Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Rootgar
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:19 pm
Location: Wittmund, Germany

Is there a detailed log file in the M1001? (pinnacle brand)

Thu Dec 28, 2006 6:30 am

On my router (AVM fritz box 7170) is a beta firmware that provide Upnp media streaming.
the m1001 "sees" the router and when i select it i get an "cannot connect to the server".
Connecting to a firefly server works fine.

Is there a detailed log within the m1001 so i can post a detailed error message here what went wrong?

In the 7170 is a log file, but not detailed. it isn't showing the access tries to the mp3 files.

Does someone habe a software player that can connect to a upnp server to play mp3's just for testing? (itunes 7 didn't sees it)

Greetings,
[NAV]Rootgar
Router: AVM FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7170 (UI), 29.04.57
I-net: 16Mbit down/1024kbit up
Streaming:Pinnacle Soundbridge M1001 FW: 3.0.52
, HomeMusic FW: 3.0.52
Connection WLAN WPA2 // Analog Audio
Amplifier: Yamaha RX-V457
 
mcfh
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:00 am

Your best bet would be one of the packet capture tools such as Ethereal and then comparing what you see with the UPnP specs at upnp.org
M2000, M1000 & R1000 on iTunes and XP SP2
Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows
 
Rootgar
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:19 pm
Location: Wittmund, Germany

Thu Dec 28, 2006 10:56 am

and then? i'm not a developer, i'm not skilled in any programing language like c# or anything else. hey i'm a customer :wink:

Both devices are upnp compatible, so it should work -> but it doesn't.
The SB "sees" the Router, but couldn't connect.
A more detailed error message would help the devlopers here to fix it, if the problem is on SB side. :roll:
Otherwiese avm must/should fix it.

Greetings,
[NAV]Rootgar
Router: AVM FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7170 (UI), 29.04.57

I-net: 16Mbit down/1024kbit up

Streaming:Pinnacle Soundbridge M1001 FW: 3.0.52

, HomeMusic FW: 3.0.52

Connection WLAN WPA2 // Analog Audio

Amplifier: Yamaha RX-V457
 
fm.72
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:44 am
Location: Frankfurt / Main, Germany

Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:26 am

Hi Rootgar,

maybe you should communicate this problem to AVM as the firmware you're using on your FRITZ!Box is *beta* software - which also implies that problems such as the one you describe are to be expected...

Regards,
fm.72
Last edited by fm.72 on Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
Rootgar
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:19 pm
Location: Wittmund, Germany

Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:42 am

yes i already drop them (AVM) a line.
I will wait till "next year" and then contact them again. :)
(because i don't think that they work "between the days" so to say.)
But it would be a lot easier if there is a detailed error msg ... :wink:
imho

Greetings,
[NAV]Rootgar
Router: AVM FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7170 (UI), 29.04.57

I-net: 16Mbit down/1024kbit up

Streaming:Pinnacle Soundbridge M1001 FW: 3.0.52

, HomeMusic FW: 3.0.52

Connection WLAN WPA2 // Analog Audio

Amplifier: Yamaha RX-V457
 
mcfh
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Thu Dec 28, 2006 12:02 pm

Basically UPnP sits on top of a web server and, by capturing the packets, you can see what the Soundbridge sends and AVM sends back - one of those transactions will end and you can guess that the problem lies in the last message - either the SB doesn't understand it correctly or the AVM doesn't understand what it is asked - this is the data you will need to give AVM for them to diagnose the problem.
M2000, M1000 & R1000 on iTunes and XP SP2

Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows
 
Rootgar
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:19 pm
Location: Wittmund, Germany

Thu Dec 28, 2006 12:35 pm

I just tried http://www.geexbox.org and this one could connect to the Router and play the mp3's.
I will wait for AVM's reaction and then i can provide them a trace of the networktraffic. (hmm but i'm not sure whether it could be traced easily, because the switch is in the router and the computer will not "see" every paket. afaik... but we will see :) )

I will post results here. ;)

Greetings,
[NAV]Rootgar
Router: AVM FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7170 (UI), 29.04.57

I-net: 16Mbit down/1024kbit up

Streaming:Pinnacle Soundbridge M1001 FW: 3.0.52

, HomeMusic FW: 3.0.52

Connection WLAN WPA2 // Analog Audio

Amplifier: Yamaha RX-V457
 
Rootgar
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:19 pm
Location: Wittmund, Germany

Sat Dec 30, 2006 7:11 am

Ok. Figure out that on my router has a buildin tracer, so i can capture everything from any NIC.

I made a trace, have a look into it via ethereal and found this one:

From SB to Router(?):

POST /MediaServer/ContentDirectory/Control HTTP/1.1
Host: 192.168.178.1:49100
Connection: close
User-Agent: Allegro-Software-WebClient/4.32
Accept: */*
SOAPACTION: "urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:ContentDirectory:1#GetSearchCapabilities"
Content-Type: text/xml; charset="utf-8"
Content-Length: 274
<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
 <s:Body><u:GetSearchCapabilities xmlns:u="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:ContentDirectory:1">
</u:GetSearchCapabilities>
</s:Body>
</s:Envelope>



From Router to SB:

HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error
DATE: Sat, 30 Dec 2006 13:27:50 GMT
SERVER: FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7170 (UI) UPnP/1.0 AVM FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7170 (UI) 29.04.28
CONNECTION: close
CONTENT-LENGTH: 412
CONTENT-TYPE: text/xml; charset="utf-8"
<s:Envelope
xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"
s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
<s:Body>
<s:Fault>
<faultcode>s:Client</faultcode>
<faultstring>UPnPError</faultstring>
<detail>
<UPnPError xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:control-1-0">
<errorCode>401</errorCode>
<errorDescription>invalid action</errorDescription>
</UPnPError>
</detail>
</s:Fault>
</s:Body>
</s:Envelope>


It's know that the Media Server of the Router works with Terratec Noxon2 and with www.geexbox.org software

Postet the same to avm. I have no clue whether this is the connect handshake, but i tried it 3 times and got 3 times this one in the trace, so it must be something to do with the "handshake". (Selecting the UPnP Server in the SB, Press select, get error that it couldn't connect.)

Greetings,
[NAV]Rootgar
Router: AVM FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7170 (UI), 29.04.57

I-net: 16Mbit down/1024kbit up

Streaming:Pinnacle Soundbridge M1001 FW: 3.0.52

, HomeMusic FW: 3.0.52

Connection WLAN WPA2 // Analog Audio

Amplifier: Yamaha RX-V457
 
mcfh
Posts: 678
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:39 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Sat Dec 30, 2006 7:17 am

definitely one for AVM - good luck!
M2000, M1000 & R1000 on iTunes and XP SP2

Integrate your Soundbridge with Windows
 
Rootgar
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:19 pm
Location: Wittmund, Germany

Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:04 am

:) thx. I will post results (hopefully positive ones) here "next year".

Greetings,
[NAV]Rootgar
Router: AVM FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7170 (UI), 29.04.57

I-net: 16Mbit down/1024kbit up

Streaming:Pinnacle Soundbridge M1001 FW: 3.0.52

, HomeMusic FW: 3.0.52

Connection WLAN WPA2 // Analog Audio

Amplifier: Yamaha RX-V457
 
Rootgar
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 3:19 pm
Location: Wittmund, Germany

Sat Feb 17, 2007 6:29 am

Hi all,

a new Beta for my AVM Fritzbox 7170 Router fixes the Problem accessing a HDD connected to it.
Now i can play music from it via the SB! :D

Just for info/update as i promised. :wink:

Greetings,
[NAV]Rootgar
Router: AVM FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7170 (UI), 29.04.57

I-net: 16Mbit down/1024kbit up

Streaming:Pinnacle Soundbridge M1001 FW: 3.0.52

, HomeMusic FW: 3.0.52

Connection WLAN WPA2 // Analog Audio

Amplifier: Yamaha RX-V457

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests