
Start again with the router settings: disable WiFi security first to confirm that the Sounbridge can connect in the clear.
Also check that you are connecting to your own router and not a neighbour's.
R1000, M400, M1001
jjaf
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:49 am
Location: Epping Forest (bordering London), UK

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby marlin9107 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:08 am

thanks for the advice, jjaf.

Following your suggestions, I think I find out the problem.

When I turned off MAC address filtering, Soundbridge Home Music connected to my router.

If MAC address filtering is on, it won't connect.

It appears that Soundbridge doesn't support MAC address filtering at the router.

Correct?
marlin9107
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby jjaf » Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:21 am

MAC address filtering is a function of the router, nothing to do with the Soundbridge. It allows you to restrict connection to a list of WiFi devices you enter in the filter list. All devices that support network connections are supplied with a unique MAC address by the manufacturer. If you wanted, you could add the Soundbridge's MAC address (which you will find in its Configuration menu) to this list with MAC filtering enabled. By disabling MAC filtering, you are allowing any WiFi device to connect to your router's wireless access point (but then they also need your WPA password to become active on your network). Basically, MAC filtering is an additional security level.

In case you're wondering MAC = Media Access Control.

Glad you have sorted out your problem.
R1000, M400, M1001
jjaf
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:49 am
Location: Epping Forest (bordering London), UK

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby S80_UK » Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:23 pm

marlin9107 wrote:It appears that Soundbridge doesn't support MAC address filtering at the router.

Correct?

If the SoundBridge's MAC address is entered in the router's MAC address filter table then it will work fine with filtering enabled in the router. As jjaf says, this is a router setting, not a SoundBridge setting.

Les.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
S80_UK
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby marlin9107 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:52 pm

thanks for everyone who offered help.

I've been using MAC address filtering before I bought my Pinnacle Soundbridge and that has been working fine for my pc, etc..

Now, with Soundbridge, I did the same - enter its MAC address in the router filter table.

However, for some unknown reason, it works intermittently.

I can see from Soundbridge panel, WIFI status, it changes from "can't connect to router" to "connected to router" in the next seconds and then back to "can't connect to router".

The audio from speaker then becomes on and off, and when it resumes, it jumps to the next song...

Have ruled out the quality of radio signals from router because both router and Soundbridge are sitting rather close.

Will need to get another router to confirm if it's because of my router....
marlin9107
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Roku Soundbridge M1000 Wireless Protocol

Postby S80_UK » Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:43 pm

All I can say is that it has always worked for me (but I have not had a router such as yours). It is certainly possible that it is just an unlucky combination of the SoundBridge and your router.
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
S80_UK
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Next

Return to SoundBridge Set-Up

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest