Connect Roku to Wifi without remote?

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Connect Roku to Wifi without remote?

Postby baubillious » Fri Jan 13, 2012 10:45 am

I forgot to bring my remote with me, so I have no way to use my iPod or the online Roku remote unless I can connect my Roku to WiFi which I can't do without my remote...any ideas? Like using Bluetooth somehow? I have a Roku 2 XS.
baubillious
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:14 pm

Re: Connect Roku to Wifi without remote?

Postby gonzotek » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:14 pm

baubillious wrote:I forgot to bring my remote with me, so I have no way to use my iPod or the online Roku remote unless I can connect my Roku to WiFi which I can't do without my remote...any ideas? Like using Bluetooth somehow? I have a Roku 2 XS.
You're probably out of luck (sorry). The only bluetooth device known to work with Roku is their gaming remote. It might not be practical, but if you're near any local big box stores like Best Buy or Walmart, you could maybe pick up a harmony, which will have the Roku codes available(you'll need a computer to program, so that might not work for you). Most cheap universal remotes won't have the right codeset for Roku, and learning remotes won't help in this case. You could always return the remote after you get it set up on wifi, and use the iphone remote for the rest of your trip.

If anyone knows of an inexpensive universal that's commonly carried by the big box stores, that has the Roku codes out-of-the-box, I (and the OP, I'm sure) would love to know!
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2202
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Connect Roku to Wifi without remote?

Postby kc8pql » Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:05 pm

gonzotek wrote:It might not be practical, but if you're near any local big box stores like Best Buy or Walmart, you could maybe pick up a harmony, ...

...or a Roku. Any model will work as all R2s work with both IR and BT. Do the setup and then return the Roku.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8123
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Connect Roku to Wifi without remote?

Postby gonzotek » Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:12 pm

kc8pql wrote:
gonzotek wrote:It might not be practical, but if you're near any local big box stores like Best Buy or Walmart, you could maybe pick up a harmony, ...

...or a Roku. Any model will work as all R2s work with both IR and BT. Do the setup and then return the Roku.
Good point. Last time I recommended a harmony for a forgotten remote, Roku wasn't generally available at brick-and-mortar stores. How times change :)
Remoku.tv - A free web app for Roku Remote Control!
Want to control your Roku from nearly any phone, computer or tablet? Get started at http://help.remoku.tv
by Apps4TV - Applications for television and beyond: http://www.apps4tv.com
User avatar
gonzotek
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2202
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:40 pm


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gkl and 27 guests