Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
evildmp
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 11:05 am

Does this sound like a complete hardware failure?

Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:26 pm

SoundBridge M1000
  • no display
  • the ethernet Link and Rx lights flicker constantly, irrespective of connection
  • if inserted, the wireless card does not light up
  • completely irresponsive to remote, including attempts to use Safe Mode

Thanks for any suggestions on how to proceed, or advice on whether this condition is as terminal as it appears to be.
 
SuzieQ
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:33 pm

This could be a power supply problem. Make sure that the output voltage is 9 V (DC).
 
lucozade
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 3:54 am
Location: Lancashire

Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:36 pm

very strange how I'm reading this in a few threads and I've now got a similar problem. If it does turn out to be the power supply then I guess it was only good for a few years use !
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:30 am

Hi,

Yes - the power brick does seem a weak point. Most likely it's just not giving full voltage and so bits of the hardware are sort of trying to work which is why you see the lights flickering. For M1000 with connectors at the ends, you need a 9 volt regulated supply capable of delivering 1.3 amps or more with the centre contact on the plug being positive. (Note: must not be UNregulated).

For M1001 (and M1001's that are badged as M1000) with connectors on the back, you need a 5 volt regulated supply (I guess capable of at least 2 amps...?).
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
SuzieQ
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:27 pm
Location: Canada

Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:44 am

S80_UK wrote:
For M1001 (and M1001's that are badged as M1000) with connectors on the back, you need a 5 volt regulated supply (I guess capable of at least 2 amps...?).

For the M1001 the power supply should be able to deliver at least 1500 mA. If possible, try to avoid a switching-mode power supply. One could use a linear power supply instead.
 
S80_UK
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:42 am

Thanks SuzieQ - not having an M1001 I made an educated guess - only 33% over... :wink:
Roku M1000, M1001, M2000, R1000, Roberts WM-201, Stream 83i
 
cdfixer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:10 am

Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:28 pm

Could be what bit my M1000, namely the surface mount connector between the network interface/CF socket and mainboard has lost one or more of the soldered connections.

Have someone handy with a microscope/magnifier?
Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum
immane mittam. - I have a catapult. Give me all the money, or I will fling
an enormous rock at your head.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests