How to limit Roku bandwidth so other devices can use some

Moderators: RokuShawnS, RokuDouglas, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

How to limit Roku bandwidth so other devices can use some

Postby DannyD » Sun Jul 18, 2010 9:43 am

Pardons if this has been covered, Roku newbie here, quick searches didn't turn any up for me...

Any way to limit the box so other devices are not slowed to a crawl? Ideally without buying a wireless router that can do it, I have a Belkin F5D8326-4 that's pretty new & I'd rather not replace.

We've got good speeds, pretty much always >10mbps but when other devices are used, wired or wireless they are almost unable to browse while Roku seems unaffected.

thanks,

DD
DannyD

Re: How to limit Roku bandwidth so other devices can use som

Postby DeftOne » Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:18 am

The best you can do with the Roku itself is force it to use a lower bitrate stream. From your Roku remote, hit:
- Home 5x
- REW 3x
- FF 2x

Then select your desired bitrate. Just realize that lower bitrate streams will obviously have lower quality. In general, it's usually best to leave it on automatic for the best viewing experience.
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku LT (16A181002342)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Roku HD (20F946002749)
DLINK DIR-615 (all Rokus wireless)
12 Mbps
DeftOne

Postby DannyD » Sun Jul 18, 2010 3:54 pm

Thanks, trying that now @ 3.5Mbps, highest non-auto setting.. I've got the non-HD box viewed on a 19" crt. I can probably sacrifice some pq as long as play is not start/stop.
DannyD

Postby techn0lizard » Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:46 pm

You can go FAR lower than 3.5 and not notice on the 19".

:shock:
Very funny Scotty now beam down my pants!!!!
techn0lizard

Postby mkiker2089 » Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:30 pm

DannyD wrote:Thanks, trying that now @ 3.5Mbps, highest non-auto setting.. I've got the non-HD box viewed on a 19" crt. I can probably sacrifice some pq as long as play is not start/stop.