stuck on "please select your language"

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

stuck on "please select your language"

Postby 5dnvr8 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 6:56 pm

Hi,
received this Roku 2 XS a few days ago & today it began to act up. Could not stream either Netflix or Amazon - kept saying retrieving on Amazon & just hung on Netflix.
I had to reset the modem/ router this morning & thought at first perhaps it just got confused. But I have reset the modem / router a number of times over the past year & that has not confused either one of the Roku LT devices. In fact one of them is working right now.

So I pressed the reset button for 10 seconds to perform a factory reset & the Roku immediately hangs at the please select your language screen. It does however go into screen saver mode some minutes later. Two more factory resets & the same result.

Any ideas? Is this XS bricked? Should I return it?

thanks
Always go to other people's funerals, otherwise they won't come to yours.

Yogi Berra
5dnvr8
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: stuck on "please select your language"

Postby 5dnvr8 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:10 pm

OK, it's the remote. Found the paring instructions. helps to read them.

bye
Always go to other people's funerals, otherwise they won't come to yours.

Yogi Berra
5dnvr8
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: stuck on "please select your language"

Postby 5dnvr8 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:35 pm

Well just in case - can someone clarify if this (edit: the Netflix & Amazon streaming issue) may have been caused by power cycling the modem or router?
Will be installing a new modem later this week. Should the Roku device be unplugged, disconnected from the wifi prior?

thanks
Last edited by 5dnvr8 on Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Always go to other people's funerals, otherwise they won't come to yours.

Yogi Berra
5dnvr8
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: stuck on "please select your language"

Postby kc8pql » Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:12 pm

The RF remote, unlike the IR remote used on the other models, requires repairing after a hard reset of the box.

Also note that the LT's IR remotes will also work with your XS.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 8050
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mikeyts and 17 guests