Error 009 - Roku 3

Moderators: RokuDouglas, RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

Error 009 - Roku 3

Postby dmciver » Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:10 pm

I'm seeking help from anyone having the "Error 009" - can't connect to the internet error message on Roku 3.

I do network troubleshooting for a living... so let's accelerate through all the basic troubleshooting steps (yes, swapped the cable, yes verified my network works, other devices can connect just fine, etc. etc etc).

Roku connected via ethernet - spent 45 mins with support last night, no help really. Connected it to a friend's wifi network and it connected and updated the firmware and synchronized channels just fine. Back on my ethernet or wifi it won't connect.

Yes, have tried the secret menu option to disable network ping - no difference. Have tried multiple resets, factory restores -- no change.

In particular, troubleshooting on the router - I believe it has to do with some setting regarding IGMP or multicast packets....

Any other super geeks out there care to chime in and help me out?

Juniper (netscreen) 5GT router with the latest firmware (and no, the older versions didn't make a difference either).

Thanks in advance!
dmciver

Re: Error 009 - Roku 3

Postby knuckle » Fri Mar 29, 2013 7:14 am

Not real familiar with this router but if used in "secure" mode I think it requires a reservation by mac address
ROKU 1 XD J0A113014862
ROKU 2 LT 16A182002191
ROKU 2 LT #2 16A19K025194
ROKU HD 18D2CP067635
Roku TV
all running wireless on a actiontec C2000A
knuckle
** Valued Community Member **

Postby trekkeriii » Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:06 am

Change DNS servers on your router. Someone else mentioned this is a DNS server connection error.
Roku2 XS, 42" LCD, Ethernet (5.5 b320)
Roku Stick HDMI, 32" LCD, WiFi (5.5 b2027)
Roku N1000, 25" CRT, Ethernet (3.1)
Router - Linksys WRT54G2
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **

Postby dmciver » Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:12 am