Can I use internet and Roku at the same time

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Can I use internet and Roku at the same time

Postby mellowcalico » Thu Mar 03, 2011 8:29 am

I am considering getting a Roku with Netflix (and a digital antenna). I really don't watch a lot of TV and am sick of paying $120 a month for cable that I don't watch.

I am not very tech savvy and I don't own a Roku yet. What I would like to know is if I can use the internet and a Roku at the same time (for those times my child watches a kids movie or show and I want to catch up on e-mail or something). If so, how do I do that (will I need some sort of wireless router in addition to a Roku?). Do I need a faster internet connection to do this? If so, what's the recommended connection?

Is there some kind of comprehensive Q&A for Roku noobs like myself?

Thanks!
mellowcalico

Re: Can I use internet and Roku at the same time

Postby texashildy » Thu Mar 03, 2011 8:37 am

You can absolutely use internet and Roku at the same time. I'm surfing while the kids are watching Sesame Street right now. :) As for the technical specs, I'll let others that are more experienced answer that.
Cable Cut Feb. 1, 2011 & not looking back
Roku 3, Roku XDS, & OTA via outdoor antenna
Netflix since 2007, Amazon Prime since 2012
Yes, I have Hulu+ & I like it, thank you very much.
texashildy

Postby KennyJ » Thu Mar 03, 2011 8:38 am

I think 1.5 Mbps is the recommended speed for high quality SD on Netflix. You probably want about 3 Mbps for HD and 5 Mbps for Hulu HD. I have 15 Mbps through Verizon FIOS and have watch 3 simultaneous streams (2 on Roku and 1 on PC). We regularly surf and watch TV.

If your speeds are closer to the minimums you may run into problems when you do anything bandwidth-intensive on the internet (downloading files, etc). Though, even when I used to have 3 Mbps DSL we would watch streams and use the internet without issue.
KennyJ