Roku 2 HD Netflix Picture Quality

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Roku 2 HD Netflix Picture Quality

Postby lesleyjs » Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:54 pm

I have been using the original Roku for a few years and it was perfect HD quality. I installed a Roku2 HD today. Amazon streaming is fabulous in HD. Very impressive. Netflix is awful, blurry and not HD. I switched back to the old box and Netflix still looks great on that and is HD. I checked my settings in Netflix and I have it set for best picture quality. So, what's wrong with the new box? If Amazon streaming looks great, then it's not my network. I even reset the new box several times with no changes to Netflix picture quality. I am on a wireless DSL network with 4 as required for HD speed.
lesleyjs

Re: Roku 2 HD Netflix Picture Quality

Postby renojim » Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:57 pm

The Roku 2 uses an adaptive stream. You have to give it 30 seconds or so to ramp up to HD.

-JT
renojim
** Valued Community Member **

Postby lesleyjs » Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:07 pm

First of all, I didn't need to wait with the Amazon streaming. It was HD and perfect from the start. I just watched Netflix for 5 minutes. When is started up, the bar quality did not say HD. The picture went from blurry to medium grade, but still not HD. When switch to the old Roku box, the quality bar says HD and the picture is great. So, there's still a problem.
lesleyjs

Postby RokuShawnS » Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:26 pm

lesleyjs wrote:First of all, I didn't need to wait with the Amazon streaming. It was HD and perfect from the start. I just watched Netflix for 5 minutes. When is started up, the bar quality did not say HD. The picture went from blurry to medium grade, but still not HD. When switch to the old Roku box, the quality bar says HD and the picture is great. So, there's still a problem.

Amazon doesn't use adaptive streaming.