Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
danoob
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:42 pm

New buyer looking for advice

Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:28 pm

Hi,

I just(sat eve) ordered a soundbridge 1001 and am anxiously awaiting its arrival. I know I have a at least one purchase before then so...

I do not currently have a network setup in my home, just a pc(xp sp2) and a cable modem. Any suggestions on a broadband router(if i even need one) - I dont think I have to go wireless - I can get a cat5 to where it needs to go. I would be appreciative of any suggestions you would have. Thanks!

Kevin
 
andyinstal
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Mon Dec 11, 2006 7:22 am

Yes. Send it back. They still have not addressed the noise issue.
 
danoob
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:42 pm

Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:38 pm

Not a very reassuring reply, what noise issue if I may ask?

Kevin
 
RokuMike

Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:06 pm

A very small number of people, listening on certain systems, have perceived a noise or distortion when playing certain content.

The vast majority of M1001 customers do not have any complaint with the sound quality, and are happy with the product.

We are continuing to investigate the issue, however, because we want all of our customers to be happy with the sound!

In answer to your question, if you're using wired Ethernet, then most any broadband router will work fine. If you can run Ethernet to the SoundBridge location, I would recommend doing so. Although wireless works great and I use it exclusively at my house, one can run into problems caused by external interference, building structure, other appliances and so forth that just don't happen with Ethernet.

I use the Belkin Pre-N router at my house. I use it for its excellent wireless abilities, but it's also a capable wired router.
 
mr rusty
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 6:09 am
Location: chorley, lancashire UK

Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:45 am

What RokuMike says, but thought you might like a positive comment from a user - unless you are an audiophile and are going to use the digital connection to connect to audiophile gear and get into serious subjective discussions about resampling, jitter and other esoteric analysis, I can tell you that a Roku works just fine. I have *never" had cause to criticise the quality of the audio.
 
dinkeldorf
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:40 am
Location: Calgary AB

Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:29 pm

If it's there definetly go wired. And if you're going to do that you may as well go lossless.
Roku M1001 (releaged to the basemetn); Harman Kardon AVR430 & AVR235. 5 indoor + 1 outdoor zones +Theatre room 5.1 built ins
Sonos ZP100 x 2 NEW
Gigabit whole home network; 802.11BGN, D link DNS323 2x500GB
 
danoob
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:42 pm

Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:43 pm

Thanks for the replies and advice, Im working on getting things ready for the arrival. Another question, do you need to have wmp11 actually open(minimized?) for the SB to access the files?

Thanks

Kevin
 
MarkInDavis
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:20 pm

Thu Dec 14, 2006 12:47 am

No you don't.
 
Burkhardi
Posts: 1943
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Austin, Texas ...Y'all

Thu Dec 14, 2006 6:17 am

Hello Kevin, WMC (Windows Media Conenct) which is the portion of WMP11 that you need to be running, is a "service". That means it runs in the background and no one is the wiser. You don't ever have to open WMP11, except to set it up. You have to "enable media sharing"via the "Library" tab in WMP11 first (you can use the 'search' function of this message board to find more info on that if you need). I think you will like it, and there is always the Firefly option too. Right now, for my use, I like WMP11 with WMC.
Regards, Matt

danoob wrote:
Thanks for the replies and advice, Im working on getting things ready for the arrival. Another question, do you need to have wmp11 actually open(minimized?) for the SB to access the files?

Thanks

Kevin
Roku3 and Roku HD1000 [Rev B] on a Samsung HLP5674W DLP in the living room; a Roku2 and two Roku XS and a few SoundBridges.Win7; Kubuntu and XP via RT-N66U, E2000 and a switch or two. I own stock in Roku, it's just all in the form of hardware.Viva la Roku
 
Aroah
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 8:30 am

Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:21 am

I own a M2000 and have a wireless connection with a linksys G router. It works just great, no noise, excellent wireless connection and I can stream lossless content. I have my SB connected to a NAD Masters Series Pre-amp and the sound is perfectly fine. In my opinion the sound is generally as good as the quality of the content.
 
collett_steve@hotmail.com
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 5:19 am
Location: Sunny Devon(!), UK

Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:24 am

Aroah wrote:
I own a M2000 and have a wireless connection with a linksys G router. It works just great, no noise, excellent wireless connection and I can stream lossless content. I have my SB connected to a NAD Masters Series Pre-amp and the sound is perfectly fine. In my opinion the sound is generally as good as the quality of the content.


The noise issue only affects the M1001 model.
 
Steve E
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: London

Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:10 pm

danoob - until recently i have been preaching the great virtues of the soundbridge to friends and family.

HOWEVER - in light of the lack of help from Roku regarding the unit stopping it's sound output and requiring constant reboots to get the sound back (affecting many users, I'm not an isolated case) would seriously suggest you look at alternative products.

I am embarassed now as my brother in law had decided to buy a squeezebox and I convinced him he should save a few quid and get the 1001 instead which he did.....his unit suffers random muting also.

another poster mentions the noise issue, others say they don't notice it. The fact appears to be that the m1001 is an inferior unit to it's predecessor and has a few issues that are starting to surface with an increasing user base.

If i were to buy again, and believe me i will be in the new year after shoddy support, i would buy the squeezebox.
 
dinkeldorf
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:40 am
Location: Calgary AB

Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:32 am

If you listen to podcasts or Audible just note that Rokus do not FF or Rewind.
Roku M1001 (releaged to the basemetn); Harman Kardon AVR430 & AVR235. 5 indoor + 1 outdoor zones +Theatre room 5.1 built ins

Sonos ZP100 x 2 NEW

Gigabit whole home network; 802.11BGN, D link DNS323 2x500GB
 
danoob
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:42 pm

Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:22 pm

Thank you for your replies and advice! Now for the updated status.

I have a netgear wireless router(WGR614) but I have the Soundbridge wired directly. Connects fine to update and internet radio but alas...no the common "No music libraries found"

What I have
Running xp- with xp's firewall
WMP 11 - found soundbridge and opened it up to share
Soundbridge - updated software and connection is active

Tech details -
DM90 Interface: 0 (kEthernet has a dhcp assigned address)
MAC address : 00:0D:4B:04:5d:99
IP address: 192.168.1.3
netmask: 255.255.255.0
gateway: 192.168.1.1
dns1 : 192.168.1.1
dns2 : 0.0.0.0

Not sure which way to go next, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated
 
RokuMike

Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:02 am

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests