Skype?

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Skype?

Postby shdware » Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:21 am

I know the public SDK currently doesn't allow for it, be wouldn't it br worthwhile for Roku boxes with USB ports to have Skype capability?

Throw in a USB webcam/mic combo and make calls from your TV. The Roku is on 24/7 anyway, so it would really be an ideal situation. My computer gets turned off when it's not in use.

Or maybe this would be better suited for the new Roku slated to be released this year? Either way -- I would love something like this.
4200R [Roku 3]

Formerly:
3100X [Roku 2 XS]
2050X [Roku XD]

42" VIZIO via HDMI @ 1080p
Comcast 20Mbit
shdware
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Skype?

Postby Gilgamesh » Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:54 am

ABSOLUTELY NOT!!

That is a horrible idea. Fortunately Roku does not have the horsepower for Skype nor does it have an audio input and using the USB port, which does not exist on most Rokus, is, at best, a foolish idea.

While Roku is a versatile little box it is not an all in one device.

There are standalone Skype devices and Skype works well on full computers but making Roku a Skype client would be like converting a Pinto to be a platform for a backhoe. It might work but there are much better alternatives that require less work to implement.
Gilgamesh
 
Posts: 4912
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Dayton TN

Re: Skype?

Postby krisbee » Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:55 am

And honestly, getting webcams to work correctly under linux is just hard, plus the skype program, updates, it just wouldn't work on the roku.
krisbee
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: Skype?

Postby jeffrok » Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:18 am

If the hardware COULD handle this sort of thing I'd be all for it . But it can't.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Re: Skype?

Postby shdware » Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:30 am

Oh, I agree that it doesn't have the horsepower to transcode.

But I'd love for this to be a feature in the next Roku. Making video calls on my TV in my living room -- that's convenience. It would be a whole lot nicer than having my family huddle around my laptop when we're calling my family out of state.
4200R [Roku 3]

Formerly:
3100X [Roku 2 XS]
2050X [Roku XD]

42" VIZIO via HDMI @ 1080p
Comcast 20Mbit
shdware
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Skype?

Postby jeffrok » Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:32 am

Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Re: Skype?

Postby Eugenia » Thu Jun 30, 2011 11:22 am

I would like Skype on my TV. The webcam hardware can simply be an accessory sold separately, so this way it's easier for Roku to test compatibility and not throw at it random webcams.
Blog: http://eugenia.queru.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/EugeniaLoli
Videos: http://vimeo.com/eugenia/videos
Eugenia
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:51 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA

Re: Skype?

Postby shdware » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:21 pm

jeffrok wrote:http://blogs.skype.com/en/2010/01/skype_on_your_tv.html


Excellent. I really think there's a market for this sort of thing, and apparently Skype has for some time.


Eugenia, I'm originally from Milpitas but am not in-state anymore. Good to see you.
4200R [Roku 3]

Formerly:
3100X [Roku 2 XS]
2050X [Roku XD]

42" VIZIO via HDMI @ 1080p
Comcast 20Mbit
shdware
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Skype?

Postby scyber » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:36 pm

jeffrok wrote:If the hardware COULD handle this sort of thing I'd be all for it . But it can't.


Do we know that for a fact? SkypeHD compatiable webcams all have integrated encoders, so the roku would not need to encode the stream. That is how they are able to run on TVs that aren't that powerful either. It would need to simultaneously upload the stream while downloading another stream, but that is not necessarily something that would be outside of the capabilties of the hardware. Likely outside of the capabilities of the current SDK though.
scyber
 
Posts: 1296
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:51 am


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests