Service Plans with Roku

Discussions about Roku products, channels, and Roku-related topics.

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Service Plans with Roku

Postby Tecmo SB Guy » Tue Jan 17, 2012 7:44 pm

Hi. Newbie here. I just got a Roku 2XS for Christmas and I love it. :D

I got it at Best Buy but I didn't get a service plan with it.

I was wondering, when you guys get a Roku do you guys usually also purchase a service plan with it in case something happens to it?

I love this thing but also wouldn't want to see it break after the 30 day period when I can return it to Best Buy is up. And then I'd have to spend another $89 to $99 to get another one.

Or are these little things pretty durable where I shouldn't worry about getting a service plan?
Tecmo SB Guy

Re: Service Plans with Roku

Postby Gilgamesh » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:05 pm

Service plans are always a bad idea. Sure there are individual people that benefit by it but the VAST majority of service plans sold only work out to be free money for the seller.

The warranty is long enough to provide for any manufacturing defects and the reliability of solid state devices is quite high so the service plan will probably expire long before any failure.

Think of it as gambling. The seller is the house and the house always wins.
Gilgamesh

Postby kc8pql » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:15 pm

+1 Don't waste your money. Dead Rokus are rare.
My oldest box, now going on 3 1/2 years old, when all it did was stream Netflix, is trouble free.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **

Postby mommom » Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:34 pm

My oldest Roku is almost 3 years old.You can get a Square Trade warranty from Amazon for around $25,but in my opinion it would be wasted money.