Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby JAtwood » Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:27 pm

Having consistent problems again with my Roku 1 XDS rebooting during Netflix. Not sure if it would do it with any other channel as this is all we watch. Happens every time but not always the same amount of time into a program. Had this same issue this past Spring and reset the box. Had to register it again and add all of the channels back. Seemed to fix it for a short time.

There has to be a more permanent fix in place, right? Been trying to get this latest stretch of reboots fixed for a couple of months. Already sent PMs to 2 different moderators over tha time with my unit information hoping that would get addressed. Getting frustrated at this point. Now hoping a post will help get this resolved.
JAtwood
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:58 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby wchmara » Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:46 pm

Discovered the same problem this evening.
Doesn't matter what channel.
Roku is rebooting every 60 seconds.
Turning everything off and on doesn't help. :(
wchmara
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:10 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby knuckle » Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:21 pm

if you have another ac adapter,try swapping (I swapped mine out after an afternoon of reboots -- cleared it right up) make sure its the same out put and good luck
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV
all running wireless on a actiontec C2000A
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby wchmara » Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:03 am

Not an option.
Since this problem is persisting for another day, and even prevents me from doing a factory reset, it appears that the box is permanently damaged and destined for the garbage. :(
wchmara
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:10 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby kc8pql » Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:14 am

It's unlikely that it's the box. The power supply however is a definite possibility. Historically, truly dead boxes have been rare. Dead power supplies, not so uncommon, particularly on older R1 boxes. Many have been brought back with a new power supply.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8207
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby socantra » Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:19 am

wchmara wrote:Not an option.
Since this problem is persisting for another day, and even prevents me from doing a factory reset, it appears that the box is permanently damaged and destined for the garbage. :(

If you are determined to throw your box away, that is certainly your right, but I am having no trouble at all with my Roku XDS and I suspect many others are not sharing your experience.

If you are interested in doing something about the problems you are having rather than throwing your Roku box in the trash, perhaps providing more information might help someone to assist you.
Please attempt to maintain a thin veneer of civility.
Remember, you are speaking to strangers on the internet,
not your own family at home.
socantra
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:11 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby wchmara » Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:04 pm

OK. I dragged out the credit card and ordered a new adapter.
(Got the instant replay remote, while at it. They're on sale)
That's trust. :wink:
wchmara
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:10 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby knuckle » Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:05 pm

I was just fixin to ask ya to mail me the box too--:)
good luck
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV
all running wireless on a actiontec C2000A
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby JAtwood » Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:11 pm

I have 2 XDS boxes, both being used, and only 1 with the problem. I can try to swap the adapters and see if the issue stays or transfers to the other box.
JAtwood
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:58 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby socantra » Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:28 pm

JAtwood wrote:I have 2 XDS boxes, both being used, and only 1 with the problem. I can try to swap the adapters and see if the issue stays or transfers to the other box.

That would be a good idea. You might also try it with some of those other channels you had to re-add after doing the factory reset last spring, to see if it is a problem on everything, or only on Netflix.

Some more information on your setup, etc. might also be helpful. Ethernet or wireless, isp and speed and whatever other info you can provide if the problem persists after you check power supplies.
Please attempt to maintain a thin veneer of civility.
Remember, you are speaking to strangers on the internet,
not your own family at home.
socantra
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 10:11 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby dmacleo » Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:45 pm

same as this ?

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=45094&p=306605#p306605

not power supply on mine.
both started doing it the same day.
dmacleo
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:20 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby JAtwood » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:53 pm

Doesn't appear to be power supply. We can actually start to tell when the stream seems to have gone into the irreversible path to reboot. We get a very slight scramble of signal for a second. Once we see that, we aren't able to pause, stop, etc. The video continues to play for 1-2 minutes. I'm guessing it's buffered that much? I wouldn't think it would reboot if it lost it's signal. The reboot happens whether wireless or hard lined.

As I mentioned, I have 2 of the same units and the other one has zero problems. The second one is wireless only.
JAtwood
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:58 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby dmacleo » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:54 pm

looking to me like it may be dns related, oddly enough.
dmacleo
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:20 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby JAtwood » Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:08 am

Would a DNS error cause a reboot though? I guess I don't understand how that would happen. How would a weakening or loss of a streaming signal force a reboot of the unit? I would think the unit would just run out of buffer and then show the loading/progress screen.

I read somewhere that units will auto reboot if memory is full. I don't have a lot of channels but I just removed the ones I wasn't ever using.
JAtwood
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:58 am

Re: Roku 1 Auto Reboot Problem

Postby JAtwood » Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:30 am

It's a no on the memory being an issue. Rebooted again...2nd time in an hour.

Sure wish a moderator would step in here and help address this. I have already sent my specs to 2 of them over the last couple of months.
JAtwood
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:58 am

Next

Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests