private channel won't install

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL, RokuKen

private channel won't install

Postby radiocolin » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:30 pm

A few months ago I made a private channel for my Roku to listen to a radio station I like that eschews Tune In. I just modified the AudioApp.brs example project to use their stream.

I added it to the store as a private channel and have been using it on my Roku 2.

I want to install it on my parents' Roku 1. I go to the owner page, log in to their account, and add the channel with the code. The website says it will be installed, but it never is. It doesn't appear when I enter/exit the store, when I do system > player info and check for updates, or if I just wait 24 hours.

My thought was that maybe there was something in that script that only worked on the Roku 2, but I was able to sideload it to my parents Roku in developer mode and it runs just fine. Obviously I could just leave it like this, but I'd rather add it through the store, since you can't move a sideloaded channel in your lineup.

The private channel is nj1015 if you want to try it for yourself.
radiocolin
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: private channel won't install

Postby renojim » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:35 pm

Did you perhaps set it for "Roku 2" under "Required Features" when you created the channel?

-JT
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2428
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: private channel won't install

Postby trekkeriii » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:44 pm

Go to the Developer section -> "Manage My Channels" -> Click on Channel -> "Edit Channel". Look under "Minimum Firmware Version". I would select "v3.1 b104" to be certain Gen 1 models are covered.

Of course you need to re-Publish the channel after making the change.
Roku2 XS, 42" LCD, Ethernet (5.5 b320)
Roku Stick HDMI, 32" LCD, WiFi (5.5 b2027)
Roku N1000, 25" CRT, Ethernet (3.1)
Router - Linksys WRT54G2
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: private channel won't install

Postby radiocolin » Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:01 pm

Roku 2 isn't checked under required features.

I changed the firmware to 3.1 b104. Previously it was set to the lowest option in the menu, which was 2.something.

Still no luck.
radiocolin
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: private channel won't install

Postby trekkeriii » Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:50 am

radiocolin wrote:Roku 2 isn't checked under required features.

I changed the firmware to 3.1 b104. Previously it was set to the lowest option in the menu, which was 2.something.

Still no luck.


Only other setting I could see is the Regional Setting, which is what countries you have the Channel set to broadcast to. Also, under "Edit Private Channel" do you have Roku 2 checked as a Required Feature (or anything other setting for that matter).
Roku2 XS, 42" LCD, Ethernet (5.5 b320)
Roku Stick HDMI, 32" LCD, WiFi (5.5 b2027)
Roku N1000, 25" CRT, Ethernet (3.1)
Router - Linksys WRT54G2
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: private channel won't install

Postby renojim » Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:14 am

At this point you probably want to take this to the developer's forum. RokuJoel may be able to figure out what's going on.

-JT
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 2428
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: private channel won't install

Postby radiocolin » Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:09 am

It's not regional because both Rokus are US. And I already said it's not the Roku 2 box. I'll take it over to the dev forum, thanks.
radiocolin
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: private channel won't install

Postby trekkeriii » Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:12 am

radiocolin wrote:It's not regional because both Rokus are US. And I already said it's not the Roku 2 box. I'll take it over to the dev forum, thanks.


Could also be that the Roku's 1 channel limit is maxed out. Keep in mind the old Rokus did have a limit on how many Channels could be installed at a time (based on their size).
Roku2 XS, 42" LCD, Ethernet (5.5 b320)
Roku Stick HDMI, 32" LCD, WiFi (5.5 b2027)
Roku N1000, 25" CRT, Ethernet (3.1)
Router - Linksys WRT54G2
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: private channel won't install

Postby kc8pql » Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:47 am

^ Good point.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
OTA Antenna, "Netflix Player" N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 7943
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: private channel won't install

Postby Basil » Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:00 am

trekkeriii wrote:Could also be that the Roku's 1 channel limit is maxed out. Keep in mind the old Rokus did have a limit on how many Channels could be installed at a time (based on their size).

In those situations, when entering/exiting the Channel Store following a channel being added, doesn't the Roku 1 display a message that it's out of memory (or too many channels or something)? Or is that only for Channel Store channels?
Basil
http://www.basilsblog.com/
http://www.imao.us/
Roku 3, Roku HDMI Streaming Stick, Roku LT; previous Roku 2 XS, Roku 2 XD, Roku 2 HD, Roku XD|S, Roku HD
Also running Apple TV, TiVo/OTA, Simple.TV/OTA, Chromecast, Amazon Fire TV
User avatar
Basil
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 1763
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:26 am
Location: Columbus, GA

Re: private channel won't install

Postby radiocolin » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:15 am

The Roku 1 is not full. I can load other channels from the store just fine.
radiocolin
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: private channel won't install

Postby philsoft » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:20 am

radiocolin wrote:The Roku 1 is not full. I can load other channels from the store just fine.


Different channels have different memory requirements. Not saying that is the issue, but just FYI
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
 
Posts: 4304
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan

Re: private channel won't install

Postby radiocolin » Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:49 pm

It's not the problem.
radiocolin
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: private channel won't install

Postby radiocolin » Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:07 pm

Issue solved. Something was wonky with the packaging that the 1 cared about but the 2 didn't. Repackaged, reuploaded, and all is well.
radiocolin
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:08 pm


Return to Roku Streaming Player General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests