Suddenlink Cable vs AT&T DSL for Roku?

Discussions about Roku products, channels, and Roku-related topics.

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Suddenlink Cable vs AT&T DSL for Roku?

Postby NeilGunton » Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:20 am

I am taking the plunge today and dropping my Suddenlink Cable TV service altogether. I'm keeping the 10Mb internet, for Netflix streaming on my Roku, and going to AT&T for a basic local phone package.

Apparently AT&T has 6Mb DSL in my area for $19.95 for 12 months ($40 after that). I'll be paying Suddenlink $54.95 for their 10Mb service. Both have 768 up.

This 6Mb DSL seems pretty cheap. Can anybody give me any advice on whether it would be a good idea to switch over to AT&T from Suddenlink for internet? I am a website developer, and I need good, reliable, fast internet from my home. Suddenlink has been ok so far, with the occasional outage, and I get about 7 or 8 Mb on speedtest.net. I'd like to save some money, but I don't want to get into an endless round of hassle. How is AT&T DSL these days? Is it pretty reliable? Is 6Mb enough for good streaming on the Roku? Or is DSL as dead as a dodo these days?

Thanks,

Neil
NeilGunton

Re: Suddenlink Cable vs AT&T DSL for Roku?

Postby mkiker2089 » Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:44 am

DSL often uses a router/modem which some have had issues with. Most don't however. DSL should be rock solid if it works well on day one. Most phone companies are expanding their fiber optic network to extend range and increase quality.

I think DSL would be fine so go for it.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
mkiker2089

Postby Village Idiot » Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:22 pm

I have the AT&T DSL Pro
works great for me.
I use the AT&T all-in-one router/modem 2701 HG-B
I don't think they make it anymore.
If and when i need a new one i'm going with another combo router/modem
Less headaches.