Roku "secret" codes

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Re: Roku "secret" codes

Postby kc8pql » Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:56 am

jralabate wrote:reset-same as unplugging
- Home 5 times
- Up arrow 1 time
- Rewind 2 times
- Forward 2 times

Note that this is not the same as unpluging the box. It's used in beta testing to recover from a crash and send a crash report log to Roku engineering.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8206
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku "secret" codes

Postby DeftOne » Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:23 am

Yeah, you want to use the remote "reboot" sequence with a bit of discretion. It should only be used when the box has become totally unresponsive since it sends log data back to Roku HQ. I'm sure they don't want to be inundated with erroneous logs from people rebooting their box with their remote because they don't want to get up and unplug it instead.

Also, if your box has become unresponsive and you do choose to use the remote reboot, make sure you note the date, time and what you were doing right before the box stopped responding. This information will help the Roku engineers track down your log data and will be invaluable should you need additional support to fix your problem.
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku LT (16A181002342)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Roku HD (20F946002749)
DLINK DIR-615 (all Rokus wireless)
12 Mbps
DeftOne
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Roku "secret" codes

Postby y0himba » Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:04 am

What exactly is the bitrate menu for?
-http://www.y0himba.net
'Gonads are useful for their purpose, but they are no substitute for brains.'
'Welcome iClones, to the iDiocracy.'
y0himba
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:04 pm
Location: Watching my Roku box.

Re: Roku "secret" codes

Postby kc8pql » Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:50 am

y0himba wrote:What exactly is the bitrate menu for?

Roku considers the bitrate screen to be an engineering tool, rather than a public feature. It can be of some use in testing, in that it allows overriding the box's automatic connection speed detection system to force a particular bitrate stream.

The playback debugging option displays the actual speed the box sees to the server and which stream it choose, as well as other information about the connection.

The screen was designed for use with Netflix and Amazon. It is less useful with other channels that may have only one or two streams. Netflix has 6 streams, Amazon 5 plus the 5.1 audio option.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8206
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku "secret" codes

Postby y0himba » Sun Oct 10, 2010 4:37 pm

On my XD|S The bitrate screens does not have any options for bitrate, unless you need to use the remote while in Netflix...
-http://www.y0himba.net
'Gonads are useful for their purpose, but they are no substitute for brains.'
'Welcome iClones, to the iDiocracy.'
y0himba
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:04 pm
Location: Watching my Roku box.

Re: Roku "secret" codes

Postby renojim » Sun Oct 10, 2010 6:50 pm

It does on mine.

-JT
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2456
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: Roku "secret" codes

Postby pjoshua5000 » Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:47 pm

jralabate wrote:
y0himba wrote:On my XD|S The bitrate screens does not have any options for bitrate, unless you need to use the remote while in Netflix...


mine too


Are you sure its not the "secret menu" your on.
pjoshua5000
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:58 pm

Re: Roku "secret" codes

Postby kc8pql » Mon Oct 11, 2010 3:35 pm

pjoshua5000 wrote:
jralabate wrote:
y0himba wrote:On my XD|S The bitrate screens does not have any options for bitrate, unless you need to use the remote while in Netflix...


mine too


Are you sure its not the "secret menu" your on.

I think that's the problem.
y0himba, try again, paying attention to the RW and FF press sequence order. I think you got it backward.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8206
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: scottypie1234 and 12 guests