Can't even get a Roku Menu to come up ...

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Can't even get a Roku Menu to come up ...

Postby karen k » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:18 am

I promise that I am not totally challenged, here; my DVD player works just fine going into one of the three SD red/white/yellow SD video hook-ups on the back of my Sony Trinitron (circa 2004). But when I hook up the Roku XDS, I get the purple light on front, the internal red light ... and then nothing on my tv screen. I have tried different cables, different "video in" spots, and every possible line/source/vcr/vtr/tv etc on my tv remote. I also have an old Tivo SD box that works woth DirecTV. I fear the Roku box is a lemon. Help!
karen k

Re: Can't even get a Roku Menu to come up ...

Postby gnonny11 » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:29 am

Have you tried switching channels on your tv set? I'm no techie, just throwing that out there. I just know that for me to get Roku, the tv has to be on "Video 1," for regular cable tv it has to be on "Video 2," and for the dvd player, it has to be on channel 3.
Setup: Roku HD (2000C)/ Netgear WNR1000v2-VC router/ Ubee D3.0 modem/ Wired ethernet / Sanyo DS20424 20 in. flat screen SD tv / R/Y/W RCA cable
gnonny11

Postby jeffrok » Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:18 am

Sounds like she tried that already.

To the OP- are you SURE you have the cables in the right inputs? Yellow->Yellow White->White Red->Red?

Do you have another TV you can try this on to make it's not something with the TV?
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **

Postby karen k » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:15 pm

Maybe I will try it with another TV, but I have a bad feeling about the little Roku box. I thought maybe Tivo was getting in the way or something ...
karen k

Postby gnonny11 » Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:22 pm