Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby vagabondo » Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:31 pm

Hello All,

I am all of a sudden not able to add any new channels to my Roku player. I get a message that says exactly this...

--------
insufficient storage

There is not enough storage to add the selected channel(s). Please remove one or more of your installed channels and try again. To remove a channel, enter the Channel Store, select the channel and then select "remove channel."
------------------

Please help.
Anyone.
I see no point in Roku if all new channels are not allowed to be added.

And Yes, I deleted almost all my channels and it still won't let me add any.

I have unplugged and let it sit and then restarted too.

Still the same.

Please... Anybody with suggestions please help.

CM
vagabondo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:26 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby KennyJ » Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:47 am

Sounds like a bug. If you removed channels and it still doesn't let you add, there must be something wrong. Try PMing one of the Moderators here. I believe most if not all of them are Roku engineers.
User avatar
KennyJ
 
Posts: 4040
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:18 am
Location: Lawndale, CA

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby chris0071 » Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:55 am

Did it happen when you tried to add SoundCloud?

If so, it's because SoundCloud appears to use a lot of RAM. The creator had made a "Low RAM" version that might help.
chris0071
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:04 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby vagabondo » Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:24 pm

Thank you for ALL for all your help.

I have contacted the email support. I will try their steps tonight.

But so you know, I haven't tried soundcloud.

I cannot add any new channels. And I have deleted most of my current ones.

Here is the pop up I get.

http://newyorkcitywtf.wordpress.com/2010/11/22/roku
vagabondo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:26 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby KennyJ » Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:04 pm

vagabondo wrote:Thank you for ALL for all your help.

I have contacted the email support. I will try their steps tonight.

But so you know, I haven't tried soundcloud.

I cannot add any new channels. And I have deleted most of my current ones.

Here is the pop up I get.

http://newyorkcitywtf.wordpress.com/2010/11/22/roku


Try PMing one of the moderators here if email support can't help you.
User avatar
KennyJ
 
Posts: 4040
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:18 am
Location: Lawndale, CA

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby vagabondo » Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:26 pm

Hi All, Still no luck. I did your suggestion and PMed a moderator.
I hope they get it.

This is what Roku support told me to do.
I did it and it didn't work.

-----------------------------------

Kindly do the following:
1.Turn off the Modem, wireless router and the Roku player.
2.Plug the Modem back in, give it some time to settle down.
3.Please plug in the wireless router and after some time plug the Roku player back in.
If you have a cable modem, kindly unscrew the co-axial cable, wait for 30 seconds and then plug it back in.
If issue still persists,
1. Press Home button
2. Select "Roku player Settings"
3. Select "Player Info"
vagabondo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:26 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby mkiker2089 » Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:32 pm

The instructions they gave you have zero bearing on the problem. So far off I'm a little surprised by it actually.

General stall tactics I suppose.

First install only one at a time. It doesn't tell you still in the store what will fit, only as it's actually downloading them does it find out. It downloads until it pukes and then stops.

Have you tried adding a different channel. Perhaps the problem is with the channel you are trying to add? Try something small like one of the screen savers. Flixster must be pretty small as well.

How many channels do you have anyway. You say you deleted "almost all" but that's a relative term. Do you have 5 left, 10, 20?

Also the size of the channels is what's important but alas, Roku doesn't list channel sizes. If you delete everything except Amazon, Netflix, Revision 3, and Hulu you should have room to add more. As a last step I'd try doing that. Remove them all (except the mentioned since I know more will fit) and then add them back in order of preference. One at a time of course. Like I said before, the channel store has no clue. You have to exit it after adding a channel to find out if it fits.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby vagabondo » Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:18 pm

Ok, I will delete every channel and add back one at a time.

Thank you for your help.


But it seems if Roku will not have enough memory for more channels.
There is a MAJOR problem with the hardware.

I am also completely shocked that no one else has reported this.
I have searched the internet and no where is this "insufficient memory"

Something else I wanted to say.
I just deleted a channel I was watching earlier.
It was Roku Newscaster - i was watching it all night.
then i decided to delete it. (just to get rid of more channels)

and now I can't add it back.
I get the same "insufficient memory" popup
when i try to add back the same channel i was just watching.

http://newyorkcitywtf.files.wordpress.c ... _05281.jpg
vagabondo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:26 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby TheEndless » Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:48 pm

vagabondo wrote:But it seems if Roku will not have enough memory for more channels.
There is a MAJOR problem with the hardware.

I am also completely shocked that no one else has reported this.
I have searched the internet and no where is this "insufficient memory"

I think your second statement there should clue you into the fact that the first isn't the case. You're the only person I've seen report this issue, so I seriously doubt there's a "major" problem with the hardware. It sounds to me like you may have installed a channel or a combination of channels that triggered a bug in the "insufficient storage" check that Roku implemented in the latest firmware update. My suggestion, if you're prepared to remove all of your channels anyway, would be to do a full factory reset via the Settings menu. If removing multiple channels hasn't already cleared it up, I wouldn't be surprised if removing them all still didn't fix it, but a factory reset would essentially roll your system back to factory fresh (i.e., pre-bug condition). Good luck!
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), MainSqueeze (MAINSQUEEZE), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), Justin.tv (JUSTINTV), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7936
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby renojim » Tue Nov 23, 2010 3:16 am

I wish someone at Roku would let us know exactly what "factory reset" does or does not do. I can tell you I have a channel that can not be deleted, even after a factory reset, so it's probably the Roku account that is screwed up.

To the OP, if a factory reset does not solve your problem, create a new Roku account and relink your player.

-JT
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2428
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby ashes00 » Tue Nov 23, 2010 6:55 am

vagabondo, You are not alone. I too have seen this a few times. My current channel count is 23. It all happened when i went to add Hulu+. So, I started dropping channels like 5 at a time. I was finally able to get H+ installed. It happened again when i tried to add some of last weeks new channels. Again i removed a few until it gave me enough space.

Some unique things about my roku hd are as follows, and maybe you share some of these.

* I have myMedia installed as private channel in developer mode (Old version), as well as the newly released version in non-developer mode.

* I have always had issues with Google voice channel by nowhereman (A.K.A RokuChris) not sure if related.

* I move my device from TV to TV wherever we are. Not sure if that matters.

Anyways, I would like to see it fixed, but i really only use roku for a few channels of which i can get currently. I am starting to believe that certain channels are probably large in program size, or the operating memory is getting filled up with some channel data. I am no developer though, just an IT manager, so all i can so it add to the list of symptoms on my side. Hope this helps to identify the scope of the issue further. Happy Turkey Day 8)

-Ashes00
ashes00
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 5:41 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby vagabondo » Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:05 am

Ashes00,

Thank you for your post. It makes me feel a little better about all this. It feels good to know someone out there has some idea of what is happening. Thanks for your help.

This all makes me wonder.

How many channels is the max?
And what channels use the most memory?
I wonder if there will come a day when two or three channels take up all the memory and those 3 channels is the max any roku could hold.
Do the newer Roku models have more memory compared to the older ones?

Thanks again.

CJ
vagabondo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:26 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby RoadRanger » Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:40 am

renojim wrote:To the OP, if a factory reset does not solve your problem, create a new Roku account and relink your player.
+1
Roku Digital Video Player links:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/RokuDigitalVideoPlayer/links
Private Channel Database:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/RokuDigitalVideoPlayer/database
RoadRanger
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:24 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby mkiker2089 » Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:07 am

vagabondo wrote:Ashes00,

How many channels is the max?
And what channels use the most memory?

CJ



Like I said before, the max is based on channel size so there is no absolute.

Perhaps Roku should implement a "block" system like the Wii has. It would be simple.
-Marshall-

Nun sacciu, nun vidi, nun ceru e si ceru durmiv.
I know nothing, I see nothing, I wasn't there,
and if I was there, I was asleep.
mkiker2089
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Insufficient Storage - ROKU

Postby MoonChaser » Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:00 pm

Since there are a few very large channels like Hulu+, I wish they could have a memory check feature.... it would say (as an example) "You are using 585K of 640K Available."

In addition, on the channel description field it would state how much it uses. Hulu+ might say something like 176K, where games like HogoWord may only say 18K. This way we know not only how much space is available, but WHAT CHANNELS we need to delete to fit the new one we want to add (instead of guessing what will free enough space like we do now.) If you have 40 channels loaded and want to add Hulu, you would know you need to free up 100K to make it work, and can figure out specifically what channels you can get rid of that would add up to that amount.

Of course, if they find a way to only cache the ones we use MOST and just load the others when we actually USE them this would be a moot point- you could add 500 channels as only 5-10 of them are actively using memory.
MoonChaser
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:23 am

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jbecker73 and 16 guests