Hulu Plus Problems!

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

Hulu Plus Problems!

Postby dspud2006 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:38 pm

Is anyone else having serious issues with Hulu Plus? I have a first generation Roku (HD-XR) and I can not get through an hour long TV show without the app freezing and causing me to unplug the box just to get it to respond again. This problem is with the Hulu app only. I have no problems with Netflix or MLB (at least not lately). I am actually hoping that Hulu will work well on my roku so i can dump my dish, but so far, this is an epic failure! Anyone else having this problem???
dspud2006
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: Hulu Plus Problems!

Postby RokuShawnS » Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:10 am

Unplug the Roku, leave it off for 30 seconds, then re-plug it. Alternately, delete and re-add the channel.

Sometimes, depending on the Roku model you have, rebooting can fix this issue.

C. Shawn Smith
Forum Community Liaison

------------
The Cosmos is all that is, and all that was, and ever will be. -- Carl Sagan
User avatar
RokuShawnS
Roku Engineering
 
Posts: 4504
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:21 pm

Re: Hulu Plus Problems!

Postby j653 » Fri Aug 10, 2012 7:36 am

I was having major Hulu Plus issues with my Roku XD (2050X). It happened on separate wireless routers on both Comcast 6mbps Cable Internet and Verizon 11mbps DSL. I tried everything Roku and Hulu advised to resolve the issue and continued to have issues with unresponsiveness and crashing.

I ended up purchasing a refurbished Roku 2. All of the issues cleared up and the box is noticeably snappier. Two months down and Hulu has yet to crash the box.

My advice: get a Roku 2. It's just too bad Roku doesn't acknowledge the issues and offer a trade-up program.
j653
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:22 am

Re: Hulu Plus Problems!

Postby steamer » Fri Aug 10, 2012 7:59 am

j653 wrote:I was having major Hulu Plus issues with my Roku XD (2050X). It happened on separate wireless routers on both Comcast 6mbps Cable Internet and Verizon 11mbps DSL. I tried everything Roku and Hulu advised to resolve the issue and continued to have issues with unresponsiveness and crashing.

I ended up purchasing a refurbished Roku 2. All of the issues cleared up and the box is noticeably snappier. Two months down and Hulu has yet to crash the box.

My advice: get a Roku 2. It's just too bad Roku doesn't acknowledge the issues and offer a trade-up program.


same here ...
refurb Roku2 and Hulu is a lot better.
not perfect, the interface still sucks ...
and on occasion too much pushing of buttons, ie FF, rewind
will get it to hang.
and Hulu still seems unable to 'finish' an episode ...
when i come back, there is always a 'do you want to resume'
a program that i finished, and know i allowed Hulu to complete.
but, minor compared to what it did with the Roku 1.
i also still reboot before trying to watch Hulu ...
just to avoid the hassle.
works ... ok.
"The Selection of Random Numbers is too Important to be Left to Chance."

Roku 1 - Model #2100X V 3.1 b1017
Roku 2 - Model #3100X V 5.5.321
both wired
VisionNet ADSL2+4 Ports Wireless
Toshiba 40G300U HDMI, 1080P
steamer
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 8:41 pm

Re: Hulu Plus Problems!

Postby RickRansom » Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:54 pm

steamer wrote:i also still reboot before trying to watch Hulu ...
just to avoid the hassle.

+1
Retired
User avatar
RickRansom
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: PH

Re: Hulu Plus Problems!

Postby knuckle » Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:36 pm

I have the R1 xd and test hulu often (the free stuff) it has never frozen or crashed on me ... that said I don't watch the channel for hours like I do netflix/justin etc.
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
all running wireless on a Netgear WNR 1000
User avatar
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Florida,USA

Re: Hulu Plus Problems!

Postby burntbeane » Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:49 am

The 2000c model I have in my living room won't stream it at all right now. The Roku2 I have upstairs works fine. I use the older model in the living room because it supports the older DVI HD that I have, the Roku2 doesn't.
burntbeane
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 1:17 pm


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests